This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Logic's metronome too quiet

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by updog, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    While recording, my bandmates sometimes complain that they can't hear the click well enough. The sound of the built-in metronome in Logic does seem like it easily is buried under. I've tried pushing it all the way up, even putting a compressor to its channel strip so it pumps like hell, but I haven't thought of anything effective yet.

    Any suggestions? Should I actually EQ the metronome so people can hear it better? Or should I pitchshift it to a higher pitch? Change the entire Klopfgeist sound to something else? Any suggestions?
     
  2. gabriel g.

    gabriel g. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Right click on the metronom icon.....

    The metronom could clip at some settings, so if it gets buried you track too hot!!!
     
  3. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    I've already set the metronome to its full volume from the metronome settings. It does clip a bit every 4 beats, but I always have a limiter in the master, and I always make sure that the instruments I'm recording don't clip.
     
  4. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,067
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    klopgeist is dogshit.
    If i actually used logic for anything, id be using my own sounds in ultrabeat or something.
     
  5. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    Gotta try that, thanks.

    I know I can change the sound to something else, I'm just hoping I won't need to manually set it for every project I have...
     
  6. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    Actually, I noticed I do track too hot. I've had things peaking at -3, which sucks.

    I'm wondering if I should ask the guys record everything again... :cry:
     
  7. Morgan C

    Morgan C MAX LOUD PRESETS¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,674
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Turn down the fader on your tracks and turn up your monitors..?
     
  8. mick thompson

    mick thompson AKA: Ross Canpolat! SM!

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    go to the mixer window, click "all" (at the top) and you'll see the metronome channel (blue i think) - turn it up on the fader - if its still not loud enough add logic's gain plugin, if its still not loud enough add a compressor and increase the input & output levels - done

    careful though - too loud and you'll clip your soundcard and you'll have to do a reboot

    if your band members cant hear it then they have lost there hearing freq's in the mid to high range. urge them to use ear plugs on stage and in venues (otherwise they wont hear anything when they come to the age of 40) - to deal with the problem open up a 31 band and eq up the mids to high's around 8dB if not more until they can hear it. sometimes on stage i've had to ask the engineers to boost my mid range on my monitor's because i've lost a good amount of it over the years from extreme audio dB's from playing too loud and not using ear protection when im working with grinders and saws on building sites
     
  9. SentencedToBurn

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    yea when the metronome is all the way up in logic, it clips. So you are most definitely recording too hot.
     
  10. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    use a different sampler or

    double click klopfgeist and turn the tonality up and it turns more into a beep than a click and can be more audible
     
  11. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    Thanks for the tips everyone! I've already turned the metronome fader all the way up and full volume from the settings. Gotta try something else.

    So yeah, I noticed the guitars peak at -3 (yellow) which is probably bad. We may or may not record everything again, we'll see :D it's not like it's paid work anyway.

    What would you guys say? Less headroom, or more work and learning the hard way?

    By the way, I noticed today that if you have a midi track of what your guitarist is supposed to play, and have a banjo sound on that midi track it helps the guitarist keep time very well. Don't know why.

    EDIT. meant -3, not -6.
     
  12. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,418
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    If you aren't clipping you aren't peaking too high.

    If you can't hear the click turn everything else down. Seriously. You don't need to re-record everything-- just pull down the faders. That's why they're there.
     
  13. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    Good to know, thanks.
     
  14. ahjteam

    ahjteam Anssi Tenhunen

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Virrat/Helsinki, Finland
    and if they can't hear the click, turn everything else down from the headphones and add gain in the headphone amp
     
  15. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    This... the first band I recorded with Logic complained they couldn't hear the click so I turned the tonality from .5 to like .95 and it helped immensely
     
  16. updog

    updog Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    3,736
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Finland
    They're actually monitoring through my monitor speakers, while I have headphones on. Some of them preferred listening themselves through the speakers. I don't know if it's a bad thing, except that they obviously can't hear as well as they would wearing headphones...

    But I've already ordered a headphone amp and some more headphones, I'll have them in my hands next week. I'll probably just make them use headphones :lol:

    The tonality thing was a great tip, it's way more audible now. I turned tonality all the way up.
     
  17. xTomx

    xTomx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    I had a similar problem, I just find the klopfgeist click to be pretty weak so I changed it to a Pro Tools style wood block that was part of the EXS24 jazz kit.

    It's much easier to hear without having to add any gain and drowning out other tracks
     
  18. -J-

    -J- Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    record a vocal track where you say "tick" in time with the metronome. every once in a while say "tock." I'm here to help.
     
  19. beyond dead

    beyond dead heavy metal dad \m/

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    peterborough, ontario, canada
    damn... this shit is common knowledge isnt it???!!!???? take a look at your signal path lol.
     

Share This Page