This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

"in your face snare" how to get there...

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Gomez, Nov 25, 2008.

1. Gomez

Gomez Member

Ok, so I have been trying and reading around with no luck.

I got nothing to hide here, my name is Jaime Gomez Arellano (mostly known as Gomez), and I'm primarily a mastering engineer, and tend to master lots of metal but when it comes to producing I work in a very different field than you guys (I have worked with Guapo, Jarboe, Aethernor, Steven O'malley, Shora, Mothlite and many other "avan-prog" bands). I do Mastering for Candlelight and Peaceville amongst other metal and non metal labels. I have enjoyed some success and I make a living out of this so it's all cool...

... but now I'm producing a death metal project (in fact, my own) which is kinda prog death metal. My approach to making records (perhaps some of you have heard some of my work) is very different and I'm, well, experimenting a bit. I'm more from the Steve Albini, Andy Wallace side of things, lot's of ambience mics, little processing and so on.

The mixes I'm doing, are going ok... but there is one thing I cannot seem to get right and that is the snare drum. For this project I do want that really tight, fat snare sound, but had little luck so far... I want that kind of meshuggah catch 33 snare sound. So I went out and bought DFHS and Drumagog... hmmm....