This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Impulse FAQ :)

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by dani, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder The Truth Is Out There

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    You get a very boomy tone. Try it, and see if you like it. You could be a trend-setter someday, you know:headbang:

    Waves IR1 = very expensive + cpu fetish.
     
  2. xJSx

    xJSx New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    ok buddy, didn't want to make you loose your time, maybe the same time it took to you making the quote, but it is ok it was a funny joke and i am a newey
    so :headbang:

    Ok, I am going to try it!

    Oh and for SlipkyesBass, Gracias por el español amigo
     
  3. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    dew it, dew it Nao
     
  4. Tom-D

    Tom-D Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the info, sounds promising.But I never recorded dry signals using my Tone Port ux 2.Anybody knows how to do it ?
     
  5. dani

    dani beat defective

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    just don't run gearbox.. haha.

    record from inputs 1 or 2, not 3 or 4.

    thanks,
     
  6. Tom-D

    Tom-D Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wow, it actually works :D.Thanks.
     
  7. DigiV

    DigiV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So.. I'm new to this. Someone help me get started.

    Running a Mac. I have Ableton and Garageband.

    I need:

    1. A good soundcard/interface- what's good? Line6? Maudio?
    2. Impulses
    3. Should I get monitors? Which ones are good for guitar recordings?
    4. CurveEQ's that work well with 5150s

    Anything else?

    Any help and recommendations would be appreciated!
     
  8. professorlamp

    professorlamp I are Joe

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Wales, United Kingdom
    I got recommended for an interface the Profire M-audio 610
     
  9. Lionwing

    Lionwing Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    I fucking love this place! I've been miking up my marshall cab and doing hours of takes for ages worrying about neighbours cause I'm cranking a valveking to try and get some good tone. This is such a godsend! Plus as I can record DI I can listen to my takes clean first to see if I might have made any mistakes that distortion could have hidden!
     
  10. mick thompson

    mick thompson AKA: Ross Canpolat! SM!

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    there is plenty more tricks to learn off the forums here lionwing - stay tuned to the forums
     
  11. theforgotten

    theforgotten Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kicevo,Republic of Macedonia
    Which are the most commonly used impulses from Recabinet Complete 2.0 for extreme metal?Thanks!
     
  12. Kazrog

    Kazrog CEO/CTO, Kazrog, Inc.

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,539
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    California
    Any Recabinet questions should be brought over to the Recabinet Forums. Generally speaking, though, for extreme metal tones, start with a 4x12 cab IR and a 57 or 121 mic in the edge position.
     
  13. nch3966

    nch3966 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  14. vincentgun

    vincentgun New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hi guys, i posted this before but is it possible to create and impulse from a prerecorded guitar track?
     
  15. Proggm

    Proggm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No. Read about the very concept of IR and you'll learn why.
     
  16. plague_rider

    plague_rider Coffee

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,842
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I've tried searching and still not had any luck, but out of interest

    15-inch Impulses and Adam D style 6-inch Impulses

    Anyone know if any such impulses exist??
     
  17. Tom-D

    Tom-D Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I am using impulses for a while now and its cool.But actually what I wanted to ask is :
    what is the best way the use them with Tone Port ? I tried different combinations but something is still missing(about the sound).
    Can someone give me a step by step explanation ? Im using Reaper.
     
  18. guitarjon

    guitarjon Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I've been messing with impulses for weeks now.... I've really put in a lot of hours but couldn't really get the sound I wanted.
    I was constantly trying to combine mic positions etc. but it didn't work out.
    So I decided to just try look for loose sounds, so no combinations,
    and I must say this really worked for me...
    So if your having trouble combining impulses, just go back to basics and use 1
    Anyway, that's my 2 cents
     
  19. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    isn't toneport a DI/Interface by Line6? What does the hardware have to do with impulses? you simply record the DI with the toneport, the impulses are software, and you need amp sim before the impulse loader
     
  20. Tom-D

    Tom-D Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, so like I should not turn on Gearbox during recording ? Just adding vsts and impulses on the track and putting the monitor option on ?
     

Share This Page