This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Mixing/Mastering EP/Album in one session or multiple?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Daybreak, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. JasinElric

    JasinElric Straf Drah Studio

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Don't start a gigantic project on a laptop. It's a laptop. I don't care how amazing the specs are.
     
  2. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    I've only owned laptops for the past 5 years. No complaints.
     
  3. anotherpaul

    anotherpaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    That's very helpful, thank you.
     
  4. B36arin

    B36arin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have a new Macbook Pro Retina, I'd claim that it runs a lot better than our three year old Mac Pro at the studio.
     
  5. JasinElric

    JasinElric Straf Drah Studio

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Excuse me for hating on laptops. It just doesn't seem wise to put so much stock into a piece of equipment that if one component burns out or breaks its nearly impossible to replace. IMO/YMMV all that shit.
     
  6. anotherpaul

    anotherpaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Well duh. However I can take it with me to record on location and to play backtracks on stage, blah blah blah. Anyway, I'm still looking for a method to easily freeze/print parts of the track that would allow me to have several songs in one Reaper project.
     
  7. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    You can hit "apply FX to item" or something like that, and it only "freezes" the selected item(s) instead of the whole track. But, then you'd have to turn off FX when listening to the frozen item and turn them on when listening to the not frozen item, otherwise you'll hear one with double fx or the other one raw.
     
  8. anotherpaul

    anotherpaul Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow, Russia
    Thanks! It's actually quite neat since "apply track fx" adds a rendered take to each item. That allows for quick toggling between the raw/processed versions of the item. It seems like a possible solution using some custom actions.

    Although, I feel like maybe I should be doing all CPU-heavy stuff that is basically pre-mixing (sample replacement, VSTi's, ampsim's) in a separate project and then only use ready-to-mix tracks in one big session.
    Does anybody also do these things during mixing? What's the common approach?
     
  9. Marcolobo

    Marcolobo Soundsick

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Argentina
    I've tried to use an only session for tracking and mixing, i can't. I feel like something is not OK with that, maybe it's just some kind of an organization plan i've made through this time.
    I track in separated sessions, mix in separated sessions, and master in one session, importing all the mixed tracks, this way i can take a look to the different songs each time i need to.
    Cheers!
     
  10. tempe

    tempe Captain Midnight

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    I'm a one song per session kind of guy. Import session data in PT makes things really easy, also if anything goes wrong in the session worst case scenario is that you only lose one song. Also the way PT deals with tempo maps it can be a real pain to make small tempo adjustments, it generally pushes all the other markers out. I'd hate to have to remap an entire project halfway through.
     
  11. Siriun

    Siriun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not true at all. The only specs on a laptop that would be nearly impossible to replace would be the motherboard or video. But if we're talking about putting equipment into a laptop to boost it than that's all replaceable.
     
  12. Michael Wenz

    Michael Wenz Analog Mixing and Mastering Engineer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    New Berlin, WI
    Im about to do 10 songs and pondering what is the best way for this project. Last album I did it in one Pro Tools session and I deactivated all the tracks to save on UAD and system resources. Worked well.. I did end up making separate versions on the home stretch. I think I will make one master track so I can compare the songs as I go... Ok I start now! One screen PT12
     
  13. Michael Wenz

    Michael Wenz Analog Mixing and Mastering Engineer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    New Berlin, WI
    Ok maybe not! The bussing is too complicated.... Have to find a happy medium. Got me thinking!
     
  14. Lost Tribes of Cheekowara

    Lost Tribes of Cheekowara Every moment is a gift.

    Joined:
    May 22, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    As far as tracking and production goes my brother Željko and I done it both ways, everything in one session and every track separately. But as far as mixing and mastering process goes, every track has to go in separate project. Now I would like to ask one particular question, that is very interesting to me and that is: How much difference between individual tracks (songs) on one album/EP you tolerate or you are willing to make?

    Damir
     
  15. Kaza

    Kaza Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2017
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would take this with a grain of salt. A string processor is a strong processor. My laptop is an i5 8 GB RAM and I record at 48k and do big ass sessions.

    Been doing it that way for years

    It's ALL about the specs... Not if it's the shape of a box or a notebook....lol
     

Share This Page