This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

PT 12.3 update. Track freezing and visible waveform editing...

Discussion in 'Backline' started by mva801, Nov 10, 2015.

  1. mva801

    mva801 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    http://www.pro-tools-expert.com/hom...etailed-breakdown-including-lots-of-bug-fixes

    Guys it's taken like a bazillion years for the idiots over at Avid to figure things out. They've FINALLY worked in a type of track freezing functionality, and they've FINALLY made the waveforms visible while moving clips around. The last update of 12.2 gave us input monitoring and access to the disk cache. That's when I decided to upgrade and bite the bullet to update my waves to AAX, etc.

    I still hate this new subscription based price model, but at least they're making me feel like I'm not settling for a crippled piece of software by not having a full HD rig.

    If you're like me and work in a variety of different studios and are basically forced to use Pro Tools, all these improvements are pretty exciting. IF you haven't upgraded to PT12 yet, do it. It's fucking amazing compared to 10 or 11.
     
  2. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    they're slowly getting there. its beyond me why they don't market their DSP rigs the way UAD do - sell 1 version of PT and then if people want low latency plugins/DSP, include their AAXDSP plugins with their interfaces and HD packages. Its pretty confusing at the moment, what with the lines between HD and native features getting more and more blurred.
     
  3. Mago

    Mago Austrian Blech Machine

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Shit, I really wanted to avoid having to upgrade from 11, I hate the subscription thing.

    I guess I'm gonna have to bite the bullet and update as long as the grace period lasts.
    And then hope that I won't need to upgrade anymore after those 12 months. Cause there's no way I'm gonna subscribe to BS like this.
    I always really liked PT, but no way I'm gonna get forced into subscription OR outright buying a full version AGAIN because I didn't want to use the subscription.
     
  4. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Must be said I'd really not been tempted by PT12 but the new stuff in 12.3 has kinda won me over. Think I'll upgrade before the year is up.
     
  5. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    the subscription thing is bullshit, but at least they've dropped the prices. £60 odd a year for native really isn't that bad in my view. I feel for guys with TDM rigs who've had their hand dealt pretty badly....
     
  6. Mago

    Mago Austrian Blech Machine

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Yeah, at least I found an upgrade from 11 (1 year updates) without the support, for 105euro it's not that bad (thomann).

    I'm gonna pull the trigger and see how it develops, depending on how the year goes I might do the yearly thing at the end.

    Really tough and bold move to eradicate all kind of updates after 2015, and to force people to buy a new licence if you skip the subscription.
    You threw money at them for years, and then if you don't wanna pay for shit you don't need you have to buy everything all over again?
    Wow avid. You really hate your customers.
     
  7. crillemannen

    crillemannen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Got an upgrade email "Upgrade from 9-11 for 199$" Since im on PT9 im gonna buy and try. They are gonna raise the price after 31st of December to 299$.
     
  8. Mago

    Mago Austrian Blech Machine

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    ^ as far as I understood they won't be offering the "upgrade" at all after dec 2015?

    I could be wrong to, their FAQ is kinda confusing.
     
  9. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    According to what I've read/heard, PT11 works fine. I bought an upgrade from 10 to 11 a while ago so I'll stay with PT11. Unless I didn't understand the point, I don't see the need to go to PT12 actually. And I don't like subscription things.
     
  10. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Upgraded last night.

    I was initial totally against subscription; but then thought how much I'd paid for point updates in the past and thought price wise it was totally reasonable... for native at least. HD users are getting screwed though.
    'New' features are awesome.
     
  11. Joshua Wickman

    Joshua Wickman Yes Sir!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan
    I thought 99.00 was not a bad price for a year of protools. Specially if they keep adding features like this!!

    I'm waiting to finish up a few projects before I upgrade. Did you guys who updated have to surrender your protools 10 license?
     
  12. greyskull

    greyskull Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6,077
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    the 11 license bundle which includes 10 was surrended, but replaced with a 12 bundle which include 10, 11, 12 for me.
     
  13. mva801

    mva801 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Mine still has the 10 license. I skipped past 11 but it's at one of the studios I work at.

    12 really has some useful features. I seriously love it. The disk cache and individual input monitoring were worth it to me. 12.3 is icing on the cake. I'm embracing the subscription thing for now with this ONE piece of software, but FUCK if I'm going to start paying subscriptions for every god damn plug in. (SLATE)

    Really hope the subscription thing doesn't catch on all over the place. User bases universally despise it.
     
  14. crillemannen

    crillemannen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    From what i've understood they will offer upgrade for 299 instead of 199$
     
  15. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    By the way guys, despite what the avid website says you DO get a 10/11/12 licence even if you're just buying the Annual Upgrade Plan so you don't need to pay for the upgrade and support plan if you don't want the support. Seems there's been a bit of a climbdown about it after Avid getting alot of abuse on the DUC.
     
  16. Riku

    Riku Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Installing 12 now as we speak. Been hearing very good things about it recently and I believe it will unlock more features with our S6 (which is an awesome controller).
     
  17. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Looks like prices dropped today. Having a look at the UK Avid store and it's £69/£130 for an upgrade. It was something like £82/£156 the other day.
     
  18. Joshua Wickman

    Joshua Wickman Yes Sir!

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Michigan

    This is good news! I still need 10 for a few things and was worried about that.

    Can you still have 10 and 12 installed at the same time?
     
  19. mva801

    mva801 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,875
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yes. I use both. And having to go back and forth I can say that I prefer 12 in every way. Now that I've got most my plugins all figured out I'm fully on 12 at home, but one of the studios I work in is still on 10. It's a bit of a bummer going back. Even just the old metering style bugs me now.

    One thing though, I don't think you can have above osx 10.8.5 installed and still use pt10
     
  20. Trevoire520

    Trevoire520 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,055
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    You can co-install 10/12 on OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion and Windows 7. Uninstall 11 and install 12.

    That said, I'm on 10.9.5 and have a 10/11 co-install working, so I wonder if the 10/12 would still work for me?
     

Share This Page