This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Impulse FAQ :)

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by dani, Sep 13, 2008.

  1. Wegu

    Wegu New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Finland
    Do you have cab plugged to your amp? Because i want to do this without having to get cabinet to my apartment too.
     
  2. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    If it's a tube amp you need a load or you might damage it, there's a DIY dummy load tutorial in the equipment subforum, check it out.
     
  3. RedDog

    RedDog Humanoid typhoon

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma.
    I use the fxloop send from the head, to a line input, but only if it has adjustable gain. apply impulse.

    Boom, tone.


    Also, Harvey said him and Alex ( of Signals Audio "God's Cab" fame) did some work together last wee in Calgary putting together a new set of Fredman style impulses to be released soon. Definitely worth checking into.
     
  4. hurdy

    hurdy Sup

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    Yep gotta have a dummy load instead of a cabinet. Can fuck your amp if you dont have a cabinet or dummy load box or sumthing similar
     
  5. mteeyne

    mteeyne New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i know this is quite a subjective thing, and a lot of people make their own, but who generally makes and sells high quality good sounding impulses suitable for metal.

    this post screams "im a noob and know nothing"...its true. i am :(

    but anyways, im about to start using impulses and want to try the ones you guys swear by!
     
  6. CubanDude

    CubanDude not really cuban

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    lolzgregs recto impulse, red wire impulses, god's cab impulses and many many more... (search for it, it's for free)
     
  7. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    If you want great free impulses, start with Ryan's awesometime impulses, if you want great stuff get Recabinet or get Lolzgreg (Greg Tomao) to make you some custom impulses with whatever you want, however you want them.
     

Share This Page