Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > Backline
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Backline Gear, software, plugins, samples, IRs ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old March 2nd, 2011, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
FIXXXER
»\(░_o)/»
 
FIXXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,161
soldering a pickup directly to the output jack!?

i got the idea of building a guitar, as simple as possible.
body, neck, hardware, one pickup.
i will use it for recording only so i do
not need any tone or volume controls etc.

will this work!?


cheers
S.
FIXXXER is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
psycle_1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 138
Of course it will work. Take all the BS that you don't need out of the signal chain. Probably a pretty good idea.
psycle_1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 09:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
FIXXXER
»\(░_o)/»
 
FIXXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,161
thanks for the fast reply!

what about the output level and the sound of the pickup?
will it change drastically leaving the pots out??

cheers
S.
FIXXXER is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
006
Mike G
 
006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 8,989
Lately, as in the past 8 months or so, I have been running just a bridge pickup to volume to jack setup on both my Strat and my Explorer with EMGs, I never use tone knobs anyway. I dunno if I could go without a volume though, I like being able to turn the guitar "off" when I'm not playing on it while plugged in. The output should be the about the same as if you had it wired to a volume pot and turned all the way up, maybe slightly hotter if anything I would imagine but not a drastic change.
006 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 10:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
FIXXXER
»\(░_o)/»
 
FIXXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,161
thanks for the fast reply!

did you notice any change in sound by leaving out the tone pots!?
i am not the guy who is hearing stuff like that, just wondering if the pot affects the sound in any way.

haha, having no volume knob...must be strange but as i planed to use this guitar for recording only it think it will be ok.

cheers
S.
FIXXXER is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 10:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
006
Mike G
 
006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: SATX
Posts: 8,989
Yeah I use my guitars for recording only too. I dunno, I've always been told taking the tone pot out of the signal path will give a better sound, I never A/B'ed either of my guitars when I switched to just having a volume, but I do know they both sound awesome
006 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 11:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
FIXXXER
»\(░_o)/»
 
FIXXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,161
guess i just have to try it
FIXXXER is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 11:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
AllanD
boom tap boom-boom tap
 
AllanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,830
Dallas from Nile swears by this, says it makes a significant difference in tone.
AllanD is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2011, 11:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
C-Martin
Senior Member
 
C-Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by 006 View Post
Yeah I use my guitars for recording only too. I dunno, I've always been told taking the tone pot out of the signal path will give a better sound, I never A/B'ed either of my guitars when I switched to just having a volume, but I do know they both sound awesome
"Better" is pretty subjective. It'll be brighter sounding and thus giving the illusion that its hotter output, which can be a good thing depending on what your looking for and the type of axe your using. The thing that happens when removing the tone pot is that you are removing the capacitor which is essentially bleeding off highs. Like you probably already know, turning the tone knob from 10 to 0 you'll get a darker tone. Removing the pot just bypasses all that. A 250k or 500k pot on 10 isn't the same as not having a pot even though the difference is slight. There are also some "no load" pots that essentially do the same when set to 10, 9 being the "real" 10 and 10 being the bypassed signal.
__________________
C-Martin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 12:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mutant
I hate that supercow !
 
Mutant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,888
You can also go for optionality... just get a switch that would change the signal path for you - one way straight to the output and the other way to volume and tone pots, then to output.
__________________
I like BOOBIES !!!
48/2(9+3)=288
Mutant is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 05:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Trevoire520
Senior Member
 
Trevoire520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 4,771
I've done this to my P Bass. Makes it sound a bit brighter and maybe a little bit hotter.
Trevoire520 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 07:38 AM   #12 (permalink)
Fragle
Senior Member
 
Fragle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,045
you could try adding a killswitch instead of a volume pot. theoretically it should be sonically transparent, but you still get the option to mute the guitar when you're not playing. plus you're no longer dealing with accidentally turning down the volume pot while playing...happens to me all the time on my charvel.
__________________
www.retaliationdeath.de
Fragle is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 09:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
psycle_1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mutant View Post
You can also go for optionality... just get a switch that would change the signal path for you - one way straight to the output and the other way to volume and tone pots, then to output.
Good call.

Everyone is correct, the tone will be slightly brighter by not having the volume and tone controls loading down the pickup. With active pickups the difference will not be as noticeable, but should still be audible.
psycle_1 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 09:53 AM   #14 (permalink)
OneDaySky
Clint
 
OneDaySky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 1,555
mmmmh thats a rad idea!
OneDaySky is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 12:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
FIXXXER
»\(░_o)/»
 
FIXXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,161
thanks for the numerous answers guys!

first of all, i am not a tone junkie, the main reason i want no pots, switches etc. is for the optics of the guitar!

i want an isntrument that's a s simple as possible, no pots, no switches, no bindings, no dots, no paint etc.

if i can gain an improvement in sound, why not!


i have a few more questions (noob alert):

is there a non-soldering solution for my plan!?
thinking about placing the jack and the pickup into
the body and just connect them using a clip or something like that,
so i could save money, otherwise i have to bring it to a guitar tech
as i know a shit about soldering and even if i did, i do not have a soldering iron.

what does cause noise?
the pickup itself or the built in pots, or both parts tigether?

if i leave the pots and the switch out will i need any kind of shielding?

thanks in advance!


cheers
S.
FIXXXER is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 01:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Sloan
Sounds like shit!
 
Sloan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 4,895
You can scrape carbon off of your volume or tone pots so when they are all the way up, it's like they're not in the circuit at all.

You could also add a switch to bypass the controls as well.
__________________
SloanStewart.com
Sloan is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 01:29 PM   #17 (permalink)
streetwise
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultrash View Post
thanks for the numerous answers guys!

first of all, i am not a tone junkie, the main reason i want no pots, switches etc. is for the optics of the guitar!

i want an isntrument that's a s simple as possible, no pots, no switches, no bindings, no dots, no paint etc.

if i can gain an improvement in sound, why not!


i have a few more questions (noob alert):

is there a non-soldering solution for my plan!?
thinking about placing the jack and the pickup into
the body and just connect them using a clip or something like that,
so i could save money, otherwise i have to bring it to a guitar tech
as i know a shit about soldering and even if i did, i do not have a soldering iron.

what does cause noise?
the pickup itself or the built in pots, or both parts tigether?

if i leave the pots and the switch out will i need any kind of shielding?

thanks in advance!


cheers
S.
No, there is no 'non soldering' solution, forget it. Get yourself a soldering iron, pliers, decent wire cutters, some solder and wire. Cheap soldering stations go for around 40 euros here. Learn to do it yourself. Tools needed cost roughly the same amount you'd pay the tech.

These are basic skills every studio engineer should have.

I would put a push-pull volume pot in the guitar. Volume pot would be removed from the circuit when the knob is pulled.

Shielding is still needed. Noise is picked up by wires and of course the pickup.

By removing pots from the circuit you're raising the input impedance seen by the pickup quite a bit, thus raising the low pass frequency caused by cable capacitance together with resistance to ground. So I guess it will sound quite a bit brighter, but I've actually never tried myself...

Last edited by streetwise : March 3rd, 2011 at 01:34 PM.
streetwise is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 03:52 PM   #18 (permalink)
SimonTaddio_Qc
Headbanger
 
SimonTaddio_Qc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Quebec, Can
Posts: 618
If every spare wire is treated correctly, it'll work for sure.
I own a Jackson that has only 1 pick up and 1 volume pot, that's all. Works like a charm for metal.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsenu, View Post
hope i made myself clear this time...

and what the fuck is a reamp box?
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Murphy View Post
green has won
SimonTaddio_Qc is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 04:24 PM   #19 (permalink)
JeffTD
Senhor Testiculo
 
JeffTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 12,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sloan View Post
You could also add a switch to bypass the controls as well.
This was going to be my suggestion.

Suhr has this awesome circuit they call a "Blower" circuit which is activated by a push-push button just behind the volume knob on some of their axes; what it does is override whatever the pickup switch/tone control positions are set to and give you the signal of the bridge humbucker hard-wired to the output jack.

You can go from rolled back volume + neck pickup, to full-blown bridge bucker and back with the push of a single button.
__________________
Arcana Recordings
JeffTD is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 07:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
C-Martin
Senior Member
 
C-Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffTD View Post
This was going to be my suggestion.

Suhr has this awesome circuit they call a "Blower" circuit which is activated by a push-push button just behind the volume knob on some of their axes; what it does is override whatever the pickup switch/tone control positions are set to and give you the signal of the bridge humbucker hard-wired to the output jack.

You can go from rolled back volume + neck pickup, to full-blown bridge bucker and back with the push of a single button.

That's a pretty fucking good idea. I may have to try that one. I tend to play with my volume knob allot so this would give me more options.
__________________
C-Martin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2011, 09:34 PM   #21 (permalink)
midget donkeys
Senior Member
 
midget donkeys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 939
I have guitar without a tone pot hooked up. Because I am lazy and wouldn't turn it down often anyway. I never a/b compared with and without the tone knob.

When I first put an emg 81 in it the guitar was super bright. So bright it was not good for anything. So I put an 85 in it and it sounds cool now.

I wonder how much of the excessive brightness with the 81 was coming from not having a tone pot. The guitar has a thick maple top also, so that could have played a big part too.
__________________
[IMG][/IMG]
midget donkeys is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2011, 07:29 AM   #22 (permalink)
fade_2_black
Senior Member
 
fade_2_black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 774
I've always wished I could have my pickups going directly to my jack but cant as I use my volume knob for gain control.
I've noticed huge differences in removing tone controls from my guitars though.

Karl Sanders goes directly from pickup to output jack with nothing between. Uses his clean channel (vol on zero) as a mute.
__________________

Fulltime freelance livesound engineer.
My website - keirleFOH.com


Studio - Mac Pro w/ PT HD9, Midas Venice 320, Digi003, Focusrite conversion - MacBook Pro w/ PT LE8, Mbox Mini.
The Asylum - Recording Studio
fade_2_black is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2011, 10:24 AM   #23 (permalink)
sprack
Thread Killer
 
sprack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Luleň, Sweden
Posts: 1,356
Don't forget the flux.

Quote:
Originally Posted by streetwise View Post
No, there is no 'non soldering' solution, forget it. Get yourself a soldering iron, pliers, decent wire cutters, some solder and wire. Cheap soldering stations go for around 40 euros here. Learn to do it yourself. Tools needed cost roughly the same amount you'd pay the tech.
sprack is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2011, 12:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
FIXXXER
»\(░_o)/»
 
FIXXXER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,161
scraping carbon off, push-pull pots,
a bypass switch, all good ideas but
i do not want any pots or swiched on
the top of this guitar.

thinking about placing the pot/switch somewhere
else, thinking about the place where usualy the
back strap button is placed but this would look silly i think

cheers
S.
FIXXXER is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2011, 01:52 PM   #25 (permalink)
Sloan
Sounds like shit!
 
Sloan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cleveland, TN
Posts: 4,895
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultrash View Post
scraping carbon off, push-pull pots,
a bypass switch, all good ideas but
i do not want any pots or swiched on
the top of this guitar.

thinking about placing the pot/switch somewhere
else, thinking about the place where usualy the
back strap button is placed but this would look silly i think

cheers
S.
you could do switching with these pickup rings and not have any other switches on the guitar:
http://accessories.musiciansfriend.c...LAID=414307586
__________________
SloanStewart.com
Sloan is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2014 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media