This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Do you usually use volume automation?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by LBTM, Nov 9, 2012.

?

Do you usually use volume automation?

  1. Yes, I do.

    62 vote(s)
    92.5%
  2. No, I don't.

    5 vote(s)
    7.5%
  1. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you usually play with the automation in volume to get the perfect levels in each part of the song?
     
  2. XxSicRokerxX

    XxSicRokerxX Gabriel R.

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,032
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    Yea, of course, especially on vocals.
     
  3. heshian46

    heshian46 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Northwest Burbs of Chicago, IL
    Yes, its essential.
    You'll never hear a pro mix with consistent levels throughout the whole song. Parts rise and fall, its helps create the feel of dynamics, especially in metal.
     
  4. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    Weird question imo. I don't even imagine a single mix without vol level automation!?!
     
  5. botus99

    botus99 Microphone Assassin

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago suburbs
    Always. That's where a good portion of your mix's mojo/magic comes from
     
  6. Pedro Teixeira

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK
    Always, on everything, all the time
     
  7. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    wow, i didn't really know most of you guys use automation. could you post screenshots showing the automations you use in a song?
     
  8. Charles J

    Charles J New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    i use it when i have to.

    and that's all I'll say on the subject =D
     
  9. Nimvi

    Nimvi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Jup, probably my most used automation next to panning. It makes the mix come to life. If you want to know how to use it, just imagine a musical. In a musical, the main singing character of the strophe often sets a step forward to the audience, so they become the center of attention. But you don't have a single character dominate the entire musical. Same goes for mixing. Every instrument should get their 15 seconds of fame every now and then :)
     
  10. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Yes. Mainly on vocals.
     
  11. Clockwork

    Clockwork Bass playing guy.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Lol kind of surprised two people don't automate things.

    Here is a list of things I automate: Everything.
     
  12. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    Automation hasn't been one of my stronger points so far. I usually just put different sections of vocals on their own tracks and process them a bit differently for louder/quieter parts.
     
  13. LBTM

    LBTM Proud Behringer User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    haha, that's what i do sometimes with vocals and also guitars if they're not DIs. i find that much easier.
     
  14. infectdsniper

    infectdsniper Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Athens, AL
    yea im with charles. i set all my volumes and automate anything that sticks out that shouldnt and make anything that should stick out louder but if it doesnt need it i dont try to do it :p
     
  15. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Protools 10 Clip Gain Is A Godsend. Obviously clip gain is pre inserts though so "riding the fader" or volume automation is still crucial.
     
  16. ArthurD

    ArthurD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Brasília - Brazil
    I automate Volume, Pan, Velocities, Plugins, EQ, Reverb
     
  17. viralz

    viralz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    Can someone suggest me a good tutorial on automation? I have no clue where to start or how it even works lol
     
  18. Linerndunch110

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I dont know any off the top of my head, but to add, I automate as much as possible. ESPECIALLY in metal where alot of the dynamics and feel dont always come through how you want, between triggers, DI's, reamps, synths, and all the digital stuff we use to make the mix as tight as possible.

    First things I do are automate volume for vocals and guitars(bring them up when theres a big scream/pinch harmonic/heavy riffing and down when another instrument needs to take the front.)

    Then I automate pans and everything that encompasses the image on the band.

    Then I automate effects, reverb, delays, tid bits on tracks(chorus flange and the like when applicable).

    Then Ill go back and redo volumes for everything once the effects are on(sometimes an effect with make a track sit to low of to forward in the mix), and THEN Ill do my master fader or group busses, to bring out emotions in big chorus, breaks, etc.

    with the master fader and busses, I generally boost and cut levels by .5db give or take .2ish, and go from there. when you messing with bussed track, less it more.

    YOU DONT WANT THE LISTENER TO HEAR THE VOLUME CHANGE/AUTOMATION!!!

    it is aimed to bring in more natural dynamics.

    That said, You can get into some real crazy post prod automation.
     
  19. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    No never. I put a clipper on every track and crank the volume. That's the only way to get my metal street cred.
     
  20. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    +1.
     

Share This Page