This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Inserting multiple tempo maps in cubase 5

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by topsoul182, Nov 27, 2011.

  1. topsoul182

    topsoul182 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a band coming in doing 5 songs and they have the drums and tempos all mapped out in guitar pro. Theyre sending me all the midi files and I'm trying to figure out how to put them in one big project with all the songs.

    The only way that the tempo saved in the midi file will take affect is if I create a whole new project for that song

    anyone know how to get around this?
     
  2. Plankis

    Plankis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Sweden
    Activate Tempo track on the transport panel.
    Open the Tempo Track, ctrl+t.
    Click on the line and choose the tempo you want.
     
  3. scorpio01169

    scorpio01169 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I've always wonder what the purpose/benefit of recording all songs on one project.
     
  4. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I would only do one song per project for many years, but the past 3 or 4 projects I have been doing them all in one. Honestly it's been much easier to work that way, for me.

    topsoul182: What Plankis suggested won't work for what you are talking about. Either you or the band needs to export the MIDI from the GuitarPro files for each song. Once you have those, go into Cubase's preferences window and go to MIDI, then under MIDI File find the option that says "Import to Left Locator" make sure it is checked, and make sure "Ignore Master Track Events on Merge" is unchecked. Now you just set the left locator to where you want the MIDI/tempo to be imported to and go to File>Import>MIDI File and choose the one you want. Then set the left locator where you want the next one, import MIDI, etc., etc. You can delete the MIDI tracks/events afterwards if you want, the tempo will remain. When it asks you if you want to create a new project for the MIDI file, click on No, btw.
     
  5. topsoul182

    topsoul182 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    @scorpio01169- I do it because I usually blend drum samples and and I want to make sure the proportions stay the same. Also I like to make sure I keep the same vocal and bass chain for the whole album. After I get the main sound set up, I then split up the songs into their own separate projects and then fine tune everything there.

    @006- Awesome thank you so much, I'm gonna give it a try tomorrow. I was hoping for a response from you, it seems like you're the big cubase guy around here
     
  6. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    No problem, you can just IM me on AIM (winterskiesprod) or PM me on here in the future if you want, I am always happy to help with Cubase stuff.
     
  7. Plankis

    Plankis Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,153
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Sweden
    My method do work. Setting it up manually must be the safest method of them all...
     
  8. musickey

    musickey djenital moosic

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Hey 006 thanks for that info man! I have been looking for the correct way to import multiple midi tempos for awile now, I used to have to just drag n drop the midi's into the project window without the control of exactly where they dropped lol

    Thanks again :kickass:
     
  9. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yes, your method works if you know all the tempos (plus any tempo changes in each song and also time signatures) and want to manually go through and put them on the tempo map... but that isn't what the OP asked for.

    He asked for a way to import multiple MIDI files. Your method does not cover this need, mine does. Why sit there and spend a considerably longer amount of time doing it manually when it takes literally ~5 seconds per song my way with the same result? I mean, someone has already gone through and manually mapped out every song. I'm not keen on doing redundant, unnecessary work *shrug*

    I have used the method I described with no problems or surprises many, many times, so I'd say it's safe as well ;)
     
  10. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Cheers man
     
  11. tgs

    tgs Elder

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Thank you SO MUCH for this, Mike! I've been putting in tempos and signatures manually for so long, can't believe all the time I've wasted by not knowing about this!
     
  12. 006

    006 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    8,955
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Yeah it was a life saver for me as well when I started doing all songs in one project :lol:
     
  13. everybody's x

    everybody's x My name is Damage

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I've always done all my sessions in one file. Just makes sense to me. Maybe because I came from Tape and consoles. Seems much easier to make it sound like a cohesive album
     

Share This Page