Best Ulver album to start out with

Alteredmindeath

Wasteland Survivor
Mar 5, 2003
Underneath your bed
Im new to Ulver, I got all the Arcturus cd's and Garm(TRIXTER G) is the man. Ive only heard a couple songs from Ulver and I didnt recall what album they where from. What should be the first purchase?

Well, the best Ulver album to start with is going to depend on your personal tastes. Theres 3 eras of ulver really.

The first era, is the black metal/folk music era. Lots of black metal guitars, and blast beats, but lots of acoustic passages and atmospheric elements, all in a woodsy and natural feeling. this is my personal favorite era.

The second era is when Ulver lost the black metal and folkish roots, and started to experiment with different types of music and elements in their sound...pretty much evolving into an electronic/rock hybrid of sorts, but with plenty of experimentation. Also a good era for those with eclectic tastes.

The third era, is where Ulver has pretty much lost all their rock/metal elements alltogether, in exchange for a completely melodic/ambient/electronic or symphonic aproach. This era includes soundtracks for films, as well as their own original studio creations with various subject matter. This is my 2nd favorite era, for its maybe the most creative and accesible material for them.

so in conclusion, i took the liberty of recommending my favorite album from each era, and you can use my brief summaries above as a guide.

era 1: Bergtatt
era 2: Themes From William Blake's - The marriage of heaven and hell
era 3: Perdition City

For the dark ambient music era, definitely check out Perdition City

and yeah...Bergtatt for the other end of their spectrum

I started with Bergtatt and would recommend the same, mainly because it's their first album and you can watch how they changed throughout the years. Perdition City would make a good starting point for later Ulver, but I'm glad I got that one after the Trilogie.