This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

BBE Sonic Maximiser Is Da Bomb!

Discussion in 'Musicians Discussion' started by union9, Feb 19, 2003.

  1. union9

    union9 He Who Can Not Be Named

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    I just got myself a BBE Sonic Maximiser. This little thing has altered my sound so much, I'm so fucking glad I got it. Before this I was just running through a Metal Zone through a Pre-amp and Power Amp. But It was either Mud when you wanted bottom end or to Midy when you rolled the bottom end back. The BBE has created the perfect balance, giving a dream crunchy, clear, even sound. Any one else have one of these? Any thoughts?
     
  2. Thornmoon

    Thornmoon Fuckin' Bass Player

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Alabama, USA
    I want to get one for my bass rig..... Maybe this weekend.
     
  3. 7 Dying Trees

    7 Dying Trees Bastard Albino Elf

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,138
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    The woodland fern
    I dunno about them, a lot of people I've heard with them tend to over treble and bass them instead of applying moderation. Their sound cuts through, yes, but it sounds very harsh ... I think I still very much prefer to just run preamp+power amp and try and get the best possible sound out of that without pedals...
     
  4. union9

    union9 He Who Can Not Be Named

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    If you don't have the settings right, it can be over the top. An extra EQ would come in handy. Depends what your after I guess. We tend to use a hell of a lot of gain in our sound, and the maximiser has cleaned all the shit frequencys out of the sound. The only other thing I might need to get in the future is another gate. The BBE has one built into it, but when I eventually drop an EMG into my guitar I don't think it will be enough.
     
  5. xenophobe

    xenophobe Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,292
    Likes Received:
    699
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Well, the BBE should be at the end of your chain, and a LITTLE goes a LONG way...

    It can make your sound seem overprocessed, or muddy things up, but then you're probably using too much.... Moderation is the key with the BBE.
     
  6. symphomaniac

    symphomaniac Death will open your eyes

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the software version of the BBE for my pc and its pretty cool. But like the rackmount versions it has to be used in moderation. It can work wonders in thin sounding sources but can easily be overdone.
     
  7. Soultorn

    Soultorn The Pain and The Darkness

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2002
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Willits, CA
    Forgive my insolence here.
    Could you work a BBE into just an amp/cab setting, without power amps, etc?
     
  8. union9

    union9 He Who Can Not Be Named

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    1,794
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm not entirly sure, but I think it would. I can't see why it wouldn't.
     
  9. xenophobe

    xenophobe Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    12,292
    Likes Received:
    699
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    yeah, you should be able to if you have a fx send/return. I wouldn't use it before the preamp stage though.
     

Share This Page