Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > Backline
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Backline Gear, software, plugins, samples, IRs ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old September 29th, 2011, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
hogan666
Senior Member
 
hogan666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Posts: 178
Boss NS-2 vs. MXR Noise Clamp

Hey,

I'm rearranging my rack setup, getting rid of my Boss GT-Pro and switching to a loop based setup. One thing I like in the GT-Pro is the Noise Reduction. I use it via 4CM (5150 in the Boss loop).

Because of the 5150 dumb loop (master volume before send) I don't want to use Gates without a loop, because it doesn't work well.

First of all, the ISP G-String is too expensive for me. To me it's not worth spending so much money for a gate.

Does anyone have experiences with the new MXR Noise Clamp, which like the Boss can be triggered with the guitar but is placed in the loop?

Thanks, Markus.
__________________
hogan666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
gabriel g.
Senior Member
 
gabriel g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 3,178
get the standard ISP noise decimator and be done with it....
its only 50€*more but its another dimention of quality.

The ISP is so good, I will use for reamping too
gabriel g. is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 02:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
hogan666
Senior Member
 
hogan666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Posts: 178
I already got the ISP, but the main problem is when adjusting the master volume on the 5150 especially live, you have to readjust the treshold. Sucks big time for me.
__________________
hogan666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
gabriel g.
Senior Member
 
gabriel g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 3,178
Ich mach beim line-check immer einen kurzen check, ob das signal auch so durchkommt wie ich das will (also wo es abgeschnitten wird).

Hatte damit bisher noch nie probleme.

beim 5150/6505 reicht aber auch 3 meisens vollkommen aus. Oft wollen die tonleute von mir, dass ich ihn bissel leiser fahre....

Ansonsten bisschen mit dem gain zurück gehen
gabriel g. is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
JakeAC5253
Frozen Sun Audio
 
JakeAC5253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabriel g. View Post
Ich mach beim line-check immer einen kurzen check, ob das signal auch so durchkommt wie ich das will (also wo es abgeschnitten wird).

Hatte damit bisher noch nie probleme.

beim 5150/6505 reicht aber auch 3 meisens vollkommen aus. Oft wollen die tonleute von mir, dass ich ihn bissel leiser fahre....

Ansonsten bisschen mit dem gain zurück gehen
Strongly disagree
__________________
Now offering: | Reamping | Custom IRs | Premium IR Packs | Mastering |

Frozen Sun Audio
Contact Me


JakeAC5253 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Clockwork
Bass playing guy.
 
Clockwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 898
Has anyone actually tried the MXR Noise Clamp? Looks pretty good on paper. Curious to know if its decent.
Clockwork is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 05:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
::XeS::
Senior Member
 
::XeS::'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,547
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogan666 View Post
I already got the ISP, but the main problem is when adjusting the master volume on the 5150 especially live, you have to readjust the treshold. Sucks big time for me.
Uhm...naaa....I use it always at 11-12o'clock with any master volume (decent volume... 1 and above) and it works well.
::XeS:: is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 29th, 2011, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
WarlockStudios
Member
 
WarlockStudios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by ::XeS:: View Post
Uhm...naaa....I use it always at 11-12o'clock with any master volume (decent volume... 1 and above) and it works well.
+1 only once, maybe twice adjusted live
__________________
Slow is heavy
WarlockStudios is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2011, 05:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
hogan666
Senior Member
 
hogan666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarlockStudios View Post
+1 only once, maybe twice adjusted live
Maybe I'm just a bit too stupid using hightech with one knob

--

@Clockwork:
To me the MXR looks nice too. They made the smart gate, which has a good reputation, so the Noise Clamp couldn't be the worsest piece of gear.

--

Did I mentioned, that I hate writing in english? Reading my own sentences make me feel ashamed. *haha* Trust me, in my native language I'm a bit better in usng grammar.
__________________
hogan666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2011, 02:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
hogan666
Senior Member
 
hogan666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Posts: 178
Bought the MXR. Piece of shit in the 5150 Loop. :-/
__________________
hogan666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2011, 11:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Blackie13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by hogan666 View Post
Bought the MXR. Piece of shit in the 5150 Loop. :-/
don't worry...
Everything sounds like shit in 5150's loop...
The day I kicked out all my pedals from my 5150II I enjoyed the amp for the first time...
Blackie13 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2011, 11:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
JakeAC5253
Frozen Sun Audio
 
JakeAC5253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackie13 View Post
don't worry...
Everything sounds like shit in 5150's loop...
The day I kicked out all my pedals from my 5150II I enjoyed the amp for the first time...
Lol. Even the 5150 sounds like poo through the 5150's loop. I read recently that the 5150 stock power section can amplify cleanly up to 8 or 9 on the master volume, but when you bring the master up to about 4, its the fx loop overloading that causes the compression. Thats one shitty loop haha.
__________________
Now offering: | Reamping | Custom IRs | Premium IR Packs | Mastering |

Frozen Sun Audio
Contact Me


JakeAC5253 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2011, 01:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
D.Vial
Monster Lick
 
D.Vial's Avatar
I never get used to the NS-2, remains disconected on my pedalboard.. if you ask me I think is a total p.o.s.
__________________
www.warchestband.com
D.Vial is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2011, 03:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Blackie13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 47
Get your amp biased,buy some good tubes and a nice cable...
Thats it...
When i was younger I loved effects and used them a lot...
But as I grow up I find that the tone is not on effects...I even hate delay nowadays for the solos...
It's very hard to make a dry signal sound nice but to me it's the best way to improve your playing and phrasing...
You don't need delays sustain if you have a nice vibrato...
IMOV
Blackie13 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2011, 09:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
bryan_kilco
Senior Member
 
bryan_kilco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Poconos, PA
Posts: 4,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.Vial View Post
I never get used to the NS-2, remains disconected on my pedalboard.. if you ask me I think is a total p.o.s.
I keep hearing so much hate on the NS-2 and I really don't understand why. So many people claim it sucks tone, etc....but either my ears are REALLY bad (which I dont think they are) or the "tone loss" is so little that I don't hear it. I always run the NS-2 in front of the amp though.
bryan_kilco is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2011, 02:15 AM   #16 (permalink)
hogan666
Senior Member
 
hogan666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Posts: 178
Mhh, I never had problems with the loop. Maybe it's that my 5150 is a bit better than yours.

--

If the gate on the GT-Pro is the same as the NS-2, it'll work fine for me.
I don't need superfast Rammstein-Style gated sounds. I'm more into modern rock nowadays and nothing sucks more than a superhard gate for me.
__________________
hogan666 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2011, 09:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
TheWinterSnow
Den Mørke Natt
 
TheWinterSnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 3,066
For what you wanted the only thing that would do the job is the G-String because the threshold is set to the guitar before the amp, so you set the threshold for the guitar and will be fixed regardless of a change in MV or gain (clean channel dirty channel).

Since you don't want to pay for one, stop bitching. I never understand why people even put gates in the FX loops to begin with, the hiss is part of the amp and still isn't that loud on a 5150 to be noticed in a mix or live. Its more of a feedback issue live that is more important, and that means the gate goes before the amp.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JakeAC5253 View Post
Lol. Even the 5150 sounds like poo through the 5150's loop. I read recently that the 5150 stock power section can amplify cleanly up to 8 or 9 on the master volume, but when you bring the master up to about 4, its the fx loop overloading that causes the compression. Thats one shitty loop haha.
You might want to look at the schematic again, the FX loop valve is always on, by that I mean the signal always goes through the FX loop regardless if the FX is engaged or not. The rumor that goes around saying a 5150 can got to 8 or 9 before clipping the power section is purely myth, they run out of headroom and start compressing at 4, has nothing to do with the FX loop.
__________________


My band's Facebook
Download our EP
TheWinterSnow is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2014 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media