This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Drum Samples, Replacement, Triggers FAQ

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by 006, Jun 15, 2008.

  1. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    I don't know if you ever had this answered since I know it's a several months old question, but in Reaper it's really easy to separate a midi file into many tracks. In the midi editor, select all the notes for the drum you want (IIRC clicking in the piano roll on the note you want, if not there's an action in the action list for this), cut it and paste in an empy midi item in a new track.

    In GP it's terribly painful to separate it, so it's obviously better to separate it later in reaper
     
  2. <Arcane>

    <Arcane> Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,218
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Germany
    I do have the same problem. I'm using ApTrigga2 and Superior Drummer, made a drum backing tracking and want to use my own snare samples but whenever fast 16th snare triplets - or snare hits with 160 bpm - come in or even when some hard hits come in it leave out most of the notes. When I have let's say 15 fast snare hits, only 4 or 5 were picked up and when I have some hard hits, mostly none of them
     
  3. Vinny

    Vinny Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Braunfels, Texas
    So can someone explain how to actually set the triggers up?
    I'm getting a new setup up soon coz I'm tired of programming drums by hand
    I'll be getting the ProFire 2626 and the DDrum triggers (the $199 ones)
    Somebody said that I can just plug the triggers straight into the pres on my interface and just go with that?
    I would like an in-depth explanation of how to do this.
    Or a link to somewhere where it has been explained.

    Thanks guys!
     
  4. guitarguru777

    guitarguru777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Plug the triggers into your interface and record the hits, then set up trigger or drumagog with samples on those tracks.

    Done
     
  5. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Plug triggers into interface
    Record
    Replace trigger clicks with drum samples
     
  6. Loren Littlejohn

    Loren Littlejohn Lover of all boobage.

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Messages:
    11,754
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Auburn NY- we grow em you listen
  7. Tevebob

    Tevebob New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey guys!

    I searched a lot of topic, but I don't know where to ask... So can anyone tell me some free or low priced vsts/drum modules that can read sign from midi, and randomly changing my loaded samples? I work in Cubase 5, I set an instrument track, and I grab my samples into Groove Agent One, but I don't really satisfied with it, cause it smells like really robotic, because every hit is the same sample.

    I don't have enough money for buying Kontakt/Drumagog and don't have money for a good vsti like Steven Slate/Superior Drummer which can be the best solution. I'm thinking about buying samples from Joey Sturgis and of course using some from my collection, but I need the cheapest solution for loading the wav-s into a good vst that can change the samples randomly, like Drumagogs multisample function does.

    Is there any free or low priced one on the planet? :) I am only working with midi recorded with an electric drum kit, no real drums!

    Thanks!
     
  8. jCo76

    jCo76 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Very useful. Thanks :)
     
  9. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    I also want to know this. In Reaper, you can use Drumreaplacer but I don´t think it works with midi, so you would have to export them as audio somehow (like using single samples with reasamplomatic if you´re in reaper), then replace them with Drumreaplacer and voila, multisamples from Midi for pretty much free (reasamplomatic comes with Reaper, drumreaplacer is free)
     
  10. AceFireForce117

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    France
    Hey i would like to know this aswell.
    I can't afford Slate digital trigger or Drumagog (even though it appears to be highly criticized here).

    http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/may07/articles/cubasetech_0507.htm

    Here is a list of some free drum triggers like KT drum Trigger which appears to be a good freeware, as anyone used it ? Compared with Drumagog or even Slate ?

    I fell in love with Steven Slate's Cracky Metal Kit with room mics on (seen on ytb) but then back to reality... can't afford it :bah:
    I was wondering if anyone knew free samples that got close to that sound.
    I also got Erkan's drum samples (if you're reading this thank you so much for sharing man ! :kickass: ) i will try them out :D

    Btw quick noobish question : i'm mixing my band's first demo, we're using midi tracks with EZdrummer Metalheads for the drums, i have no idea if i should get rid of the kick trig and snare trig tracks already set in the vst, since i'm going to use samples ?
     
  11. schwinginbatman

    schwinginbatman It's shittay!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kansas
    I never got KTDrumTrigger to work. I can't figure it out. Being honest, it seems to be the best freeware one, but it has a GUI that is completely impenetrable and scary looking. I've tried many other freeware ones, they all suck the big toe of a Viking woman.
     
  12. Gerard Porqueres

    Gerard Porqueres New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1


    Great Threat!
    I've just made this video about Drum aligment using Trigger in Pro Tools 9
     
    #92 Gerard Porqueres, Jan 18, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2015
  13. Thadool

    Thadool New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Duisburg, GER
    Here's a very helpful trick:

    When you have problems with replacing your drums with your Plugin of Choice, simply generate your own trigger signal. Just use a Signal Generator (1-2 kHz) on a new Track, gate it with the Signal you want to replace via sidechain and record it. By that, you get a very clean trigger signal. Works everytime!

    Hope this helps...
     
  14. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    This idea is stupid great, I don't know why I hadn't tried it before, thanks!
     
  15. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Surely A: this signal you're using for replacement won't have any dynamics whatsoever and B: if you're having trouble triggering a signal cleanly then you'll also have trouble getting it to open your gate accurately?
     
  16. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    ^ yeah, quite logical
     
  17. Gerard Porqueres

    Gerard Porqueres New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Wow thanks that was a good one! I just try it. if you want to add dynamics and control them even better add after the gate an expander, using as a key the same bus. when the snare hits harder the expander makes that signal hotter just if you want ;) play with the ratio!
     
  18. ==>Alb<==

    ==>Alb<== Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What about how to avoid the summing of the samples?
    I'll try to exlain:
    when I load my favourite sample of a kick (with a tiny room tail) with drumagog, at single strokes it's all ok but when a double bass section of the song starts , it's like the kick and his tail comes out of the mix.
    I can control the kick volume using a compressor with a mid-slow release,
    but the sum of the kick and specially the sum of the tails create a note that
    first: is unmusical
    second: makes the general drum sound more fake
    and third: makes the drum mixing more troubling than already is

    So imagine a guy playing a guitar and the alternate picking
    every note stops the note before, and only the last note picked lasts until another note will be played

    How to get the same "effect" replacing drums with samples?
     
  19. bryan_kilco

    bryan_kilco Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Poconos, PA
    You probably want multisamples. If you're using the same exact kick sample on every hit (meaning, no difference in velocity) you'll have a "machine gun" effect. I program drums in FLStudio and I rarely go through and program velocities per every single hit just because most of my recordings are demos of new ideas for my band. I get build up of kick and snare frequencies that annoy the heck out of me.

    Example: fast blast beat with trem picked guitars - drums overpower guitars and you can barely hear what the guitars are doing.

    slow drum beat, and the guitars sound too loud.

    I suppose automation is the answer to the worlds problems.
     
  20. FIXXXER

    FIXXXER ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Germany
    TIP:
    just a thing i treid the last time i had to retrigger some shitty drumtracks...

    if you have problems triggering fast drums where the transients come very lose to each other try to pitch up the track (needs to have tempo comversion enabled) up.
    it can help to isolate the transients and almost clear everything else up, much easier to trigger this way...
     

Share This Page