This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Fuck Compaq

Discussion in 'GMD Social Forum' started by Matt, Feb 10, 2008.

  1. waif

    waif Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    18,908
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montreal
    Building your own computer is the best. Cheaper, more efficient (because you get exactly what you want without paying for extra), not as hard as it seems, and more hardcore.
     
  2. black blood

    black blood A Corpse Without Soul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buried alive
    Mostly play online games :p . When im not being lazy I make flash banners and ads.
     
  3. waif

    waif Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    18,908
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montreal
    nice...wait. Why the fuck do you need 10ghz to play World of fucking warcraft?
    There are a couple of places that are doing medical research that involves protein folding and stuff. Requires a lot more processing power than they have, so you can volunteer and they'll use some of your spare CPU cycles to fold proteins. I suggest you look into it...
    Edit: Trying to remember what it's called...
     
  4. Ender Rises

    Ender Rises Wass sappening?

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,090
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Athens, Greece. I wish. Athens, Texas, in cruel re
    And infinite bragging rights.
     
  5. waif

    waif Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    18,908
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montreal
    exactly.
     
  6. supseudonymous

    supseudonymous &

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,682
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    NJ, USA
  7. black blood

    black blood A Corpse Without Soul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buried alive
    Interesting. ^ thanks I'll look into that


    ..oh and I dont play RPGs like WoW, mostly FPS and RTS games.
     
  8. waif

    waif Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    18,908
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montreal
    good.
    Respect +1

    Kil found the thing I was talking about.
    What graphics card are you gonna put in there?
     
  9. black blood

    black blood A Corpse Without Soul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buried alive
    2 nvidia 8800gt @ 256Mb
     
  10. FenriR

    FenriR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    England
    erm... 4 cores running at 2.5ghz does not mean a total of 10ghz. It just means processes have 4 cores running on them at one time. Hate to disappoint you.

    Anyways... my current rig...
    q6600 running@ 3.6ghz (overclocked)
    4gb ddr2 ram pc6400
    8800gts 512mb (plans to get another)
    asus p5k
    thermaltake armor
    corsair 650w psu
    2x500gb seagate barracuda
    1x36gb raptor (for OS)
    22'' screen

    cost me £1200, built it myself, and i'm lovin it.
     
  11. black blood

    black blood A Corpse Without Soul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buried alive
    Ok not 10 GHz in general sense, but the processor runs 4 times faster, than a single core would.
     
  12. waif

    waif Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    18,908
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montreal
    nice...
    too much power for a 22" screen, though...go for a 32 inch.
    Also...is 650 watts enough?
     
  13. FenriR

    FenriR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    England
    not really.

    In practical terms a quad core is only around 2.5x faster than a single core. Dual core is about 1.5x faster, oddly.

    yes, 650w is MORE than enough when its a corsair psu. Those things are quality. I know someone who is running dual 8800gtxs and a 4.2ghz quad core on a 650w corsair.

    its the crappy psu brands you need to watch out for. go for either enermax or corsair.
     
  14. black blood

    black blood A Corpse Without Soul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buried alive
    You're probably right. In any case with SATA hard drives and 8GB of memory it will be blazing fast comapred to my current Pentium 4.
     
  15. FenriR

    FenriR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    England
    hard drive speed is possibly the smallest factor in the overall pc speed. I only have a raptor because its worth it for the operating system.

    As for 8gb of ram... I presume you know you need vista ultimate for that lot to be addressed? any other version will only read up to 3.7gb.
     
  16. black blood

    black blood A Corpse Without Soul

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buried alive
    Not the speed of the drive it self. But the transfer of data is 3 times faster with SATA opposed to PATA drives.
     
  17. ~Derek~

    ~Derek~ Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4,602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Tennessee
    I'm worried my Toshiba laptop is going to crash on me for the last time in the future over it overheating, my last Toshiba crashed in the spring a year ago, and I got a new one with Vista in place of it and hopefully this one lasts for a while.
     
  18. FenriR

    FenriR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    England
    tr00 dat. then again, you'd be retarded not to have SATA these days. I sort of assumed you already had, but were considering moving from 5400rpm to 7200 or even 10k...

    how much ram do you have atm? its as cheap as chips right now.

    EDIT: @ black blood
     
  19. FenriR

    FenriR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,063
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    England
    laptops are notorious for overheating, because it's difficult to fit decent cooling into something so slim. most just have a fan on the bottom, and stilts to keep it raised so air can continue to be circulated. however, this means if you put a lappie on a soft surface, you won't have any cooling.

    this is why 'gaming laptops' are a really shit idea, because if you don't use them on a hard surface, they WILL overheat.
     
  20. CAIRATH

    CAIRATH Astral Disaster

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    R'lyeh
    This post actually reminded me of this:

     
    #60 CAIRATH, Feb 10, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 19, 2015

Share This Page