This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Beat Detective Tutorial Video Part One is Here!!

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by greyskull, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    What happened? I thought BD was a godsend for you Adam?
     
  2. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    BD is WAY better than chop+quantize in Reaper, but the whole slip editing concept to me is brilliant, as soon as I read about it I felt like an idiot for not coming up with it myself.

    Beat Detective is still great, especially for simpler stuff. But honestly, in the amount of time it takes for me to zoom in, highlight from transient to transient for a section, zoom out so I can see the whole section comfortable, open Beat Detective, type in the bar|beat locations, mess with sensitivity slider to get the right hits, zoom back in and scroll through to make sure the trigger times are correct, separate, conform and fill, I could've done twice as many hits manually one hit at a time using the slip method.

    Honestly, with the one simple macro I set up, all I have to do is hit s, then click and drag the audio to where it's supposed to be, s, drag, s, drag, s, drag. It's UNREAL how fast it is and it sounds flawless.

    With Beat Detective, doing something like I was last week at 240bpm loaded with 16ths is a nightmare. Because a 16th note at 240bpm is such a tiny period of time compared to 8ths or anything at a lower tempo, the drummer has to be almost INHUMAN tight in order for Beat Detective to quantize every hit to the right grid line automatically. A 16th note at 240bpm is less than 63 milliseconds. So if the drummer is ever off by more than 30ms in either direction, it is going to get quantized to the wrong note. I was having trouble with a lot of blasts where the snare is on the "e" and "a" of the beat because beat detective would move half of them to the right place and the other half would be on the "1" and "and" because of that 30ms tolerance being exceeded. So I had to manually type in the trigger times for half of the hits. It's 100% accurate and sounds great, and you have tons of control, but it is SLOW AS HELL COMPARED to slip editing. It is still the fastest and most accurate system for actually chopping and quantizing things, but the slip method is not really "quantizing", you are moving every hit by hand and eyeballing them to the grid.


    I will make a video today if I have a chance. It is the easiest drum editing method ever, period. I am almost considering switching to Cubase from Pro Tools just because of it. I can do it in Reaper, but Reaper is still a piece of shit from an editing standpoint :/
     
  3. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    Cool man, I'd love to see a vid explaining what you mean.
    Where did you read about it and does it still sound as good as Beat Detective?
     
  4. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
  5. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    It sounds exactly the same if you are being meticulous with both methods. You have total control over everything and the end result is exactly the same as the end result with Beat Detective, all the hits are on the grid and there is a crossfade before each hit. It's wonderful really dude, I edit drums for fun now just because it's so relaxing in Reaper :lol:
     
  6. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    Really? Cuz I always found editing in Reaper to be a pain!
     
  7. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Watch the tutorial vid I posted and be amazed! :lol:
     
  8. C_F_H_13

    C_F_H_13 Protools Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    great videos guys (both adam and greyskull). Please don't take any offence when I say this though, I feel both of you are taking the long way around things a lot of the time. I might have to make my own BD video at some point, because I feel there is a few steps that can be greatly simplified.
     
  9. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    there was a lot of faffing, im not gonna lie.
    Funily enough making that video has made me examine my work flow in B.D
    Boy am i faster than ever now!
    id be quicker if Digideavid fixed the edit selection bug, and managed to make the fades a decent speed again.. They slowed down to g4 speeds after the PT8 update.
     
  10. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Hey man, very interested in how you would speed up the workflow in the slip editing video (unless you are referring to my BD video from the other thread that isn't linked here)... Regardless, another BD tutorial would be awesome, always interested in ways to speed up the editing!
     
  11. C_F_H_13

    C_F_H_13 Protools Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    I was refering to your BD video, but I'm pretty impressed with the Reaper slip thing. I have a similar macro in PT I use (part of it is in my quickeys tutorial in the equipment section). I'll have to watch your video a bit more (slip) and see if I can turn my macro into something similar in PT.

    Thanks for the inspiration.
     
  12. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    i wonder how joey's workflow has changed. o_0

    i really can't see how editing in reaper is any different or less powerful than in PT, apart from obviously a lack of beatdetective and the transient marker elastic audio engine. i find it super intuitive, being a user of both.
     
  13. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Dude are you crazy? You can't even copy and paste things properly in Reaper. The overlap behaviour is absolutely insane and makes no sense. In Pro Tools, if I paste something over top of something else, it replaces it. In Reaper, it will either crossfade them, play both at the same time, or only play the OLD region I was trying to paste over top of depending on how I set the preferences.

    It is IMPOSSIBLE to drag something from the left onto an item on the right and have it play the complete left item and cut the start off of the right item. You have to manually trim both regions, it's absurd. There is also NO track based edit grouping, so I can't edit all my drums at once without explicitly grouping the drum items together after every punch in... I need to make a video about why editing in Reaper is ridiculous.
     
  14. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    No video required Adam. Those who have done some proper editing in Reaper are well aware of these problems.
    I mean, how long does it take Justin & Co. to implement these features? Instead, they work on stupid little features that no one really needs...!
    Sigh!

    I think the best thing we can do is to put the following links in our sigs and make people vote on them!

    http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=122
    http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=1256
    http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=843
     
  15. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Done, haha...
     
  16. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    :lol: Same here! :D
     
  17. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    haha alright fair enough, i guess it takes being a native PT guy and then switching back to reaper to notice these things. I only recently started out in PT so i never developed a dependency. but i must say, a replica of the protools track hide/show and grouping window would be a godsend.
     
  18. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    that video was phenomenal. i'm shocked that this isn't a more mainstream method, since joey's been doing it cubendo forever
     
  19. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    it's probably also worth mentioning that joey uses the windows integrated keylock feature (sticky keys, i think) to clamp down alt automatically so you don't need deadweight a finger on there, or a chess piece, or anything else of that nature. haha
     
  20. Kevolicious

    Kevolicious Kevin Jordan

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    I'm having trouble with the grouping and seperating..

    I have the kick, snare top, and toms 1 & 2 grouped like you had, but BD isn't marking any of the transients except for the kick track in the selection, so I can't seperate the regions. I'm kind of fumbling on the terminology, but does anyone understand my issue?
     

Share This Page