This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

PodStudio DI vs Countryman DI, do I need to invest?

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by drope934, Jun 7, 2011.

  1. drope934

    drope934 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Hello folks,
    after reading Splat88 telling how the countryman 85 changed his life here I was wondering if such DI would improve the sound I got when recording with vst (muddy as fuck...).

    Splat88 said that "I literally felt like I had wasted 4 years of my life trying to get a proper tone from sims, especially trying to remove the muddiness that is commonly encountered." so I was :eek:

    I've read a few topics on the countryman 85 here:
    1st (just Joey asking about DI)
    2nd (guy asking about the new type 10, no answer on the difference between 85 and 10 :( )
    3rd
    4th (countryman vs saphir DI)
    5th (relative to the use of EMG with the countryman)
    6th (finally one comparing the 85 to a line6 interface but the thread don't tell too much...).
    7th
    (the sticky about reamping, a lot of informations about the impedance and such but more for passive pick ups)
    I first was thinking of getting a cheap DI for my next band recording but if it improve my DI "at home", I'll considering buying a good one like the 85.

    I still couldn't find any good answer to these questions:

    1: is the line6 instrument line DI so bad?
    2: if the sound of the countryman is better, I'll plug it into a line6 Mic input... is it going to re-degrade the sound?
    3. what the hell is the difference between the type 85 and 10?!?
    4. I mainly use emg 81 on 18v at home with my esp eclipse but also got a passive pickups on my charvel when I play in my band. I know that the countryman will do a great job with the charvel but how will it react with the EMGs?


    There is maybe a few more questions but they don't come in mind right now...


    Thank you guys for the time you'll spend on this for me:)

    PS: sorry for my poor english, still learning every day by my own..
     
  2. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    I can't answer all, but I can say that the usb drivers of the line 6 have a pretty bad reputation and even though they will sound better with the countryman, the conversion isn't really good enough, you might want to look into getting a better interface.
     
  3. Nick M

    Nick M Chuck Norris is my uncle

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    I use to DI guitars and bass through the type 85 a long time ago. It can distort easily with active pickups. I actually hate the sound of the country man now, ever since getting the REDDI by A Designs. I didn't know how bad all these DI's were until I used that for the first time. Do not worry too much about the pod DI - The countryman is barely better. Save your pennies until you can get a REDDI.
     
  4. Nick M

    Nick M Chuck Norris is my uncle

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    and definitely get a better interface. until then work what ya got
     
  5. drope934

    drope934 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    thx for your answers!
    well, my interface costed like 350euros (line6 kb37), it's a pain in the ass if I have to buy another one... The REDDI is way out of range for my budget (700$ :OMG: )


    Change the interface... why not! Now that I can (I think) run PODfarm without the interface I can buy another one, one day (like the motu ultralite mk3 ultra or a focursite saffire pro, but don't know really how much better they are compared to mine).

    Since I'm going to recorde my band (not on my interface but on our TASCAM 2488 NEO) I wanted to buy a DI box (even a shitty one, just to keep the DIs juste in case) but considering that it could be usefull for my own use I though about gettin a nice one (but not 700$, wtf :tickled:)

    if other people here can answer to my questions, they are welcomed!:worship:
     
  6. Fbarre

    Fbarre Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You could have a look at the little labs redeye 3d phantom which also has a reamp function.
     
  7. drope934

    drope934 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Looks like a nice device but I'll probably not use my DI for reamping, or at least not myself with my own amps so I don't need to spend extra cash for a reamp box at the moment.
     
  8. TheDriller

    TheDriller Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Fuck burning churches, lets burn down schools and
    A better interface with a nice instrument input would probably be the smartest option (Focusrite Saffire range springs to mind).
    you could get the best DI in the world, but the pod will always be the weakest link in the chain.
     
  9. drope934

    drope934 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    you kinda answered my question #2. If I got a good DI but plug in into my pod... it will improve nothing. Don't know much about what interface will do the trick for around 400-500$ (this will ruin me :guh:), will do some search on the forum but if you guys have some suggestions...
     
  10. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    Saffire, for less than that you can get an LE if you're not recording drums. It's been mentioned a million times, now go get it!
     
  11. drope934

    drope934 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    The Saffire LE looks great, but it seems to not be produced anymore. Maybe the PRO 24 DSP is the "new version" :err:? (since I'm not going to record drums at home)


    But still, with those interfaces, need a DI box (don't looks like they have a Hi-Z input or such ) so my questions about running a emg 18v into a DI are still there.

    Otherwise fuck it all and I'll save to buy a definite Liquid Saffire 56 and a DI box and will be ok for the rest of my life :rofl:
     
  12. TheDriller

    TheDriller Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,212
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Fuck burning churches, lets burn down schools and
    I'm using the saffire 24 DSP at the month and it slays.
    The two combo-jacks on the front can be switched to be instrument inputs and they sound nice and clear.
    I've got emg 18volt mod in on my main guitar. If you keep the pickups lowered a bit and maybe back off the volume control on the guitar a bit then it works fine with the 24 DSP. My only complaint would be that I'd like to have a 'pad' switch on the first two channels like on the saffire pro 40
     
  13. drope934

    drope934 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    So I'll go for the saffire pro 24 dsp. This could be a great improvement to my sound and it has connection that I miss on my actual interface (midi in/out and optical in to plug a bunch of mic preamps wich is great if I have one day to rec drums at my basement). Will get maybe a cheap DI to do the trick with my band just in case I need the DIs.
     
  14. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    All saffires have a hi-z input, its called instrument input, and it's awesome
     
  15. drope934

    drope934 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Ordered the saffire pro 24 dsp. I'll post some clips comparing the DIs of it vs. PodStudio when I got it, this could be helpfull for some people.
     
  16. ~BURNY~

    ~BURNY~ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Nick, I have no doubts that the REDDI is fantastic (it better be considering the price) but saying the type 85 isn't a substantial improvement over a pod is inaccurate.
     
  17. DanLights

    DanLights Santa Hat Forever

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
    Great, please do it!
     
  18. Nick M

    Nick M Chuck Norris is my uncle

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    Maybe you're right and the pod DI is even worse than I thought. Either way you will still be playing around with stuff that is not up to par. So say his DI gets him 50% to where he wants to be. Then say the type 85 takes him to 75%. Still not where he needs to be and just wasted the money. Save up and do it right.
     

Share This Page