This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Impossible to adjust Reamp levels

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by H-evolve, May 28, 2016.

  1. H-evolve

    H-evolve Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Wanted to thank you again for that tip. Tried it this weekend extensively and it does work. And I was able to find some interesting things...

    Since I was lacking a lot of dB, I first tried to push the hardware output all the way to +12. At that level, the clean original DI guitars, after being reamped with that +12, starts to be distorted. I figured out that it starts to distort the sound above +9. But my surprise was when I saw that, even at +12, my fadder was indicating a Reamped peak that was still slightly lower than my original DI. So I zoomed in on the two signals and the Reamped one was actually showing a signal that was obviously bigger than the original DI. When using +9 hardware output, it was roughly of the same size...

    So I guess my fadder was perhaps not indicated the good information between peak or RMS or whatever... I don't know.

    In the end, I hear a little bit of a tone difference. My guitar pick-ups are slightly brighter, with the low end being tighter. The reamped signal was a small bit more muddy I'd say... not as bright or tight. Could be a lot of things... after all the chain is different (1st chain = pickup - TS9 - ENGL Invader - ENGL XXL - SM57 versus 2nd chain = KA6 Output at +9, ProRMP maximum level - TS9 - ENGL Invader - ENGL XXL - SM57).

    I want to experiment with a clean boost before the TS9, using something like a XP Booster or Mini Katana. Just to hear the difference if I don't push the hardware output to +9. Maybe leave it at 0 and see how it sounds like with the clean boost.
     
  2. minerman

    minerman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    No problem man, that's what a forum is supposed to be, help for guys like us, right???

    There are a lot of variables for re-amping, & for my setup/gear the +6db seems to work good enough. I do hear a slight difference when I'm plugged straight into my amp, but only guys like us (and not all of us either...lol) would even notice, so I stopped worrying with it. That said, I'll most likely try the +9db sometime today just to see if it improves my tone any. I recently got a new amp/cab, & while it sounds pretty good, I'm always looking to improve...

    The level we all record at could be very different too, I've downloaded di's that were close to "0" 99% of the time, & never clipped (I'm assuming whoever recorded 'em used a limiter, not sure though). I try to have my di's peak around -6db so they never clip in the daw, but that's just me, I'm sure everybody has a different way they like to do this, & whatever works IMO, is the way to go...
     
  3. mickrich

    mickrich Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    GRStudios likes this.
  4. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    +1 It's just what I did. I'll never go back!
     
    GRStudios likes this.
  5. H-evolve

    H-evolve Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    Well, though I'd like to follow your advice, the market for used recording gear isn't that hot where I'm from. So I don't think I'd be able to easily sell it.

    The palmer is more than twice the price of the ProRMP, on top of it (again, that is from what I was able to find in Canada). But thanks for your advice. I'm taking good note of that brand (which I didn't know) and when I'll want to upgrade, I'll surely consider the Palmer.
     

Share This Page