This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Ampsim, TS and Impulse-Loader needed

Discussion in 'Backline' started by TonyS., Jun 20, 2012.

  1. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Hi guys,

    I was using Cubase 6 @ Win7 for my projects and always used Tsx808 + LeGion +, LeCab2 for preproduction guitars/monitoring before reamping.

    Now I switched to Pro Tools 10 and OSX and been looking for some new plugins.
    Would be cool to get some tips, cause I can't find any other sims I'm happy with.
    (Already tried Revalver)

    Thanks!
     
  2. AntonioPetrole

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    New Jersey
    amp sims are pretty much a game of jumping 1 to another when they really all generally sound the same. I haven't met anyone who is happy with one amp sim over a long time.

    That being said there is Pod Farm, Guitar Rig, Amplitude etc. Just google amp sims. There is also the new Brainworkz plugin that is in beta
     
  3. Robert W

    Robert W Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I like LePou's LeCto and BTE's Vintage Overdrive.
     
  4. AudioPhile777

    AudioPhile777 Mathew Cohen

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chatsworthingtonshire, CA, USA
    Lecto/TSE + Recabinet = win.
     
  5. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    To make it clear...I need a new ampsim for ProTools! I really like Tse + Poulins stuff but tere are only Vst's, isn't it?
     
  6. heshian46

    heshian46 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northwest Burbs of Chicago, IL
  7. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    mhh....I read it wouldn't work with ProTools10?!
     
  8. heshian46

    heshian46 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northwest Burbs of Chicago, IL
    Its not officially supported yet, but some people are running it in 10 without issue. Buyer beware I guess.
     
  9. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Thank you, I will try it out.
     
  10. jackbraglia

    jackbraglia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    this wont work. the free amp sims won't wrap properly for some reason. the sound works, but the GUI does not (so you cant turn the knobs and actually see what you're doing). although I'm using PT9, so the GUI's may work fine in PT10, but something tells me its the wrapper and not pro tools.

    so your best option here is podfarm plus reverberate or one of the few other IR loaders for RTAS...its really slim pickins out there for us pro tools users.
     
  11. metalfanat1c

    metalfanat1c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    People always forget Revalver.
     
  12. jackbraglia

    jackbraglia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    nope, revalver is awesome, but it was already mentioned in the OP
     
  13. metalfanat1c

    metalfanat1c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If he doesn't like Revalver, he'd hate pretty much everything else on the market for Mac.


    My two cents.
     
  14. nervirasme

    nervirasme Dismember

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sarajevo, Bosnia & Herzegovina
    Do yourself a favor and try Overloud's TH2! (for example: "Modern US" amp on vintage channel... and put their "TubeNine" OD sim in front of it) - one of the best sounds there is!!
     
  15. JarekMusil

    JarekMusil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Czech Republic
  16. jackbraglia

    jackbraglia Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    no, but the samples on their site sound pretty awful
     
  17. viralz

    viralz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    I've wasted to much money on commercial amp sims(revalver, guitar rig, amplitube) When in the end they are all inferior to Lepou and TSE's stuff. LE456 is my go to ampsim from now on.
     
  18. Scottxx

    Scottxx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I can say I tried EVERY Amp Sim out there. The best sounding ones are these: TH2, Jamvox III and Kuassa Cream. I know there are a lot of great stuff that I like too, like Lepous, Onqel, etc... But those are the best sounding for me. And if you need the best sounding IR loader, it is SIR2.
     
  19. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    Thank you guys...will try TH2 at first.
     
  20. TonyS.

    TonyS. www.risingstorm-music.com

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Berlin
    ...purchased TH2...really like it! Thanks.

    A last question:
    Is there any good/free(?!) impulse loader for Pro Tools?
     

Share This Page