This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Apogee Duet 2

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Astrikos, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. Astrikos

    Astrikos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens Greece
  2. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Looks super cool, and I love that the headphone out is separate from the line outs, but otherwise I'm not sure it's a huge improvement over the original Duet. I personally prefer the original being FireWire based, as well.


    That said, I *just* bought an original Duet last week, so I'm probably trying to justify that in a way. :lol:
     
  3. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    2 cool things the original doesn't have... softlimit on the converters and balanced outputs... other than that it's pretty much the same just prettier

    I just bought mine a few months ago so I feel ya. Haha
     
  4. Astrikos

    Astrikos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    They say next generation AD/DA converters.Time will tell about that.It sure does look good though!
     
  5. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    At the level the original Duet is at, it's definitely not converters holding your productions back!

    The softlimit is kind of cool but I feel like if I'm just careful about peaks I can avoid the need for them. Balanced out's is pretty cool, too, but I've not had any issues running it into my Level Pilot and then into my Adams, although I can imagine balanced would be nice for live usage?
     
  6. Astrikos

    Astrikos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    What about usb2?I read that usb2 depends on the processor while firewire has its own bus and that you might lose data during the transmission if you processor is fairly loaded.Is this true.I keep thinking that after all this years they probably fixed these things.Rme babyface have chosen the usb route.Maybe things are more stable now.
     
  7. jipchen

    jipchen ForesterStudio

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    Yeah I guess the increased power of computers, better drivers and knowledge kind of brought USB back even for interfaces with a lot of channels (RME Fireface UFX !). I wouldn't worry about USB, as long as the driver is good. And the Apogee Ensemble (with Firewire) still sucks because of the shitty drivers and horrible latency.. Hope they did a better job with the Duet 1 and 2.
     
  8. Astrikos

    Astrikos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens Greece
    Actually jefftd can answer about the drivers and latency since he just got a duet 1.
     
  9. hct

    hct Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Actually I don't think that USB2 has ever been a problem for interfaces with two channels. Maybe with crappy chipsets, but that's true for Firewire as well. Firewire is much more problematic in this regard - a lack of hardware/testing/etc (let's face it, pro audio is a niche stuff).
     
  10. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I have zero issues with latency or drivers on my Duet. I have to go maybe 1 buffer setting lower than on my RME to get the same latency, but I notice zero latency when playing through an amp-sim at 128 samples on either device.
     
  11. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    I've read about engineers using softlimit during the mastering stage to get a few extra dB out of a song because you can push the converters harder. I think it was Lasse that posted about doing this?
     
  12. Ola Englund

    Ola Englund Only gay in the village

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,999
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    maybe time to update my Apogee One...
     
  13. Astrikos

    Astrikos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens Greece
  14. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ah yeah, definitely something that's done, although I'm not sure the Duet is something I'd want to trust with my mastering - guys doing that are usually running TC systems or Lavry-style stuff.
     
  15. JoergieN

    JoergieN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    Is it really worth $595?
     
  16. Empathy

    Empathy Bulging Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Goddamn Mac only products, I'd whip one of these up if there was support for Win 7. I have an i5 macbook pro, but it's a toy compared to my main DAW.
     
  17. SwambA

    SwambA Processed Chicken

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Clearwater, fl

    Jeff how do the converters/sound quality compare between your RME and the Duet? I'm thinking of getting the Babyface since I don't own a Mac.
     
  18. JoergieN

    JoergieN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    But seriously though, is it really worth $600?
     
  19. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Yes. 2 high quality pre's and high quality apogee converters.
     

Share This Page