Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > Backline
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Backline Gear, software, plugins, samples, IRs ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old March 1st, 2012, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
torqueofficial
Diego Castillo
 
torqueofficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Line 6 UX2 Connections?

Hey what's up guys!

I have a Line 6 UX2 with a pair of M-audio Studiosophile AV40. So I was wondering if there is any possible way to connect my monitors and headphones to my line 6 UX2 at the same time? Please HELP!
Thanks,

Diego.
__________________
| Soundcloud || Youtube |
torqueofficial is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 11:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
oroinvictus
dangert billy
 
oroinvictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: eugene, oregon
Posts: 2,055
You can on most of the UX units, there should be a headphone jack up front and your line outs are out back.
__________________
-Cory
oroinvictus is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 11:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
torqueofficial
Diego Castillo
 
torqueofficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 144
What do I need to connect my monitors to the line outs that are on the back of my UX2? I mean, what cable?
__________________
| Soundcloud || Youtube |
torqueofficial is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 11:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
DullElysium
Senior Member
 
DullElysium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 671
If i remember correctly the jacks on the back are just standard 6,3mm mono. Si if your monitors have xrl input you need a cablr that has bot a 6,3mm end and a xlr end (propably male). And if your monitors have 6,3mm inputs you'll need a cablr with two 6,3mm ends.
DullElysium is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2012, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
torqueofficial
Diego Castillo
 
torqueofficial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 144
Ok, so I think both have two balanced 1/4-inch. So I guess that's what I need to buy right?

M-audio Studiosohile:
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/MAudioAV40.html
Line 6 UX2:
http://line6.com/podstudioux2/specifications.html

Please, if you have time, verify it for me using the links from above. Thanks a lot guys!
__________________
| Soundcloud || Youtube |
torqueofficial is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2012, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
oroinvictus
dangert billy
 
oroinvictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: eugene, oregon
Posts: 2,055
Yep, speaker cables with 1/4" inputs will do you right.
__________________
-Cory
oroinvictus is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2012, 01:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Damian B
»\(░_o)/»
 
Damian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 1,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by oroinvictus View Post
Yep, speaker cables with 1/4" inputs will do you right.
Do not use speaker cables. You need balanced 1/4" TRS cables such as these: http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2

Speaker cables are for a powered signal (from a guitar head to a cabinet, for example).
__________________
Damian B is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2012, 02:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
oroinvictus
dangert billy
 
oroinvictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: eugene, oregon
Posts: 2,055
My bad, I meant to say balanced cable instead of speaker cable.
__________________
-Cory
oroinvictus is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2012, 06:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
DanLights
A Venezuelan in Europe
 
DanLights's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: A Coru˝a, Spain
Posts: 6,972
Just a thought, wouldn┤t normal unbalanced "guitar" cables work just fine? I mean, you lose the noise cancelling of the balanced ones, but they would still sound fine, right? Or is there also a considerable quality loss in using unbalanced?
__________________

http://www.facebook.com/adintra


Weekly Favorites - Currently Listening
DanLights is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2010 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media