This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

How do you use one shot snares?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by EmilDelaRosa, Aug 7, 2013.

1. EmilDelaRosa

EmilDelaRosa New Metal Member

Recently I've been reading a lot of articles and seeing that there's a lot of engineers who incorporate one shots with their drum sound. See I've never tried blending samples before. I either commit to the source drum sound or replace it completely with a different sample.

Here's some of my questions:
    1. Do I just duplicate the track and trigger the dup with a one shot sample, and then blend to taste with levels?
    2. Should I match the tuning as well?
    3. How do I make sure that it doesn't fuck up my drum mix?

Please let me know if there's something else that I should be aware of. Thanks!

2. Torniojaws

Torniojaws They call me Juha

When I do it, I usually mix by around 50/50 % with the dry and wet signals. The exact percentage depends on the two sounds, but usually around 50 %.
    Nothing else (re-pitching or such).

Judging from your question #1, usually the trigger software has a blend adjustment. You don't need to duplicate tracks yourself.

3. DeclanWhite

DeclanWhite Senior Member

Ive made a shortcut in reaper so that i 'copy' a one shot, then when i press the shortcut key it pastes the sample at the next transient on the track below the selected one. I find this a great way of making the phase very accurate. generally ill have it like 20% one shot, 80% other (multi sample/real snare) sometimes if it doesnt sound right, i have to flip the phase then it's all sweet!

4. ArthurD

ArthurD Member

50/50 max.
    I also use just the one shot on reverbs.

5. mva801

mva801 Member