This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Emulating PCM42 trick ITB

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Ermz, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Anyone found a good way of doing it?

    I've tried hitting one side of my rhythm guitar tracks with the Echoboy Limiter, but it's not quite the same thing. Is there any dynamics/distortion plug-in that can attain results similar to the PCM42 when overdriven?

    I hear PSP's emulation doesn't have the input/output limiter modeled unfortunately.
     
  2. John_C

    John_C formerly Skeksis268

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coventry, UK
    I did get some good results once with variety of sound ferric tds going into some delay (can't remember which)

    Can't compare to the pcm24, never having used one, but it did produce a pretty cool effect. Didn't use it in the end in the mix as the guitars were sloppy enough already without any extra smearing.
     
  3. amarshism

    amarshism Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Brisbane CBD
    I've taken my rhy gtr bus and sent it to another one and reversed the panning, chucked on a stereo delay with a 15-30ms delay at 100% with different times on either side and just gritted it up slightly with a sansamp plugin. Worked alright for widening them but I don't rly understand what's necessary about overdriving the input of the PCM? Is it just to change the tone slightly to aid in perceived width? Wouldn't any grit really suffice if this is the case?
     
  4. Pedro Teixeira

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK
    I'm not entirely sure but I believe it has to do with having another layer with a slight different sound which helps to perceive spatial differences, if you had with the exact same sound it probably wouldnt sound as "wide" due to your ears perceiving the exact same tone/distortion/grit/whatever. Correct me if I'm wrong though as I'm not speaking by experience but by what seems logical to me.
     
  5. crillemannen

    crillemannen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,321
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ermz, why dont you just buy one of ebay?? They aren't that expensive really. I think i had quite good results using Echoboy on those settings you suggested. It definitely add some mids and widened the guitars.

    But i've put Echoboy and put it on a AUX and then blended it with the Rythm guitars, so its kind of parallel compression to guitars.
     
  6. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I've considered it, Christian, but it seems like a hefty price to pay for what's ultimately just a little niche 'trick' which would only work on rock stuff anyway. I'm fairly certain there has to be a good way to get comparable results ITB. Any saturator with good dynamics handling/chopping should be able to thicken the sound of one side adequately. My next stop may be Decapitator for this. Soundtoys know what's going on with saturation.
     
  7. Melodeath

    Melodeath Moonbow

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Would anyone mind explaining this PCM42 trick? It seems to be arbitrarily secretive according to my google search...

    Something like jacking up the input, delay of 0, and turn output down? Then you add this to the original guitar track, or you put it on the opposite side?
     
  8. Sickan

    Sickan ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ermz, about the Decapitator - what are you usually using it on?
     
  9. wutzington

    wutzington massive member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cologne
    I do this kind of stuff with TesslaSE and the Saturator built into BootEQ

    EDIT: Ermz, could you please post the link to the samples you recorded with a real pcm some time ago, so i can compare?
     
  10. Sickan

    Sickan ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    TesslaSE fucks with the stereo width... At least the old one I used.
     
  11. wutzington

    wutzington massive member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cologne
    Stereo width on a mono track?
     
  12. Mikaël-ange

    Mikaël-ange Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Erm didn't post any sample about pcm42 trick. It was C_F_H_13;)
     
  13. wutzington

    wutzington massive member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cologne
    Thanks, grinder! I only remembered it was Ermz' thread...
     
  14. mjlaudio

    mjlaudio Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    lots of the older digital delays have limiter chips in them the yamaha rev5 the roland sde 1000-3000 spx90 you can overload any of them and get the same kinda vibe. and you can get them super cheap....you could probably find just the chip and if you were really electronically gifted make a straight pcm trick limiter.......errrr actually i think i might do that...

    I just used the real pcm42 on gtrs on a mix and it was cool because it was the trick but it really didn't do anything to the sound that was THAT important.....definitely not 1000 dollars important...........maybe 300 dollars important, and not really that different from when I've overdriven other units.

    on a side note if you have a smart c2 put it on crush and use that on guitars...i thought it sounded awesome on the guitars. it wasn't compressing much though. i am pretty sure there is some kind of eq in the chain or to the side chain that adds mids(note) to the gtr.
     
  15. Melodeath

    Melodeath Moonbow

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I just downloaded the PSP42 demo to give it a try and see if it did model the input section of the PCM42 or not. I'm not sure if it's limiting the signal, but it is DEFINITELY saturating it when you crank the input. And I don't think it's internal clipping of the plug-in, because if you print the track, you don't have any clipped/flat-tops
     
  16. C_F_H_13

    C_F_H_13 Protools Guru

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver, B.C. Canada
  17. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Do you guys think an L1 would do the job? It seems chasing limiters rather than saturators would have more of the desired effect.

    Thanks for posting those clips again CFH. I lost them since that last time they were posted.
     
  18. Melodeath

    Melodeath Moonbow

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Did you actually try the PSP demo? It is most certainly doing something with the input knob in the red
     
  19. fitzrangerhoodngarb

    fitzrangerhoodngarb Dis Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've never opened up a pcm42 but it's probably something as crude as back to back diodes in the input section. Something like a prism overkiller might do the trick if that was the case.
     
  20. Joshua Wickman

    Joshua Wickman Yes Sir!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    What are you trying to do?

    Sorry im totally lost on this trick.
     

Share This Page