Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > Backline
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Backline Gear, software, plugins, samples, IRs ...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old March 16th, 2012, 05:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
_JJ_

Recommend me 7-string pickups

Finally I'm about to pull the trigger and order a custom guitar at http://strictly7.com/
At first I was thinking about getting a custom Solar 7 in mahogany with Emg 707tw's. I want this guitar to sound like a f***ing beast but I'm having second thoughts.
I will mainly play in drop a. Will it be to dark and muddy? This is my first 7-string and I have little experience in 7-string pickups.

When it comes to my 6-string guitars (they're setup in drop b and c) I prefer mahogany with emg 81, even more than my lundgren m6 .
I know there's a 7 version of the 81 (81-7) but it seems to sound much worse than the regular 81. I want my tone to be really solid and heavy and don't care too much for djent.
Should I reconsider both the choice of pickups and wood? I have no idea how much it differs between 7 and 6-string guitars.

It would be awsome if you want to help me make up my mind

Cheers!
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old March 16th, 2012, 06:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
bogchop
Stiff Member

I've ordered a Solar 7 with Mahogany, locking tuners and no inlay. I will be putting an SH6 in the bridge, and a 59 in the neck. Staying the fuck away from actives, forever. So sterile and unpleasant to my ears.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old March 16th, 2012, 06:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
MarcusGHedwig