Need advice on my videogames music demo

Oct 27, 2007
Montreal, Canada
Hey guys!

A couple of months ago I finished my music degree and I did a videogame music demo for my final project because I'd like to find a permanent job in this domain next summer, when I'll have completely finish school. I had a pretty good grade but I'd like to improve my demo because I know I can do a lot better now. However, I think some parts of my demo are cool and I should keep them. This is where I need your help.

It would be REALLY cool if you could listen to my demo and tell me :

A) 3 songs you think I should keep
B) 3 songs you think I shouldn't keep

The demo contains 9 short clips of different music styles, here's the list:

1) Orchestral
2) Elfman-style
3) Pop/Commercial (If I keep it I'll add rihanna-style vocals)
4) Disco
5) Jungle/rock
6) Acoustic
7) Rock
8) More of an ambiance track for horror games when you're being attacked
9) Horror

Personally, I'd keep 1,2 and 10, and I'd throw out 5,7,8.

And please judge for the music, not the production, I'll remix it anyway :)

Thanks a lot!:kickass:

Here's the link:
http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/317666/DEMO-MAX-V2.mp3

1 is pretty good. Its kinda a mix of Warcraft 2's music (maybe the dodgy soft synths tho ;p) and a bit of Dream Theater's 6 Degrees (the song not album).

Not liking the weird bass in #2.

Don't think there'd be much point in including #3. Sounds like something off Need for Speed but tbh I'm pretty sure they'd pick a popular song that people know than get you to design one..

Disco one.. where would you use that?

I think the rock/jungle one could be cool with some tom drums in there (really roomy ones).

Not digging the acoustic one, if you expanded on that three note lick at 3;20 maybe but otherwise..

7 should be chucked imo. Make the drums a LOT simpler imo (none of those quad fills)

9 should be chucked imo, too.