This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

new logic 10.1 update.

Discussion in 'Backline' started by Machinated, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,239
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    damn, added basically everything I wanted.

    VCA faders, trim automation, plugin folder management, a couple of new plugins, region based automation.

    nice.
     
  2. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Looks like they took a look at Cubase 8 and went "okay, we can do that too."

    Can you still not see the grid?
     
  3. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I'm also like 99% sure region-based automation has been a thing forever? Putney relies on that for his mixing.

    *edit* automation moves with regions now - wasn't aware it didn't! Good addition. key features ID'd here:

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2475399,00.asp


    "This alternative to the traditional Pencil tool lets you paint notes across the Piano Roll with a single mouse gesture. You can add measures and measures of hi-hats, for example, or set it to a scale and add instant harmonies with a swipe of your mouse."

    that's huge for writing drum parts^^ was a huge gripe of mine forever.
     
  4. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,239
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    there was that too, but this is different, kind of hard to explain.

    logic's had some of the ex PT people on board for a while so no surprise to see these PT things coming in finally. trim automation is probably the one I'm most excited about.

    still going to do my edits in PT though.....
     
  5. ze kink

    ze kink THE BLACK WIZARDS

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    It looks really awesome! I've been mixing side by side with Reaper and Logic for a bit now and slightly preferred Reaper as of late, but this'll probably change that.

    Though I'd really still like pans on sends, I don't think they'll add that and I can work around it. The Logic Remote eq control is also brilliant!
     
  6. ArsMemoria

    ArsMemoria Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    Love the new GUI for the compressors. Haven't been able to really sit down with it, but it's a pretty sweet update.
     
  7. xTomx

    xTomx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Kind of, if you select a track/region and show the editor it shows the grid but only for one track at a time:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. xTomx

    xTomx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Sorry, working on a Retina Display so it's scaled huge.
     
  9. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Literally useless.
     

Share This Page