New mix, any feedback?

TwoGOneSee

Musical Hack
Oct 24, 2008
San Jose, CA
Hey all, this is my first time posting a mix on this forum. I'm by no means a professional, but I definitely want to constantly be improving, so any feedback you got would be awesome (mostly focusing on the mix of course, but songwriting feedback is also appreciated).

The song itself is a work in progress (leads are still scratch tracks, and not sure I got the best DI on the bass), so please excuse any sloppy soloing.

Cheers and thanks in advance,
Adam

Here goes nothing:

Last edited by a moderator:
Also, how the hell do I embed the soundcloud widget into my post?! Such a n00b...

EDIT: figured it out :p Use the "SOUNDCLOUD" tag for future reference...

i'm particularly looking for any suggestions on how to fatten up the low end. DI'd on the bass (Schecter 5-string), split into to two tracks. Sub bass is low-passed around 300-350, dirty is high-passed around the same and has a tube screamer and bass overdrive into a guitar sim (not bass sim) and set about -2db bellow the sub-bass track... I've tried many different bass combinations and this is my favorite so far (I just opened up the EQ on the dirty to allow more high-end through) because it gives a little more percussive sound to the bass. Anyways, any ideas you all have would be greatly appreciated.

I realize at this point that i'm just talking to myself, but any ideas on how to get the overall track volume higher? I've got a limiter on the master bus, but it's Logic's crappy built-in limiter, so i'm thinking it's not doing what it could. Any ideas? Suggestions on setting up a good master bus chain? Anyone out there?

Tooled around with the bass:

And then I worked on the guitar tone a little more:

Any better?

Last edited by a moderator: