This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Holy shit this is so loud

Discussion in 'Practice Room' started by kaomao, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    Oh God finally I have find a way to get loud mixes with a tons of lowend !!!
    check this: http://www.blacksandband.com/Stuff/Havok_Voice.MP3
    Well I had this multitracks laying around I was bored and I did a mix test, I liked the song and especially the guitar tone was sick ;)
    it's an old track by holyhavok (from this forum).
    Enjoy
     
  2. smy1

    smy1 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    So what's the trick?

    Nice drumsounds, too!
     
  3. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    1) 2 gclips one after one (same settings for both of them) so they cut the peaks.
    2) A great SSL Comp to compress the mix well: just reducing 4 db, 2:1 ratio, attack 30ms, release 1ms
    3) Last but not least a waves L2 with all as default, not limiting basically everything set at 0
    nothing more
    Uhm well it's clipping a little bit sometimes :( if I crank my hifi is doing this ,but if I keep it softer is not doing it! argh
     
  4. anestic

    anestic Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what stuff you use to record the guitars najs fucling soong and sound
     
  5. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    Well yes it doesn't make sense to me as well lol, but I followed the slate tip, I've read it on here about him having that chain, so I did the same and wow it works ;)
    I'm gonna use your tip as well and see if I can get it better ;)
    Anestic: regarding guitars, you gotta ask to holyhavok what did he use, I guess it's a mesa cab, considering the huge amount of lowmids.
     
  6. Metaltastic

    Metaltastic Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    19,931
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    So GClip before the SSL comp, huh? I guess that makes sense, but on the other hand, I think of a master bus comp as pretty much a mixing step, whereas the GClip is more mastering (loudness maximizing), which typically comes after - whatever sounds best, though!
     
  7. broken81

    broken81 Used by Protools

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Are you using any gain on the g-clips and what do you run the softness at?
     
  8. Morgan C

    Morgan C MAX LOUD PRESETS¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,674
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Just listening on laptop speakers but the drums seem really punchy.. whenever I use a compressor with 1ms release the drum transients get eaten.. let alone putting an L2 after that! Have you got the drums extra loud in the mix to compensate?
     
  9. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
  10. Deadstar

    Deadstar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    +1 definitely
     
  11. kaomao

    kaomao Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Bareggio - Milano - Italy (Shitty Town)
    forgot this:
    on GClip I set them this way: gain 3.5db, the rest as default!
     
  12. Jaymz

    Jaymz Stymphalian Productions

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    7,429
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    York
    Narcoss, I will try that :)
     
  13. JonWormwood

    JonWormwood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,886
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Jax, Fl
    I failz trying to recreate such awesomeness.
     
  14. Black neon bob

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,865
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yeah same here, i tried it once before but i just come up with too much compression going on and lot's of crackling sound when i try and go louder.
     
  15. broken81

    broken81 Used by Protools

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Detroit, MI

    So both gclips have 3.5 gain or just the first one?
     
  16. MetalJonesy

    MetalJonesy more metal, more booze!!!

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Darlington/Manchester UK
    surely the gain depends on the level of the overall mix? i mix quite loud so when i cascade my gclips it tends to be in the region of 1.5-2.5dB of gain
     
  17. Jaymz

    Jaymz Stymphalian Productions

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    7,429
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    York
    Ever tried using the SSL's makeup gain to do the boosting? I seem to prefer it.
     
  18. Josh Burgess

    Josh Burgess Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Gclip doesn't mess with the snare too much but it seems to mess with guitars sometimes and can be annoying...
     
  19. LSD-Studio

    LSD-Studio HCAF crusher

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,446
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Germany
    I usually have the C2 on the mixbus (not mastering!) grabbing like 2 dB (depending on what Ratio I'm using, sometimes I'm using a higher Ratio and compress only like .5 dB).

    I'm usually using 2 stages of clipping in mastering as well (both within the Finalizer, pretty much the only thing I'm using in the finalizer, other than a wee bit of EQ sometimes).
    In the finalizer the Compressor is sitting between those two clipping-Stages as well (I'm not using that comp though, don't like the sound of it and I actually perfer a singleband comp for compressing the whole mix in mastering, I'll sometimes use a multiband to fix/control certain areas). the final Step is the limiter....lately I'm using the elephant for that.

    I don't have a go-to mastering-chain though, cause different mixes need different stuff...I'll often be using the alan smart though, as well as clipping the apogee and using one or two clipping stages within the finalizer.

    I've recently discovered that I really like the StudioEQ in Cubase 4 for mastering.


    Mao: good Job!
     
  20. lordtech

    lordtech Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brunei
    im having difficulties here guys! its seems tht i cant find GClip plugins in my collection. Where can i find this thing???
     

Share This Page