Andy Sneap & Backstage Productions  

Go Back   Ultimate Metal Forum > Heavy Metal Forums > Andy Sneap > F.O.H.
Register FAQ Donate Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

F.O.H. Production tips, techniques, tutorials...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old July 11th, 2010, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
xmortumx
Senior Member
 
xmortumx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 616
How to export Stem files from session.

So after one year this band requested me to send them all the tracks from there sessions but i really dont know what the easiet way to do this?
These sessions were in cubase sx3 so how would i export each track of the sessions?

Is there an export option or i hav to export each single tracK?

Thanks
__________________

Last edited by xmortumx : July 11th, 2010 at 06:58 PM.
xmortumx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
barricade
Giggity Geschmougen
 
barricade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 795
"singley" export
barricade is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 06:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
AboutBlank
Senior Member
 
AboutBlank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,310
If the dudes work with Cubase too(atleast SX3) you can export .omf.

If not you're a little bit screwed, or buy C5

Edit:
Nevermind the .omf...
its not rendered
AboutBlank is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
xmortumx
Senior Member
 
xmortumx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 616
Yeah i didnt hav spell check fuck it just wanted my point across hahaha

anyways... they just want the wav tracks i guess....
__________________
xmortumx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 08:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
waltz mastering
Senior Member
 
waltz mastering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 3rd Stone From The Sun
Posts: 267
Consolidating regions in Cubase/Nuendo:

1. Select the Range Tool, and highlight all tracks from 0:00:00.000 through to the very end of the very last region.

2. From the Audio menu, select Bounce and Replace Events.

3. From the File menu, select Save Project to New Folder, and all the new consolidated files will be available in that new project's Audio Files folder. Just be sure to check the box labeled "Remove Unused Media" to ensure only the consolidated files appear in the Audio Files folder.

Might want to save sessions as a different name before you start.
waltz mastering is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
xmortumx
Senior Member
 
xmortumx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 616
thanks dude ill give that a go... how about in cubase 5 is there an easier way? I say this because in my new machine im running cubase 5 and just incase future bands ask me for their separate tracks i can know how to do it.
__________________
xmortumx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2010, 09:48 PM   #7 (permalink)
ahjteam
Anssi Tenhunen
 
ahjteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 9,397
in C5 there is the multi export function. haven't used it yet personally so I'm not 100% sure how it works.
__________________
Check out my youtube channel for audio production tutorials
http://www.youtube.com/ahjteam

http://soundcloud.com/ahjteam/sets/debut-album
ahjteam is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 04:23 AM   #8 (permalink)
AboutBlank
Senior Member
 
AboutBlank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,310
It works like a charm.

Totally easy, like export a .wav!
AboutBlank is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 07:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hate81
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Geelong, Australia
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahjteam View Post
in C5 there is the multi export function. haven't used it yet personally so I'm not 100% sure how it works.
pretty much the same as a normal export except you select "batch export" and select which tracks you want. it will export all selected tracks as stereo files.

Has worked well for me.

Last edited by Hate81 : July 12th, 2010 at 07:45 AM.
Hate81 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 09:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
MikaŽl-ange
Senior Member
 
MikaŽl-ange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltz mastering View Post
Consolidating regions in Cubase/Nuendo:

1. Select the Range Tool, and highlight all tracks from 0:00:00.000 through to the very end of the very last region.

2. From the Audio menu, select Bounce and Replace Events.

3. From the File menu, select Save Project to New Folder, and all the new consolidated files will be available in that new project's Audio Files folder. Just be sure to check the box labeled "Remove Unused Media" to ensure only the consolidated files appear in the Audio Files folder.

Might want to save sessions as a different name before you start.
Nice one
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinny Viking View Post
takes longer to reply when you're typing with one hand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Fricker View Post
....maybe I should go buy an amp sim.....
--------------------------------------
Want move a thread to necrothread list?
PM me, I will post on it and nobody will ever reply again!!!
MikaŽl-ange is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 10:01 AM   #11 (permalink)
>>>GENZ<<<
Senior Member
 
>>>GENZ<<<'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 142
They requested files one year after? hmmm...
>>>GENZ<<< is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 02:55 PM   #12 (permalink)
xmortumx
Senior Member
 
xmortumx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 616
Coool so when u guys export the files u guys usually expoort them stereo or mono???
__________________
xmortumx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 03:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
MikaŽl-ange
Senior Member
 
MikaŽl-ange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmortumx View Post
Coool so when u guys export the files u guys usually expoort them stereo or mono???
Mono for mono material and stereo for stereo material.
I hate when I get a complete sesion bounced in stereo!!! You need 1hour minimum for re bounce everything
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skinny Viking View Post
takes longer to reply when you're typing with one hand
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glenn Fricker View Post
....maybe I should go buy an amp sim.....
--------------------------------------
Want move a thread to necrothread list?
PM me, I will post on it and nobody will ever reply again!!!
MikaŽl-ange is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 03:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Melodeath
Moonbow
 
Melodeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 2,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by analgrinder333 View Post
Mono for mono material and stereo for stereo material.
I hate when I get a complete sesion bounced in stereo!!! You need 1hour minimum for re bounce everything
Why do you rebounce?
__________________
Subterranean Watchtower Studios - http://www.facebook.com/SubterraneanWatchtower
Old School Death Metal - http://www.facebook.com/HorrendousDeathMetal and http://www.myspace.com/horrendousdeathmetal
Recording, Reamping, Mixing, Mastering - SubterraneanWatchtower at gmail dot com
Melodeath is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2010, 03:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
xmortumx
Senior Member
 
xmortumx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 616
Sweet!

Thanks!
__________________
xmortumx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2010, 09:45 AM   #16 (permalink)
aortizjr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Fe, NM
Posts: 579
In Cubase 5, the damn tacks will all be stereo if they are bussed to a stereo out. It also retains panning information and any plugins or fader positions you have on there.

So basically you can sum the tracks as is and get the mix. And last time I did stems was in Cubase 5.1 or whatever. In 5.5 this might have been fixed.

To get mono tracks, you have to send all the mono channels to a mono output.

Then of course if you want them to be raw files you have to reset the mixer.

So for me in Cubase 5, I do:

1. Save As a new session
2. Reset the mixer
3. Set a mono output
4. Send mono tracks to mono output. (Select tracks using shift, hold down ALT-Shift when selecting output to change them all at once).
5. Batch export.

I never knew the waltz mastering way. That is downright brilliant. If you are doing only audio, that might still be better than Batch Export. Batch Export is cool since it will render VSTi's and such too.

Or you can send processed tracks which is cool for collaboration and tracking at other studios of if the changes are minor to the mix (ie. hot vocal radio edit, instrumentals, etc.)
aortizjr is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2010, 02:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
nwright
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Castle, Indiana
Posts: 3,096
the way Waltz Mastering wrote will give you the completely raw, unprocessed files. So any plugins you've put on the individual tracks will NOT be saved when you bounce.

I've always made stems this way. But to be sure, I'd ask the band if they want the processed stem files (i.e. each track as it's own wav in the way it sounded on their finished project) or the raw, unprocessed files (which could sound significantly different than the finished product).
nwright is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
© Copyright 2000-2014 UltimateMetal.com | MetalAges Media