This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

GClip on Mac? YES!

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by fistula, Dec 7, 2009.

  1. SethTheGreat

    SethTheGreat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gainesville, TX
    Just an update:

    I've given up for the time being. I was wasting too much time messing around with stuff like this and not enough time making music. If I ever go back and try again, I'll post the results.
     
  2. CalumJC

    CalumJC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Blackpool, UK
    Sorry to resurrect this thread but after talking with Graham from GVST, there may be some light at the end of the tunnel as regards getting GVST plugins for OSX. If there is enough demand then AU versions may be available too!

    Interested to know who would be up for helping make this happen, all it takes is a small donation from as many people as possible to enable Graham to start working on it.
     
  3. kev

    kev Im guybrush threepwood

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    5,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Bristol, United Kingdom
    Just tell him to do a kickstarter :p
     
  4. Bystah

    Bystah New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry to resurrect this thread but Im willing to pay someone to do a skype-session with me to get this to work. Is anyone up for it?

    I have Lion 10.7.5
     
  5. joeymusicguy

    joeymusicguy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    indiana
  6. Christian WUFU

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
  7. erolz

    erolz New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    reboot!
    still looking for a working version of GClip for OSX Mavericks...
     
  8. SethTheGreat

    SethTheGreat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gainesville, TX
    I still haven't gotten Gclip working. Was messing with winebottler, but I can't find anything on how to wrap a .dll without a corresponding .exe. I wish I knew more about writing VSTs.


    Has anyone tried this?

    http://bedroomproducersblog.com/2014/05/29/audio-assault-klipfreak/


    Clipping is a pretty simple thing so it seems like it would be hard to get wrong.

    No visual, but that might be a better idea anyway.


    It doesn't seem to be on the publisher's site anymore, but I see it available for download here:

    http://www.vst4free.com/free_vst.php?plugin=KlipFreak&id=2017
     
  9. Winston Wolf

    Winston Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    There is a beta version of GClip OSX on GVST.
    I didn't test it much,it crashed Cubase 8 on some sessions
     
  10. SethTheGreat

    SethTheGreat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gainesville, TX
    I don't see it on the beta downloads page
     
  11. mva801

    mva801 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Just as an aside, I gave up on using this on PT/ OSX and just got the T-racks clipper. It's amazing and not that much money. If you osx guys really need a working option....
     
  12. Winston Wolf

    Winston Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
  13. SethTheGreat

    SethTheGreat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gainesville, TX
    Ahh ha! Thank you!

    Seems a little bit buggy on Yosemite so far, but this is still awesome.

    It's not crashing Cubase or anything, but the Gclip interface becomes unresponsive here and there.

    Let's test the crap out of this and give GVST some feedback?
     
  14. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Shit, thanks for that link. Had no idea the beta was out!
     
  15. SethTheGreat

    SethTheGreat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Gainesville, TX
    Note for everyone: If the plugin becomes unresponsive, try mousing over the little red 'x' in the plugin window and it should become responsive again. Works for me consistently. Also maybe post here that you're having the same issue and/or email the graham at GVST. He can't fix the bugs if he doesn't know what they are!
     
  16. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
  17. DullElysium

    DullElysium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
  18. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    There are so many clipping plugins. I don't get why anyone wants gclip specifically.
     
  19. Winston Wolf

    Winston Wolf Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Apparently for the waveform display.
     
  20. He's Dead, Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,429
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Yeah, I know it's "listen with your ears" and whatever but sometimes it's unbelievably useful to have a graphic display of what exactly you're doing to the waveform. It's especially useful with clipping because you can screw up so easily by neutering the transient. Just a very intuitive and useful version of a clipper plugin.
     

Share This Page