This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Crossfading when reamping?

Discussion in 'Andy Sneap' started by Genius Gone Insane, Jan 12, 2007.

  1. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Crossfade the clean signal before reamping OR reamp the individual takes, then crossfade the reamped sound later on?
     
  2. Pman

    Pman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    for safe purposes, i suggest reamp individual takes, then cross fade
     
  3. Brett - K A L I S I A

    Brett - K A L I S I A Dreaded Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    France
    Crossfades ? What for ?
     
  4. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Obviously the guitarists arent usually going to get a whole track in one take, so you have to crossfade to avoid the pop of a new soundfile when blending two parts together, one after the other. You have to crossfade.

    My question is are you crossfading the multiple takes as DIs or are you crossfading the final recorded tones. Understand?

    PS frenchy beware, i'm coming to your country in two weeks so dont upset me :)
     
  5. Tym_ex

    Tym_ex Tymon

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I do it post amping. I think it would be better to do pre but the results are sometimes hard to predict (unnatural sounding fades) unless you've got an amp lined up and all so you can listen to the results in realtime.
     
  6. Brett - K A L I S I A

    Brett - K A L I S I A Dreaded Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    France
    Ha ok, crossfades are automatic in Cubase (if you want them to be of course), I usually set a 5ms or so on the DI (on all tracks actually) and don't think about it, play back the tracks to the amp, get out drink/eat/talk/read, whatever (see post about that), and come back later. So my answer would be "Pre" ;)

    Where to France are you going and what for ?
     
  7. Ben Johnson

    Ben Johnson SSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Seems like a lot more work doing the editing after reamping, finding the good parts of each take, etc... I'd do it all before like Brett said.
     
  8. MX582

    MX582 Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Katy, Texas
    yea i usually do it before..just be carefull u dont make them too big
     
  9. LSD-Studio

    LSD-Studio HCAF crusher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    just had to reamp something...some problems occoured-....

    just couldn't get the right level...
    coming thru rme from nuendo/cubase there's a 0db maximum.... i set the output in cubase to -0.2 max...
    but then the radial x-amp doesn't give me enuff amplification to drive the amp like a regular axe would do.....
    no way to get the clip led to light up as said in the manual,,,,
    does ne1 have crossrd the same problem?
    just seeem that the radial doesn'thave enough power to drive the signal to emg-level...
    sory for my spelling....wasted like fuck...!
    i'm gonna try puittin tha<t letters in the correct order tommorow when i'm sobver....
     
  10. SickBoy

    SickBoy Croatian Panzer division

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Split, Croatia, Europe
    Not sure about setting RME up, but maybe it supports different line output standards, +4dBU (louder) and -10dBV (quieter), like my EWS88MT does...
    If so, maybe your card is set up to use -10dBV instead of +4dBU.
    Can't think of a better explanation, except maybe your x-amp has a defect ;)
     
  11. Genius Gone Insane

    Genius Gone Insane http://www.¯\(°_o)/¯.com

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,708
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    Not sure if I understand...Do you mean the length of your crossfades are 5ms? And you haven't run into any issues doing it this way? I've run into problems doing this with sloppy guitar playing.

    I'm going to Paris for a few days as a guest on a relative's business trip, so all I have to pay for is my airfare, which is real cheap this time of year. Also, a friend from Germany is meeting me there.
     
  12. Brett - K A L I S I A

    Brett - K A L I S I A Dreaded Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    France
    There shouldn't be such things as "floppy playing" when you're recording someone, get your whip out ! :)
    Enjoy your trip to Paris, it's an amazing city (wells, parts of it are). :kickass:
     

Share This Page