This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Connect amp to a cabinet in another room?

Discussion in 'Backline' started by DocSauerkraut, Jan 12, 2015.

  1. DocSauerkraut

    DocSauerkraut Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Hi!

    How can i connect my amp to a cabinet that is placed in another room? There will be approx. 15-20 m distance between amp and cabinet.

    I suppose i should do this via a XLR cable? But do i need DI boxes for this or will adapters 1/4" -> XLR work?
     
  2. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Long speaker cable? That's how I've done it in the past.
     
  3. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    I've had no issues with even 100ft speaker cable. The main thing you want to avoid is long instrument cable runs.
     
  4. DavePiatek

    DavePiatek Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Either a long speaker cable run or one of these:

    http://www.radialeng.com/sgi.php

    The SGI will require the head to be in the live room. I've got one and it's killer!
     
  5. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Long jack-jack speaker cable, no DI boxes or XLR's involved.
     
  6. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    Just make sure you use a speaker cable of sufficient gauge. 12ga (≈ 2mm) is sufficient for virtually any amp to speaker application. I wouldn't go thinner than 14ga.
     
  7. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Yeah, my 100ft speaker cable is insanely heavy gauge, not recalling off the top of my head...
     
  8. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I have literally cut the ends off of orange power extension cables and soldered 1/4" phono plugs on the end. They're dirt cheap and rated for far more power than an amp will ever push through.
     
  9. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    Most cheap orange cables are 14ga which is probably more than sufficient. However, my attitude is that as much as you can completely eliminate potential issues from the distance you should when dealing with tube amps since cable impedance increases with distance and that can affect tone and increase the load on the head.
    Here is a fun nerd tool:
    http://www.electrovoice.com/cableloss.php
     
  10. DocSauerkraut

    DocSauerkraut Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Great!
    Thanks for all the comments.
     
  11. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    This is genius. I need to try it just for shits and giggles.
     

Share This Page