Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > F.O.H.
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

F.O.H. Production tips, techniques, tutorials...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old October 12th, 2009, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
updog
Senior Member
 
updog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,730
Logic's metronome too quiet

While recording, my bandmates sometimes complain that they can't hear the click well enough. The sound of the built-in metronome in Logic does seem like it easily is buried under. I've tried pushing it all the way up, even putting a compressor to its channel strip so it pumps like hell, but I haven't thought of anything effective yet.

Any suggestions? Should I actually EQ the metronome so people can hear it better? Or should I pitchshift it to a higher pitch? Change the entire Klopfgeist sound to something else? Any suggestions?
__________________
updog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2009, 04:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
gabriel g.
Senior Member
 
gabriel g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hamburg
Posts: 3,178
Right click on the metronom icon.....

The metronom could clip at some settings, so if it gets buried you track too hot!!!
gabriel g. is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2009, 05:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
updog
Senior Member
 
updog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,730
I've already set the metronome to its full volume from the metronome settings. It does clip a bit every 4 beats, but I always have a limiter in the master, and I always make sure that the instruments I'm recording don't clip.
__________________
updog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2009, 05:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
greyskull
Senior Member
 
greyskull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,949
klopgeist is dogshit.
If i actually used logic for anything, id be using my own sounds in ultrabeat or something.
greyskull is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 02:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
updog
Senior Member
 
updog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by greyskull View Post
klopgeist is dogshit.
If i actually used logic for anything, id be using my own sounds in ultrabeat or something.
Gotta try that, thanks.

I know I can change the sound to something else, I'm just hoping I won't need to manually set it for every project I have...
__________________
updog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 02:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
updog
Senior Member
 
updog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by XGabrielX View Post
Right click on the metronom icon.....

The metronom could clip at some settings, so if it gets buried you track too hot!!!
Actually, I noticed I do track too hot. I've had things peaking at -3, which sucks.

I'm wondering if I should ask the guys record everything again...
__________________
updog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 02:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Morgan C
MAX LOUD PRESETS»\(░_o)/»
 
Morgan C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 3,675
Turn down the fader on your tracks and turn up your monitors..?
__________________
Morgan C is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 01:08 PM   #8 (permalink)
mick thompson
AKA: Ross Canpolat! SM!
 
mick thompson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 1,848
go to the mixer window, click "all" (at the top) and you'll see the metronome channel (blue i think) - turn it up on the fader - if its still not loud enough add logic's gain plugin, if its still not loud enough add a compressor and increase the input & output levels - done

careful though - too loud and you'll clip your soundcard and you'll have to do a reboot

if your band members cant hear it then they have lost there hearing freq's in the mid to high range. urge them to use ear plugs on stage and in venues (otherwise they wont hear anything when they come to the age of 40) - to deal with the problem open up a 31 band and eq up the mids to high's around 8dB if not more until they can hear it. sometimes on stage i've had to ask the engineers to boost my mid range on my monitor's because i've lost a good amount of it over the years from extreme audio dB's from playing too loud and not using ear protection when im working with grinders and saws on building sites
__________________

Last edited by mick thompson : October 13th, 2009 at 01:12 PM.
mick thompson is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 03:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
SentencedToBurn
Dubbs
 
SentencedToBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,264
yea when the metronome is all the way up in logic, it clips. So you are most definitely recording too hot.
SentencedToBurn is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Machinated
Senior Member
 
Machinated's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Milton Keynes, UK
Posts: 3,898
use a different sampler or

double click klopfgeist and turn the tonality up and it turns more into a beep than a click and can be more audible
__________________
Ed Sokolowski

Follow me on facebook: EAS STUDIOS

Follow me on twitter - http://twitter.com/easstudios

Drum Quantizing + Reamping available + Production + Mixing - PM me for details
Machinated is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 03:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
updog
Senior Member
 
updog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,730
Thanks for the tips everyone! I've already turned the metronome fader all the way up and full volume from the settings. Gotta try something else.

So yeah, I noticed the guitars peak at -3 (yellow) which is probably bad. We may or may not record everything again, we'll see it's not like it's paid work anyway.

What would you guys say? Less headroom, or more work and learning the hard way?

By the way, I noticed today that if you have a midi track of what your guitarist is supposed to play, and have a banjo sound on that midi track it helps the guitarist keep time very well. Don't know why.

EDIT. meant -3, not -6.
__________________

Last edited by updog : October 14th, 2009 at 05:22 AM.
updog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2009, 03:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
egan.
daylightdies.com
 
egan.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NorCal
Posts: 5,232
If you aren't clipping you aren't peaking too high.

If you can't hear the click turn everything else down. Seriously. You don't need to re-record everything-- just pull down the faders. That's why they're there.
egan. is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2009, 01:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
updog
Senior Member
 
updog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by egan. View Post
If you aren't clipping you aren't peaking too high.

If you can't hear the click turn everything else down. Seriously. You don't need to re-record everything-- just pull down the faders. That's why they're there.
Good to know, thanks.
__________________
updog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2009, 06:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
ahjteam
Anssi Tenhunen
 
ahjteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 9,397
and if they can't hear the click, turn everything else down from the headphones and add gain in the headphone amp
__________________
Check out my youtube channel for audio production tutorials
http://www.youtube.com/ahjteam

http://soundcloud.com/ahjteam/sets/debut-album
ahjteam is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2009, 01:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
arv_foh
Brian K
 
arv_foh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Machinated View Post
use a different sampler or

double click klopfgeist and turn the tonality up and it turns more into a beep than a click and can be more audible
This... the first band I recorded with Logic complained they couldn't hear the click so I turned the tonality from .5 to like .95 and it helped immensely
__________________
Audio Engineering, Graphic Design, and Photography

www.btkaudio.com
www.btkphoto.com
arv_foh is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2009, 01:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
updog
Senior Member
 
updog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahjteam View Post
and if they can't hear the click, turn everything else down from the headphones and add gain in the headphone amp
They're actually monitoring through my monitor speakers, while I have headphones on. Some of them preferred listening themselves through the speakers. I don't know if it's a bad thing, except that they obviously can't hear as well as they would wearing headphones...

But I've already ordered a headphone amp and some more headphones, I'll have them in my hands next week. I'll probably just make them use headphones

The tonality thing was a great tip, it's way more audible now. I turned tonality all the way up.
__________________
updog is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 10:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
xTomx
Senior Member
 
xTomx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cambridge/ St Albans, UK
Posts: 833
I had a similar problem, I just find the klopfgeist click to be pretty weak so I changed it to a Pro Tools style wood block that was part of the EXS24 jazz kit.

It's much easier to hear without having to add any gain and drowning out other tracks
__________________
[font="Arial"]
www.tomrichfield.com
xTomx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 10:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
-J-
Senior Member
 
-J-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 955
...

record a vocal track where you say "tick" in time with the metronome. every once in a while say "tock." I'm here to help.
__________________


Paugrim

Demo-Quality 4 Lyfe
-J- is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2009, 11:49 AM   #19 (permalink)
beyond dead
heavy metal dad \m/
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: peterborough, ontario, canada
Posts: 2,167
damn... this shit is common knowledge isnt it???!!!???? take a look at your signal path lol.
__________________
Uses and abuses:

Profire 2626, Saffire Pro 40, ART PRO MPAII, Mac Mini w 2.6 ghz i7 8 gb ram, Logic Pro 9, Focusrite Liquid Mix, M-audio Keyrig 49

Mics:
Shure, Audix, Sennheiser, Audio Technica, Studio Projects, Apex
beyond dead is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2014 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media