Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > Backline
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Backline Gear, software, plugins, samples, IRs ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old June 28th, 2010, 06:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
drunkard
Like Sin Explode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 173
DIGITECH RP 1000 AND GSP 1101??

Hallo anyone ever used or owned any of this gear?What do you think about them?Are they identical?I am an owner of a pod x3 live and I am really happy about it but I saw that this pedalboards have acoustic simulators and whammy which its really cool.How do you compare them with the pod x3?I also saw that Mustaine and Broderick used them a while ago and was thinking to try them.Let me know

THanks
drunkard is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 02:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Jind
Grrrr!!! (I'm a bear)
 
Jind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,545
The Digitech RP1000 and the GSP1101 are definitely not the same product just in different shells - for starters the GSP1101 has two of the Audio DNA DSP processing chips in it compared to the one in the RP1000 and the GSP1101 has more advanced routing capabilities. While the RP1000 also can be used in various amp/preamp/ effect loop configurations, it does not allow for the effect positioning capabilities that the GSP1101 has.

While I've never owned either, I researched both of them as well as the RP500 I eventually bought. (I was really just interested in recording direct from it at the time and the RP500 suited those needs.)

The GSP1101 with the accompanying foot controller seems like it would be a nice foundation of an extremely portable live rig. The ability to act as the basis for your tone or as an accompaniment (in FX only mode added to another amp) to your tone make it ideal for that situation.

I still have serious GAS for one, but have other items higher on my priority list and since I don't really play live anymore it has found it's way lower on my list these days.
__________________
Jind
________________________________________________
DAW: Sonar X2PE, Cakewalk V Studio 100 interface/mixer; Intel i7 Quad Core, 16 GB, MS Windows 8; Behringer TRUTH B2031A Monitors
Guitars/Amps: Gibson Les Paul Standard, Fender American Standard Telecaster, Egnater Tweaker Head & Matching Cab w/ Celestion G12H-30, Digitech RP1000, Various Pedals

Last edited by Jind : June 28th, 2010 at 03:17 PM.
Jind is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
jeb
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 62
I have a gsp1101. I really like it!! I was using the first pod pro before it. I wanted the 5150 sound so I made the switch and I'm really happy I did it.

I use it with a marshall 9200 power amp and a 4X12 avatar cab with vintage 30 speakers. I can't be more happy. The 5150 and marshall sounds are aswsome and I use the Mark IV model for the lead tones. The input "act like" a real amp input. When you play with the volume pot of the axe you can feel the preamp acting like and amp (the sound gets cleaner) ect... The effects are great, not awsome but they are usable.

Jeb
jeb is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
drunkard
Like Sin Explode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 173
Thanks for your replies. But the question is ,is a step forward for me to sell the pod x3 live and buy the rp500 or the rp1000?I dont care for many presets and stuff I want 3-4 standar presets but the whammy and acoustic abilities of the RP are really appealing to me.And I thinking of playing direct to the PA.Do you know how the RP sounds through the PA(I am 95 % happy with the Pod through the PA)
drunkard is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2010, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Jind
Grrrr!!! (I'm a bear)
 
Jind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,545
All I can talk directly about is my RP500 and it sounded great directly into a PA. I'll admit - I've since sold it as I've gone almost completely ITB modeling except for the occasional miking of my VOX, but I really enjoyed it for the year or so I had it. If it's between the 500 and the 1000, I'd probably take the extra cost and get the 1000 for the expanded routing capabilities, but as far as sound goes, the 500 and 1000 probably sound alike. As for the comparison with the POD line, all I can speak to in this regard is that I had an old POD XT and I liked my RP500 quite a bit more than the POD , but I'm also weighing in the fact that I used it also in effect only mode for use with a real amp through the effects loop and it also excelled in that fashion.

Your mileage may vary.

I suggest you attempt to try one out prior to selling you X3 - but I think you will like it. It should be noted that the X3 has the benefit of the dual amp configuration that the RP line does not if that matters to you. With the RP units you are locked into a single amp, single cab configuration.
__________________
Jind
________________________________________________
DAW: Sonar X2PE, Cakewalk V Studio 100 interface/mixer; Intel i7 Quad Core, 16 GB, MS Windows 8; Behringer TRUTH B2031A Monitors
Guitars/Amps: Gibson Les Paul Standard, Fender American Standard Telecaster, Egnater Tweaker Head & Matching Cab w/ Celestion G12H-30, Digitech RP1000, Various Pedals
Jind is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 03:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
darth_cupboardy
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Just one question. You are GAS'ing for the Digitech Preamps because of the acoustic simulators.
Well I have a Pod XT (the bean), and i think it has 2 acoustic simulators.
Amp 9: Line 6 Aco 2 and Amp36 Variax Acoustic.
I would be very surprised if the X3 Live didn't have them.
But i can't compare the Digitech and the Pod soundwise as i only have the Pods, so i would also recommend to try the RP and GSP out and make your own decision.
just wanted to point out that the X3 also has acoustic simulators.

P.S.: in X3 live its,
67. L6 Variax Acoustic
16. L6 Piezacoustic 2

greetz Jan

Last edited by darth_cupboardy : June 29th, 2010 at 06:51 AM.
darth_cupboardy is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2010, 05:40 AM   #7 (permalink)
drunkard
Like Sin Explode
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 173
thanks for your input man.I found this vid I think I lltry it right now

drunkard is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2010 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media