This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Boss NS-2 vs. MXR Noise Clamp

Discussion in 'Backline' started by hogan666, Sep 29, 2011.

  1. hogan666

    hogan666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    Hey,

    I'm rearranging my rack setup, getting rid of my Boss GT-Pro and switching to a loop based setup. One thing I like in the GT-Pro is the Noise Reduction. I use it via 4CM (5150 in the Boss loop).

    Because of the 5150 dumb loop (master volume before send) I don't want to use Gates without a loop, because it doesn't work well.

    First of all, the ISP G-String is too expensive for me. To me it's not worth spending so much money for a gate.

    Does anyone have experiences with the new MXR Noise Clamp, which like the Boss can be triggered with the guitar but is placed in the loop?

    Thanks, Markus.
     
  2. gabriel g.

    gabriel g. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg
    get the standard ISP noise decimator and be done with it....
    its only 50€*more but its another dimention of quality.

    The ISP is so good, I will use for reamping too
     
  3. hogan666

    hogan666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    I already got the ISP, but the main problem is when adjusting the master volume on the 5150 especially live, you have to readjust the treshold. Sucks big time for me.
     
  4. gabriel g.

    gabriel g. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Ich mach beim line-check immer einen kurzen check, ob das signal auch so durchkommt wie ich das will (also wo es abgeschnitten wird).

    Hatte damit bisher noch nie probleme.

    beim 5150/6505 reicht aber auch 3 meisens vollkommen aus. Oft wollen die tonleute von mir, dass ich ihn bissel leiser fahre....

    Ansonsten bisschen mit dem gain zurück gehen
     
  5. JakeAC5253

    JakeAC5253 Frozen Sun Audio

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Strongly disagree :D
     
  6. Clockwork

    Clockwork Bass playing guy.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Has anyone actually tried the MXR Noise Clamp? Looks pretty good on paper. Curious to know if its decent.
     
  7. ::XeS::

    ::XeS:: Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,547
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Italy
    Uhm...naaa....I use it always at 11-12o'clock with any master volume (decent volume... 1 and above) and it works well.
     
  8. WarlockStudios

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    London, UK
    +1 only once, maybe twice adjusted live
     
  9. hogan666

    hogan666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    Maybe I'm just a bit too stupid using hightech with one knob :yell::tickled:

    --

    @Clockwork:
    To me the MXR looks nice too. They made the smart gate, which has a good reputation, so the Noise Clamp couldn't be the worsest piece of gear.

    --

    Did I mentioned, that I hate writing in english? Reading my own sentences make me feel ashamed. *haha* Trust me, in my native language I'm a bit better in usng grammar. :D
     
  10. hogan666

    hogan666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    Bought the MXR. Piece of shit in the 5150 Loop. :-/
     
  11. Blackie13

    Blackie13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    don't worry...
    Everything sounds like shit in 5150's loop...
    The day I kicked out all my pedals from my 5150II I enjoyed the amp for the first time...
     
  12. JakeAC5253

    JakeAC5253 Frozen Sun Audio

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Lol. Even the 5150 sounds like poo through the 5150's loop. I read recently that the 5150 stock power section can amplify cleanly up to 8 or 9 on the master volume, but when you bring the master up to about 4, its the fx loop overloading that causes the compression. Thats one shitty loop haha.
     
  13. D.Vial

    D.Vial Monster Lick

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I never get used to the NS-2, remains disconected on my pedalboard.. if you ask me I think is a total p.o.s.
     
  14. Blackie13

    Blackie13 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Get your amp biased,buy some good tubes and a nice cable...
    Thats it...
    When i was younger I loved effects and used them a lot...
    But as I grow up I find that the tone is not on effects...I even hate delay nowadays for the solos...
    It's very hard to make a dry signal sound nice but to me it's the best way to improve your playing and phrasing...
    You don't need delays sustain if you have a nice vibrato...
    IMOV
     
  15. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,543
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    I keep hearing so much hate on the NS-2 and I really don't understand why. So many people claim it sucks tone, etc....but either my ears are REALLY bad (which I dont think they are) or the "tone loss" is so little that I don't hear it. I always run the NS-2 in front of the amp though.
     
  16. hogan666

    hogan666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    Mhh, I never had problems with the loop. Maybe it's that my 5150 is a bit better than yours. :lol:

    --

    If the gate on the GT-Pro is the same as the NS-2, it'll work fine for me.
    I don't need superfast Rammstein-Style gated sounds. I'm more into modern rock nowadays and nothing sucks more than a superhard gate for me.
     
  17. TheWinterSnow

    TheWinterSnow Den Mørke Natt

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    For what you wanted the only thing that would do the job is the G-String because the threshold is set to the guitar before the amp, so you set the threshold for the guitar and will be fixed regardless of a change in MV or gain (clean channel dirty channel).

    Since you don't want to pay for one, stop bitching. I never understand why people even put gates in the FX loops to begin with, the hiss is part of the amp and still isn't that loud on a 5150 to be noticed in a mix or live. Its more of a feedback issue live that is more important, and that means the gate goes before the amp.

    You might want to look at the schematic again, the FX loop valve is always on, by that I mean the signal always goes through the FX loop regardless if the FX is engaged or not. The rumor that goes around saying a 5150 can got to 8 or 9 before clipping the power section is purely myth, they run out of headroom and start compressing at 4, has nothing to do with the FX loop.
     

Share This Page