This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Cubase 7 is released!

Discussion in 'Backline' started by jangoux, Nov 13, 2012.

  1. PD-Baraka

    PD-Baraka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Too bad for no Celemony ARA and PT style RAM load.

    thats 2 things i can see being handy.
    The other things dont change that much IMO. Maybe the ASIO guard, lets see that one.
    I`ve used Cubase since SX2 i believe it was called, but this puts me in doubt, there are so many great DAWs out there today.
     
  2. Clockwork

    Clockwork Bass playing guy.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington DC
    To me it looks like they mashed Reaper and the SSL Mixer in Reason together. Time will tell I guess.
     
  3. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
    They are no longer supporting snow leopard. Damn it.

    All well, I guess it's time to upgrade the OS.
     
  4. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    bought 6.5 the other day which means free upgrade to 7! woo can't wait
     
  5. smy1

    smy1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Regardless of function: anyone who updates to that in the first 6 months is a moron. Grace period or not.

    And I'm a lifelong Cubase user ...
     
  6. HeadCrusher

    HeadCrusher Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,822
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Maybe if you are in the middle of some important projects or if you have something coming up. But for songwriters/hobbyists I don't see why they shouldn't update.
     
  7. wutzington

    wutzington massive member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cologne
    You're a moron. BAM. :fu:



    Just kidding of course. Why not update? Are they usually unstable?
    Didn't have any problems with Cubase 5 when I updated from 4 and I did it pretty much right when it came out.
     
  8. jangoux

    jangoux Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    C6 was shit until they returned the transparent events thing. Well, kind of...and it happened on 6.03 IIRC, a good 3 months, maybe more, after the release. Other than that, never had any problems.
     
  9. smy1

    smy1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Cause every software that gets released is full of bugs at first. Some of them will get fixed, some won't.

    If you need your system to do work, the last thing you want is downtime because the DAW suddenly doesn't like your weirdass chipset or 20% of your plugins don't work in the new version etc.. I personally know 3 people who upgraded from Cubase 5 to 6 (all legit copies!) and it became a big fuckup. 2 of them were on Windows, 1 on Mac. Made me not buy C6.

    I love Cubase and have been using it since 1996 but updating right after a release is really not a good idea if you want to be productive.
     
  10. colonel kurtz

    colonel kurtz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    yea...i had a teacher when i was going to recording school who summed it up perfect: cutting-edge = bleeding edge. dude was as legit a pro you'll find anywhere, and refused to upgrade the school's PT version until 6-12 mos. after release, simply because they couldn't afford any downtime due to software issues and bugs and the like
     
  11. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    Dwonloading
     
  12. C_F_H_13

    C_F_H_13 Protools Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
    I hate it. I find that they have changed too much in the mixer. And does anyone else find the graphics within the mixer blurry/not well defined? The knobs all look like a terrible user made reaper skin or something.

    Also Why the fuck would they move the phase reverse into the pre/filter section? like go eat a bag of dicks.

    I'll do a little more of a full review, but right now the mixer is a huge fail.
     
  13. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    The GUI is a bit wonky.

    :lol:
     
  14. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    $200 upgrade from C6? Ehhh... I'll pass for now.
     
  15. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    Had some time to fuck with it more.

    It's not so bad. I can dig it. Hopefully they improve the GUI
     
  16. ArthurD

    ArthurD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brasília - Brazil
    I'l wait next's year black friday or so...
     
  17. tenderboy

    tenderboy New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    works good so far.
    new mixer is super! much faster to navigate than before, also like how customizable it is...

    no Problem with old Projects so far...but cubase 6.5 is still installed, so no need to worry...
     
  18. PD-Baraka

    PD-Baraka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    i abandoned Cubase for this.

    they changed what i liked and loved about cubase since sx2.

    Moved on to Studio One, Cubase evolved. :D
     
  19. I started with Cubase 4 and bought my way through 5 and 6. As soon as I found Studio One...I switched and havent looked back.
     
  20. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    As a Cubase user I already have enough compatibility issues with other studios. Studio One? Get the fuck out of here.
     

Share This Page