This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Can someone explain -18 db mixing?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by XxSicRokerxX, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Do you recommend doing the -18 group trim with plugins on or off the individual channels? Reason im trying to keep things at that level is that a great write up on this -18dbFS = 0dbVU matter mentioned to try keep your master input at -18dbFS as well as the output.
     
  2. XxSicRokerxX

    XxSicRokerxX Gabriel R.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    ^ that is exactly what I'm doing now
     
  3. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    The group thing? :D Ah that article was a great read. learnt so much more. I'm still not 100% but the light is breaking through my blinkers ;p HAHAHA

    EDIT: Here is the article for those of you who wanna learn more!
    http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/nov10/articles/cubase-1110.htm
     
  4. Uros

    Uros Sonic Incision

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    between sine waves
    I trim audio on tracks, apply plugins, make right balance between tracks, send them to a group. trim group to 0 VU, apply plugins and so on.
     
  5. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Sweet :D i thought as much. Do my snare readings seem right to you?
     
  6. Uros

    Uros Sonic Incision

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    between sine waves
    It's cool, don't overthink it ;)
     
  7. OneDaySky

    OneDaySky Clint

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Awesome :D thx for all your help man. YOUR a Legend! And same to Nimvi :kickass:
     
  8. Nimvi

    Nimvi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Great to hear things are coming together for you guys now! Now go forth and make some awesome mixes :)
     
  9. Uros

    Uros Sonic Incision

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    between sine waves
    Just to add, if anyone is more interested for this matter, go check out this humongous thread. Read posts mostly from Skip Burrows, Paul Frindle and u b k (Greg from UBK).
     
  10. ttrentt

    ttrentt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    for you guys on reaper, I just wanna say I use JS: Utility/Volume for this and it works great.
     
  11. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Quick Question.
    What are most people doing when sample replacing.

    Example
    I've tracked the kit snare peaking at - db ish (-18rms) yada yada. Then i insert drumagog on the snare and say drop a Slate sample in. That puppy is not sitting at -12 to - 6db its bangin'. I know i could lower its level many ways I just was curious to standard procedure. Also with pro tools 10 now having CLIP Gain is this playing a part in anyones gain staging.

    Thanks Everyone.
     
  12. Lipown

    Lipown Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Damn iam dissapointed, i was thinking about settings all faders about -18db and start mixing (about a year) and now all is explained. But i still not understand it fully :D i need that to try in practice :D so if i record di signal at 0dB max it is good or not?
     
  13. Uros

    Uros Sonic Incision

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    between sine waves
    For the 100th time...

    Don't record around digital zero, because there is no safe zone if you aim for peaks at ~0 dBFS. If you do that, you will most certainly get clipped signals.
    The whole point with this virtual headroom is to try and 'recreate' the headroom that analog desks have (most of them have around 20dBUs above 'analog' zero, which is 0dBVU, so that's why you hear this 'record with average levels around -20dBFS' sentence a lot).

    The analog zero (0 dBVU) and the Digital zero (0 dBFS) are not the same, and that is where a lot of people are confused. If you go above zero in the analog world, you will not clip your signal (because as I said, most of them have around 20dB reserve above the analog zero), while if you go above zero in the digital world you will get your signal up to the point where it will clip, which in the digital realm is very bad. There is nothing above the digital zero, only pure clipping. Avoid that at all costs.

    Don't record to ~0dBFS, there's simply no good reason to do so.
     
  14. Lipown

    Lipown Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    So best to record is around -6 and -12?
     
  15. colonel kurtz

    colonel kurtz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  16. RedDog

    RedDog Humanoid typhoon

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma.
    Dude, clean up your chain.

    Preferences> Appearance> Media> "adjust media item volume by dragging: ITEM VOLUME KNOB"

    Now you have a handy trim built-in to your tracks in the media bay, without the clutter of extra plugs in your chain.

    For everyone else: Get a VU meter. Get an RMS meter. USE THEM BOTH.
     
  17. Lipown

    Lipown Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    For presonus studio one you can switch meter on master to Kxx. I think it solves the problem ;) cause after properly setting volumes on i think k20 to about zero i get from -6 to -12 on rms :)
     
  18. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Quick Question.
    What are most people doing when sample replacing.

    Example
    I've tracked the kit snare peaking at - db ish (-18rms) yada yada. Then i insert drumagog on the snare and say drop a Slate sample in. That puppy is not sitting at -12 to - 6db its bangin'. I know i could lower its level many ways I just was curious to standard procedure. Also with pro tools 10 now having CLIP Gain is this playing a part in anyones gain staging.

    Thanks Everyone.
     
  19. ttrentt

    ttrentt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    dude! awesome thanks!
     
  20. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone using Protools 10 Clip Gain or better to just use a trim plugin?
     

Share This Page