This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

64 bit DAW?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by schnykeees, Sep 19, 2010.

  1. schnykeees

    schnykeees Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have W7 Home 64 bit with an i7 930 and 12GB of RAM. I want to utilize all of this processing power. What DAW do you guys recommend, preferably a 64 bit one.
     
  2. Matthias King

    Matthias King The Machine

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Saints Row, Stilwater
    Off the top of my head, Vegas, Reaper, Sonar, Cubase are all 64bit. I don't know what to recommend to you though, they're all good. You can't really go wrong.
     
  3. tempe

    tempe Captain Midnight

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Reaper and Cubase seem to have the least 64bit related complaints, but thats just from my reading not experience, as I am a very happy 64bit Logic user.
     
  4. azistenostora

    azistenostora Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Tatooine (aka Milton Keynes)
    64 bit Win7 with Cubase 5 essential user here. Never had any problems.
    With windows vista however my Cubase crashed after every track I recorded but that is another story...
     
  5. schnykeees

    schnykeees Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm leaning towards Cubase 5.
     
  6. elapidae1

    elapidae1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I use Reaper on my i7 w7 64bit, no problems at all.
     
  7. reg3n

    reg3n Señor Miembro

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Argentina
    Reaper is the only daw with almost zero problems in 64bits for me. AMD user here.
     
  8. AHChris

    AHChris Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bavaria
    I use Cubase 5 on a 64-bit system... I would go for Reaper if I were you. I´ll switch as soon as I find time to adapt my workflow to Reaper. Cubase crashes way to often recently.
     
  9. joeymusicguy

    joeymusicguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    indiana
    a lot of mainstream plugins arent 64 bit yet, so unless you have a lot of outboard gear, i wouldn't recommend going full 64 bit

    i fully recommend 32 bit daw on 64 bit os, tho.
     
  10. Uros

    Uros Sonic Incision

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    between sine waves
    ^^What's the main advantage of W7 64 over 32-bit one, given that I have 3gb ram and a dual-core AMD? I've heard that, unless you have 4 gb ram or more, there is no point in switching over. Truth?
     
  11. timislegend

    timislegend Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    this is mainly an advantage (running more than 4gb)... 64 bit integer supports more efficient random access and background application idle.

    there are a lot of benefits to running a 64 bit os.

    however, 32-bit programs may not be fully compatible with a 64-bit operating system.

    you might also run into issues with 32-bit device drivers not being supported. (assuming the hardware you have is not all 64 bit hardware).

    you can do some research with regards to setting up an optimized 64 bit system using your current hardware.

    if this machine is deticated for one or two things... like gaming/audio production you should be good to go... also, it can never hurt to upgrade the memory.

    we have a davinci resolve system that lives on 64-bit Linux and employs 32-bit floating-point calculations... but all it is used for is color grading so there is very low maintenance.

    joey makes the biggest point here: there are a lot of vst plug-ins that do not and MAY NEVER support 64 bit integer... it would behoove you to use a 32 bit daw with a 64 bit os.
     
  12. Damian B

    Damian B ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NC, USA
    I run 32-bit Reaper on 64-bit w7 without any issues.
     
  13. XnaySaturo

    XnaySaturo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    64 bit Reaper on 64 bit Win 7 here, absolutely fantastic.
     

Share This Page