This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Important drum editing quantization tip for those of you using Reaper...

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by AdamWathan, May 19, 2009.

  1. Nuno Filipe

    Nuno Filipe You talkin' to me?

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Portugal
    You are right. And if he cant put even the overheads in time we can not call him drummer!lol
     
  2. KKuff

    KKuff Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    So if the cymbals are on time, but the snare needs to quantized, then what about the snare sound coming through in the OH mics? Won't that be off if you only quantize the snare mic and not the OH mics?
     
  3. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    Not if you group ALL of the drum tracks!

    Edit: In other words, the snare gets quantized in all of the tracks, not just its own.
     
  4. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Thanks for the tutorial. Following along with the example session, things sounded better but still not right. Also I couldn't open the second session because the files were missing.
    Cutting off the 1 beat at the start and snapping everything to the start makes things easier on my brain.
    Instead of cutting snare, quantize x2, kick, quantize x2. Try cutting kick and snare tracks, then quantize 2x.


    Is it just me or is navigating the GUI of Reaper a really clumsy experience? I want to scroll down and it zooms in/out is the first thing to annoy me today.

    How much customizing of key commands have you done?
     
  5. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    Hey Jon,
    Yeah, I just did the multiple quantize for the sake of the tutorial in that once you've chopped the snare and quantized it you can then judge if you want to quantize the kick too.
    Yes, I find the GUI of Reaper to be really annoying too - I much prefer doing this kinda work in Pro-Tools (still gotta get to grips fully with Beat Detective).
    The Smart Tool in Pro-Tools just kills compared to editing in Reaper.
    I wrote the above tutorial here in work in which I just used the stock Reaper with no customisations, best to look on the Reaper forums or ask in the IRC channel if there's certain actions you're looking to map to keyboard shortcuts to help you work faster. I only have a few but I'm gradually moving over to Pro-Tools so I'm not that worried really.

    EDIT: Mind fixing your sig? I'm not sure if that's what's placing the horizontal scroll on my browser...Thanks!
     
  6. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Potentially this can be really fast.

    Some things holding it back right now.
    clicking one "region" that is grouped does not select all grouped tracks for the same time selection, wtf not!?
    Auto crossfades overlap transient. Where to turn that off? If I turn that off can I batch fade?
     
  7. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    Yes, very annoying! Or when you tab to transient and split, you then gotta click the new region after the split before you can tab to it. Basically means I've to zoom right into certain parts, then back out to a comfortable level.
    I haven't had the auto-crossfades kill my transients, is this what is happening to you?

    Thanks for the sig fix BTW! :)
     
  8. CatharsisStudios

    CatharsisStudios trcksngsrpbngs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
  9. CatharsisStudios

    CatharsisStudios trcksngsrpbngs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    fuck wrong thread, oh well. I LUVE U GUIZE
     
  10. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    that was actually pretty helpful though
     
  11. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    Jon, look back over the tutorial, the second quantize step automatically pulls the crossfades off the transients so you shouldn't be loosing them!
     
  12. KKuff

    KKuff Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Palm Beach, FL
    Oh okay that makes sense. Thanks for the tip.
     
  13. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    I have a question about this : how would you make this work with dynamic splitting instead of Tab/S ? Because I'm using the reaper dynamic split ability, but this seem to only apply to one track, or if you apply it to a group of track, each track is dynamic splitted independently. What I would like to do, is to dynamic split all the tracks to the kick or snare, so that they are all split at the same position, and then use the quantization settings this thread is about. How do ?
     
  14. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Group all your tracks and make sure you have "Split grouped items at times of selected item splits" checked off in the Dynamic Split window.
     
  15. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    :zombie: I must be tired of not having found this box ! Thank you Adam, now it's pure efficiency. I just need to check it in real situation and it's okay :)
     
  16. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    results?? before/after clips would be awesome!!
     
  17. ApolloSpeed

    ApolloSpeed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Texas
    anyone do a video yet??? hopefully in the new version 3.0
     
  18. AStacy2

    AStacy2 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    This method still working in new versions of Reaper? I tried it this morning and got some weird stuff like Reaper straight up making snare hits where there weren't snare hits before.
     
  19. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    Myself and Adam have both moved to Pro-Tools since this was written, so unfortunately I can't test this for you.
    Perhaps someone else can test this?
     
  20. AStacy2

    AStacy2 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ah, nice. I'm jealous, haha. Thanks though man.
     

Share This Page