Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > Backline
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Backline Gear, software, plugins, samples, IRs ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old January 20th, 2012, 06:54 AM   #26 (permalink)
schwinginbatman
It's shittay!
 
schwinginbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeSedna View Post
Now that I think of it, any of you guys think the reacomp sucks ? I dont know if it's because of its GUI that makes my workflow use it a dumb way, but I hate anything I get from it. Not that I need it when I have ssl/1176/la2a, but still.

By the way, I don't know why they stick to a generic UI for their main plugins, I would gladly pay to have a GUI ala stillwell for them. It would also help make it less ugly overall. Btw, there is Event Horizon in the JS plugins. It's only missing a few things compared to the one you can buy on stillwell's store.

Any of you use the matrix intensively ? I think it's powerful but in a mix situation I never use it ?

Oh and, one of the most awesome things in reaper is that a track is a track, period. Then you deal with the information that goes through it wether it is midi or audio or even both at the same time, but that flexibility makes it so simple.

That RADO theme seems beautiful. Exactly what I'm after, I'll try it when I have time (on phone ATM)
The JS section of the plugins is still, even after more than year, still scary to me. So much stuff in there. I found Major Tom in there, it may not be the exact Major Tom I almost bought, but I still want to try it out.
schwinginbatman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2012, 07:44 PM   #27 (permalink)
AudioGeekZine
arsehole know-it-all
 
AudioGeekZine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,378
If you couldn't tell from my posts on The Reaper Blog, I am a big fan. It has come so far in such a short time. It is starting to get much more notice from pros and press.
Could not wrap my head around it back in 2007 or 2008, or 2009 but when I saw what Adam Wathan was doing with REAPER, essentially replacing Pro Tools I dove in and really started to love REAPER.

I really don't miss much about Pro Tools, other than the money invested in it or the time spent troubleshooting, wish I could get that back.

Would really like some included instruments like those in Pro Tools or creative MIDI tools like Cubase 5 introduced (loopmash and beat designer) but otherwise I could not be happier with this DAW.
AudioGeekZine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2012, 08:16 PM   #28 (permalink)
t-rave
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 527
Love it!!

It's super powerful and efficient, but also somewhat unintuitive and overly complex until you start to build your own shortcuts and macros..

I "liked" reaper until I bought these videos

http://www.groove3.com/str/reaper-4-explained.html

after running through Kenny's amazing and concise tutorials I discovered so many valuable tools I would have never known existed...these tutorials are must have!
t-rave is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2012, 10:55 AM   #29 (permalink)
Shinozoku
Senior Memory
 
Shinozoku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bristol, VA
Posts: 339
REAPER is the only thing I know Aside from Adobe Audition, but I'm more familiar with Reaper.

Still trying to figure out how to make ReaVerb make a good delay, and how to properly use a compressor O.o Anyone up for doing an in-depth ReaComp tutorial for Dummies?
__________________
Equipment: Reaper with no addons, and a LOT of determination.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevoire520 View Post
It's 2011, it's 24 bit, back off your levels and enjoy the headroom!
Shinozoku is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2012, 11:36 AM   #30 (permalink)
AudioGeekZine
arsehole know-it-all
 
AudioGeekZine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinozoku View Post
REAPER is the only thing I know Aside from Adobe Audition, but I'm more familiar with Reaper.

Still trying to figure out how to make ReaVerb make a good delay, and how to properly use a compressor O.o Anyone up for doing an in-depth ReaComp tutorial for Dummies?
good idea, I'll try to make some videos explaining all the basic plugins.
AudioGeekZine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2012, 11:46 AM   #31 (permalink)
Laozen
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by if6was9 View Post
Used it for recording, syncing audio to video, my live guitar rig, and a few times I've ran FULL FOH and monitors off it for gigs.
Wow! Please tell me more about that live mixing with reaper! How did you build up your rig? How to handle with latency? What plugins used, reaperīs own or other? I believe that in future livemixtechs only bring their laptop and maybe couple of pre amps to the consert place, which haveīs already full mixing controller with midi. I have seen it already one time. It was mac pro with some program called multimix, or multitrack or something. Anyway he used waves plugins and mixed tracks went back to houseīs LS9. It sounded awesome.
Laozen is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2012, 12:11 PM   #32 (permalink)
Shinozoku
Senior Memory
 
Shinozoku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bristol, VA
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioGeekZine View Post
good idea, I'll try to make some videos explaining all the basic plugins.
Thanks, man! If you look up any beginner tuts for Reaper on youtube, all you get is stuff that assumes everyone already knows how to use stuff like knees, and stereo width controls, etc.

I will gladly subscribe to your vids when you make them
__________________
Equipment: Reaper with no addons, and a LOT of determination.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevoire520 View Post
It's 2011, it's 24 bit, back off your levels and enjoy the headroom!
Shinozoku is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2012, 01:27 PM   #33 (permalink)
JonWormwood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonWormwood View Post
Reacomp isn't that bad at all. Reaxcomp is also great.

And the js versions of stillwell vsts aren't as powerful and not 100% copies of their vst counter parts from my understanding. I need to do some a/b tests

Hopefully they add mouse dragging (like in midi drum mode for example that mimics cubase dragging)

It won't be an issue in a tracking situation but for Pre pro programmed drums...
holy fuck, i found out under mouse modifiers you can paint lines! Problem solved.
JonWormwood is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2012, 01:30 PM   #34 (permalink)
JonWormwood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 3,863
We had a band practice yesterday with 16 inputs (pro fire into digimax fs) and it worked great. 3 amp sims (legion and TSE BOD) + speaker sims (kefir), eq/comp on every channel, worked great.
JonWormwood is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2012, 02:23 AM   #35 (permalink)
JonWormwood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 3,863
Had no idea you could dock toolbars like this.

JonWormwood is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2012, 05:13 PM   #36 (permalink)
Shinozoku
Senior Memory
 
Shinozoku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bristol, VA
Posts: 339
So, has anybody checked out the Drum Reaplacer JS? I'm about to be working on my friend's band in the next month or so, and we'll need to use it due to severe lack of good (or even decent) recording equipment? We're simply recording it for a demo disk to hand out at shows, they'll get more professional tracking done somewhere else later.
__________________
Equipment: Reaper with no addons, and a LOT of determination.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevoire520 View Post
It's 2011, it's 24 bit, back off your levels and enjoy the headroom!
Shinozoku is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2012, 07:12 PM   #37 (permalink)
JonWormwood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinozoku View Post
So, has anybody checked out the Drum Reaplacer JS? I'm about to be working on my friend's band in the next month or so, and we'll need to use it due to severe lack of good (or even decent) recording equipment? We're simply recording it for a demo disk to hand out at shows, they'll get more professional tracking done somewhere else later.
It's all right, no multi support :/
JonWormwood is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2012, 01:41 AM   #38 (permalink)
AudioGeekZine
arsehole know-it-all
 
AudioGeekZine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,378
before I had Trigger I used ReaSamplematic5000. Pretty basic but works just fine.
AudioGeekZine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2012, 03:17 PM   #39 (permalink)
AudioGeekZine
arsehole know-it-all
 
AudioGeekZine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,378
I posted some tutorials on the blog this week regarding stability and 32 vs 64 bit.

http://reaperblog.net
AudioGeekZine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2012, 03:32 PM   #40 (permalink)
Mutant
I hate that supercow !
 
Mutant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 2,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioGeekZine View Post
I posted some tutorials on the blog this week regarding stability and 32 vs 64 bit.

http://reaperblog.net
Interesting.
__________________
I like BOOBIES !!!
48/2(9+3)=288
Mutant is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2012, 01:57 PM   #41 (permalink)
Maybelater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 134
I Love Reaper! Its very versatile on how I can set it up! It would really be the sh!t if it had an audio editor. I only want this because I came from Adobe Audition that has a "built in" audio editor that I still use today.

Last edited by Maybelater : February 19th, 2012 at 02:00 PM.
Maybelater is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2012, 05:02 PM   #42 (permalink)
aviel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 787
what built in plugins in reaper do you find yourself using? i stilll havent decided if i like them. there are some really bad ones.. like the distortionand stuff. but reafir in nice
__________________
Aviel Nahoum

Jackson DK 2M Snowhite
ESP Eclipse
Engl Powerball
Peavy 6505
Legacy 4x12 v30
Palmer Dacappo reamp box. i do reamps, hit me up
aviel is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2012, 05:54 PM   #43 (permalink)
JonWormwood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviel View Post
what built in plugins in reaper do you find yourself using? i stilll havent decided if i like them. there are some really bad ones.. like the distortionand stuff. but reafir in nice
Reaeq, reacomp, reaxcomp,
JonWormwood is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2012, 05:55 PM   #44 (permalink)
Drummerrrrr?
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shinozoku View Post
So, has anybody checked out the Drum Reaplacer JS? I'm about to be working on my friend's band in the next month or so, and we'll need to use it due to severe lack of good (or even decent) recording equipment? We're simply recording it for a demo disk to hand out at shows, they'll get more professional tracking done somewhere else later.
It isn't bad for being free. Has multi-sample support thought you have to have each sample in the same .wav file, it won't read .gog or anything. Much too much latency for live triggering but it works well in mixing.
Drummerrrrr? is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2012, 06:06 PM   #45 (permalink)
JonWormwood
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Jax, Fl
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drummerrrrr? View Post
It isn't bad for being free. Has multi-sample support thought you have to have each sample in the same .wav file, it won't read .gog or anything. Much too much latency for live triggering but it works well in mixing.
Details on this?
JonWormwood is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2012, 07:14 PM   #46 (permalink)
Shinozoku
Senior Memory
 
Shinozoku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bristol, VA
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drummerrrrr? View Post
It isn't bad for being free. Has multi-sample support thought you have to have each sample in the same .wav file, it won't read .gog or anything. Much too much latency for live triggering but it works well in mixing.
I've heard it doesn't work that well in recent versions of Reaper, as it hasn't been updated. If that true in your experience?

JonWormwood: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=20462
__________________
Equipment: Reaper with no addons, and a LOT of determination.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevoire520 View Post
It's 2011, it's 24 bit, back off your levels and enjoy the headroom!
Shinozoku is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2012, 09:17 PM   #47 (permalink)
schwinginbatman
It's shittay!
 
schwinginbatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviel View Post
what built in plugins in reaper do you find yourself using? i stilll havent decided if i like them. there are some really bad ones.. like the distortionand stuff. but reafir in nice
ReaEQ, ReaxComp, ExpressFX Delay.
schwinginbatman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2012, 02:15 AM   #48 (permalink)
AudioGeekZine
arsehole know-it-all
 
AudioGeekZine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by aviel View Post
what built in plugins in reaper do you find yourself using? i stilll havent decided if i like them. there are some really bad ones.. like the distortionand stuff. but reafir in nice
There are so many JS effects but to don't bother with them too often other than for the tone generator or some of the meters.

reaEQ, ReaComp (for ducking mostly), ReaGate, ReaDelay, reainsert get used a lot.

ReaXcomp and ReaFIR are too complicated for me
AudioGeekZine is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2012, 04:42 AM   #49 (permalink)
LeSedna
Mat or Mateo
 
LeSedna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montpellier, France
Posts: 4,705
+1 for reacomp for ducking, I don't really like it compared to 3rd party colored compressors, but it's very very easy to set up to duck the bass and works pretty well.

@JohnWormwood, how do you dock 2 toolbars in the top area of the screen ? I'd like to dock my colors toolbars but I haven't found how to do that ?
__________________
MacBookPro 17in 2011 (MacOs/W7) / REAPER / Duet - equator D5 / ESP (SD) - Ltd B50
INHERIT EP about 50% finished (For fans of Devin Townsend / BTBAM / Cynic / Tesseract / Tool / Pink Floyd)
LeSedna is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2012, 05:18 AM   #50 (permalink)
KHE
Senior Member
 
KHE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: switzerland
Posts: 478
open the toolbar in the toolbar-docker, then hold ctrl and pull the tab to the location you want. (you have to open at least 2 toolbars in the docker to make this work if i remember correctly)

cheers!
KHE is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2010 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media