This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Line6 Desktop POD HD

Discussion in 'Backline' started by jhrv, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. jhrv

    jhrv Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  2. Rob Logic

    Rob Logic yayyyyyy!

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Newport News, VA
    I will get excited when I can confirm that you can totally bypass the cab modeling. I had no need for the floor board. Kind of annoying bending over on the floor to tweak. I'm getting older every day, can't be doing all this bending over shit.
     
  3. Ascendant

    Ascendant Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think it's about time there was a Pod farm HD.
     
  4. RichMinerva

    RichMinerva New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i would buy that shit till i was dead
     
  5. drawnacrol

    drawnacrol 7Slinger

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Ireland
    I'm guessing Summer release. The POD HDs have been out a good while now so their going to advertise/market the desktop ones for a few months.
     
  6. MindMunch

    MindMunch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If it had at least one good bass amp sim and one good preamp sim it would be a much better product. Being able to record a demo using any netbook. The way it is now, I guess I like a PODx3 better.
     
  7. Clockwork

    Clockwork Bass playing guy.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Lol I like the "tweak" knob. It's not vague or anything.
     
  8. SimonTaddio_Qc

    SimonTaddio_Qc Headbanger

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Quebec, Can
    Nice. Might pick one up if I can find the dough
     
  9. Erik Monsonis

    Erik Monsonis Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Where is the Tact button on this one?? Fuck Line6 this time... :lol:
     
  10. tempe

    tempe Captain Midnight

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    Will buy PodFarm HD when it comes out, I have absolutely no interest in one of those insane kidney bean shaped things.
     
  11. JoergieN

    JoergieN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    So wait, do we know for sure if the pod farm version is going to be released eventually? If so then I'm not even going to bother with the axe fx that I've been about to pull the trigger on. I'll just wait and see. If Fractal had released an iLok version of axe edit I would have bought it a long time ago, but it doesn't look like that will ever happen. I have no use for the rack thing
     
  12. MindMunch

    MindMunch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No. But it´s the obvious next step.
     
  13. JoergieN

    JoergieN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    Another thing is that although I'm already happy with POD Farm, listening to the clips of the POD HD, it seems that a lot of people are right, it's not a big step up from the original POD Farm. Most Certainly it's not on the same page as the Axe FX. At least it doesn't seem that way. The only way to find out is to try it out and tweak it to my likings. I mean everyone tweaks their tones to their liking. All I know is that I'm trying to avoid unnecessary hardware as much as I can. Like I said, if Fractal ever releases the Axe-edit software without the rack piece, I'm all aboard.
     
  14. JoergieN

    JoergieN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    Actually I've been listening to more clips. I don't think I'm even going to bother. From what I've heard it sounds worse than regular POD Farm. Of course it all depends on who's dialing it in. But then I looked at the amp list and neither the 5150, Mesa Mark II or JCM 900 are on there. So yeah, I don't really care about it too much. May try out Amplitube. I wish Fractal would just make it easy and just release an iLok version of the Axe-edit.
     
  15. phisk

    phisk Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Line6 will add alot more amps and There'll be alot more power amp tweakability.
     
  16. Pot

    Pot Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Portugal
    i´m getting one.....when i have the $$
     
  17. Mancha

    Mancha Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belgrade
    I`m actully quite happy with Pod HD500.
    I bought it even though (due to stuff I read on forums) I half expected to get a little difference compared to Pod Farm, but I found it very easy to get a good tone out of it (easier than with previous L6 stuff), and after a few weeks I barelly scratched the surface of tweeking and fine tuning and still haven`t got to using dual tones.

    I wanted hardware device that I could use in studio and live and that would hold all the tones in one place for both uses. I was afraid it would sound sub-par to latest software ampsims (like Lecto) and Nebula cab emulation, but it sounds suprisingly good even with minimal tweeking. I decided to stick to it exclusivelly and get the most out of it.
    I even started using it as audio interface instead of my Firestudio.
    A few extra software features would be nice, like USB reamping and Acoustic model, but still, I think it was worth the money.
     

Share This Page