This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Holy shit M/S Mastering is cool

Discussion in 'Production' started by ahjteam, Aug 6, 2011.

  1. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    I was trying out mid-side mastering on one of my mixes and it's so fucking cool... I only used two plugins (EQ and compressor), but it still makes everything so bad ass!

    On the EQ on the Mid Channel I have boosted the low end at 90hz +4dB with a low shelf, cut out some mud at 500hz -3dB boosted the singer and snare presence 2khz +2db and boosted the airyness of the whole thing +4dB with high shelf.

    On the side channel I put a highpass filter at 150hz, cut out some resonance at 148hz -6dB, boosted the low mids 500hz +4dB, there was some super fizzy frequency at 4.6khz that I cut out -18dB (probably the Pod Farm btw, so I could've done it in individual tracks, but doesn't really matter at this point) and boosted some presence to the guitars at 6khz +5dB.

    After that I used the Rvox on the mid channel to bring up the kick, snare and vocals right in your face.

    I tried to put them to unity gain and I turn the plugins on and off bypassed every 3 bars, starts with them on, after 3 bars welcome mud city: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1338211/leftbehind_masteringtest.mp3

    I also noticed that I _really_ like SPL Transient Designer when I was doing that mix. Definitely was worth the purchase, makes the drums punch thru like a motherfucker.
     
  2. Fandus

    Fandus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How did you go about using rvox in a m/s configuration? I haven't really used m/s before but find it quite interesting. Is there a way to set it up using busses or does the plugin need m/s functions built in?
     
  3. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    I used the mono version and routed it to the left (aka mid) channel in Cubase. In Pro Tools you have to use the multi-mono version, but you can control the left and right channels independently form each other. Don't know about Reaper and others as I don't use them.
     
  4. Fandus

    Fandus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cool. Did you use the waves ms Matrix plugin to set it up? Are there other ways?

    Found this on the interwebs for anyone interested (I'm going to try this next week one my MacBook pro and waves gold arrive :D) :

    *Your source is a stereo audio track;

    *Route this track's outputs to <bus 1-2>

    *Insert Waves S1 MS Matrix plugin on it (encoding stage)

    *Create 2 x mono Aux tracks

    *Set the input of the first Aux to <bus 1>

    *Route it's output to <bus 3>

    *Set the input of the second Aux to <bus 2>

    *Route it's output to <bus 4>

    *Create a stereo Aux track

    *Set it's inputs to <bus 3-4>

    *Insert Waves S1 MS Matrix plugin on it (decoding stage)

    *Route it's outputs to <bus 5-6>

    *Create a stereo audio track

    *Set it's inputs to <bus 5-6>

    *Set it's outputs to <1-2> for monitoring



    This is Protools only! Found over at the avid forums originally posted by tal harzberg
     
  5. setyouranchor

    setyouranchor Celestial Recordings

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,494
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    North Wales, UK
    I tried out Ozone's mid/side mastering on my latest mix... fucking rules for both EQ and the Harmonic Exciter!
     
  6. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    I use Soundhack +matrix because it has volume sliders. It's free (RTAS, VST, AU)

    http://soundhack.henfast.com/freeware/

    Also why are you doing it the hard way? I mean, yeah, it's cool to have the mid and side channels on separate tracks, but there must be something totally awfully wrong if you have to use more than 10 plugins when mastering :) Just put the same plugins on the stereo track, matrix first and last, you still have 8 inserts to use, just use multimono plugins, unset the channel link and put the plugin on bypass (if applies to the plugin in question) or set the settings to neutral on the channel that you don't want to process, also it makes the plugin delay not an issue if you are not using PT9 or PTHD :)
     
  7. Fandus

    Fandus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Touché my good sir.
     
  8. irakayden

    irakayden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    im a little confused as to how you got the m/s on different tracks. could you explain again please?
     
  9. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    right click in channel > insert routing
     

Share This Page