This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Preparing your tracks for reamping: A Guide

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Glenn Fricker, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. zlittell

    zlittell New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  2. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    No. You need a Hi-z instrument input. Not a line level input.
     
  3. zlittell

    zlittell New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you!
    build this I shall:
    [​IMG]
    http://sound.westhost.com/project35.htm

    EDIT: anyone who sees this and wants to build it, I have read that this circuit is not set up for an ideal impedence at all and these revisions should be made
    and ideally you should remove that output connector since it can distort your input sound.
    a thanks to abbey road d enfer for pointing these changes out in this thread http://www.prodigy-pro.com/diy/index.php?topic=30737.20

    i would leave R12 and C8 in there because they are designed to be an "earth isolation circuit" since ground lifting is not easily possible with an active box

    -zack-
     
  4. Vulcain

    Vulcain Black Metal

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    France
    Hails,

    One quick question : is there any interest to use my Redeye for tracking the dry signal instead of using the instrument slot of my Line 6 ux2?
     
  5. gabriel g.

    gabriel g. Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,177
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hamburg
    Why do you have a hig-quality DI and a low-level interface?

    The quality of the redeye will realy come out in use with a quality preamp
     
  6. viggen666

    viggen666 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have the redeye, and when reamping my sound is duller then pluggin in straight in the amp.

    Is this because my guitars have passive pickups en the redeye's input impedance is a bit low for those, should i use and active d.i. instead ?

    I thought about getting the palmer pan 02, is this any good ?
     
  7. Vulcain

    Vulcain Black Metal

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    France
    double-post
     
  8. Vulcain

    Vulcain Black Metal

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    France
    I am building my home studio progressively and at the moment I have to deal with this soundcard.

    Are the pre-amps of the Ux2 that bad?
     
  9. parisowar

    parisowar Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello guys. I have RME fireface UFX. Do i need anything else to get a quality signal? I mean it has hi-Z instrument input (800Kohms i think) and good preamps.

    What do you think?
     
  10. Brett - K A L I S I A

    Brett - K A L I S I A Dreaded Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    France
    You don't need anything else.
     
  11. Metalwarrior45

    Metalwarrior45 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi !!! I did a little bit of reamping but my main question was when you record dry track how do you edit guitar ?? A lot of people keep saying that to record note by note and hit the string as hard as you can and after edit them... ??? well I try it out yesterday and It did not sound pretty good actually... too much editing and the palm muting sound special too ??? can you give me some cool advice on how to track and edit rhythm guitar to sound as pro as I can !!!

    My equipment is base on a FIREFACE 400,Universal audio LA-610 mic pre with comp , a good computer working under cubase for my sequencer, and a lot of guitar amp sim and plug ins !!!

    Thanks again !!!

    Frank:headbang:
     
  12. Benny H

    Benny H Degenerate

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia

    Play as pro as you can. There is no trickery to beat that. Editing guitar is for shit cunts that should stick to sucking their mums tit
     
  13. Metalwarrior45

    Metalwarrior45 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks benny !! That's what I was thinking of course !!!! but I know a lot of band that did it actually and it sound pretty cool but you're right !!! there is no such thing as REAL GUITAR PLAYER ahahaha !
     
  14. Zman

    Zman O.X.Y.

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hi,

    I would like to prepare my tracks for reamping but before getting started I would like to make sure I am doing everything right!

    Here's my signal chain :

    Guitar (with active emgs) -> Radial J48 XRL -> Cakewalk UA 25 EX -> Reaper

    And the thru connection of the J48 is connected to my amp (6505) for monitoring purposes.

    Is that right ?
     
  15. Brett - K A L I S I A

    Brett - K A L I S I A Dreaded Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,907
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    France
  16. Zman

    Zman O.X.Y.

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thank you :Spin:
     
  17. TomatoMetal

    TomatoMetal New Metal Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Why do we need a mic preamp?

    Why don't:

    Guitar -> DI ->Converters ???

    Thank you for this 3d :):wave:
     
  18. CosmoHack

    CosmoHack New Metal Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello, I've read the entire thread and I think I've identified why my reamps with virtual amp sims sound so bad.

    I'm recording my DI's through a Line 6 Toneport UX2, which is basically a POD converted into a PC soundcard + interface. I do it through the dry send, but when I send the DI's to a amp sim it sounds poor and dark; I can't get a good sound with this interface if I don't use POD Farm.

    As I have read in this post, to get good DI's I need a good DI Box and "something" (AD converter?) to get the signal into the PC.

    I'm thinking of buying a good DI but obviously, if i send the DI Box signal through de Toneport to get the sound into the PC I will lose a lot of quality as happened when I used the UX2 as a all-in-one unit, am I wrong?

    The other option is to buy a DI and something to get the sound into the PC. What converter should I buy? I don't know where to plug the DI Box.

    Will it be better if I buy a good interface like Apogee Duet or RME Babyface and forget about DI + Converter?

    P.D: In a middle-near future (6-12 months), I will be buying an Axe FX; should I forget about buying the DI Box? I think I will not need it with the Axe.

    Thank you and sorry for my english.
     
  19. 108

    108 New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    single emg81: 10000ohms
    how to calculate guitar output impendance when TWO pickups are engaged?
     
  20. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder The Truth Is Out There

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    Yeh get an Apogee Rosetta.

    Edit: kidding.

    I think people are better off worrying about the quality of electricity, guitar (pickups, wood, strings), room treatment, and of course - Tone from the HANDS.
     

Share This Page