This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Quadtracking.

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Emdprodukt, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. JoergieN

    JoergieN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    Thanks for the tips man. I've been so busy lately I haven't been able to experiment with anything lately. Finally have some time tomorrow night so I will try all this out.
     
  2. MarkG

    MarkG Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I used to quad track, but lately I don't find it worth it.

    - twice the takes, 4x the time
    - smoother tone due to gain stacking (for me anyway)
    - when using exact same gear, minimal difference

    For certain heavy sounds its pretty much required, but generally double tracking is plenty imo.
     
  3. arv_foh

    arv_foh Brian K

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Has anyone ever tried to use vocalign to tighten quad tracked DI tracks? Sorry for the semi OT but I'm just curious
     
  4. egan.

    egan. daylightdies.com

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NorCal
    Yeah, it works on DI's...not so much on mic'd tracks.
     
  5. crillemannen

    crillemannen Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,320
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Slip edit DI tracks, that is a great way to do it
     
  6. Tommy Gun

    Tommy Gun ...might be drunk.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    RVA-USA
    I try to never edit guitars beyond fixing any obvious screw ups, that I somehow missed while they were tracking. Otherwise they do take after take until it's right.
     
  7. Damage, Inc.

    Damage, Inc. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The hive of scum and villainy known as Clinton, IA
    +1. I'm not into clownfucking parts together until I create something that almost works from shitty tracks. If the guy can't double himself tightly enough to get a worthwhile track, then it just won't work, period. I HAVE been known to secretly replace certain parts myself...
     
  8. striked01

    striked01 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    i love quadtracking! Adam D. styled quadtracking, like on the parkway albums = awesome!
     
  9. Tommy Gun

    Tommy Gun ...might be drunk.

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    RVA-USA
    Yep. I've had to do it. Not cool, but I've only done it when I felt like their takes just weren't usable.
     
  10. musickey

    musickey djenital moosic

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    INDIANA
  11. Mm1066

    Mm1066 Mediocre metal maker

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Suffolk, United Kingdom
    Sorry for bumping, but the Parkway albums were quadtracked? Can't really hear it myself. Where did you get the info?
     
  12. Fox Mulder

    Fox Mulder The Truth Is Out There

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Dhaka, Bangladesh
    What's that?
     
  13. DocSauerkraut

    DocSauerkraut Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Two alternative procedures i frequently use to fatten guitar sounds:

    - Record two guitar tracks (Left, Right) and create for each a FX track with a delay inserted. Choose a very short delay time (~10 ms, only wet signal!) and pan the FX-tracks to a different location (e.g.: Guitar 1 L85, FX1 L75; Guitar 2 R85, FX2 R75).


    -- When using Preamp-Simulations and impulses: Create two audio tracks (A1,A2), insert a different preamp in each and pan these hard left and right. Record 1st Guitar to these two channels.
    Then record a second guitar following the same procedure (two audio tracks, different preamps etc.) but this time REVERSE the panning.
    E.g.: 1st guitar: Tack 1, preamp 1, hard left / Track 2, preamp 2, hard right
    2nd guitar: Track 1, preamp 1, hard right / Track 2, preamp 2, hard left

    It's a good idea to choose two preamps with different cound characteristics, e.g. one with more low end, the other with more mids and to mix your desired guitar sound using the mixer's faders.

    Cheers!
     
  14. striked01

    striked01 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    i forget where i heard that, i may be wrong.



    Maamar Huq, i didnt mean he did it any differently, i just love the tone he gets from it. Wrong choice of words, sorry.
     
  15. nwright

    nwright Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Castle, Indiana
    Of what benefit is this versus just setting up a new head and recording that?

    Slaving amps means to send one amps preamp into another amps power section.

    If you have a master amp (amp A) and record it and then slave it into the slave amp (amp B), you are still tracking amp A's preamp (but getting the tonal imprint of amp B's power amp only).

    Why would this be preferable over just setting up 2 amps and recording them seperately, so Amp A's pre and power amp are captured as are amp B's pre and power amp captured.

    If you take your idea of changing the tone controls of the amp when slaving, then that would all be preamp changes only, unless the power amps used vary greatly in their tonal imprint...Which I would curious as to how different the amps would sound through different power sections, really. IMO with most high gain amps, they run 6L6's or EL34's and get their voicing more from preamps...So to me slaving would serve to provide LESS of a difference than just running the 2 amps on their own and miking each.

    All that said, in my experience, reamping 1 performance through 2 amps doesn't get anywhere near quadtrack territory and at times presents it's own set of problems.

    For me, I like quad tracking using a single mic...If I'm doing a dual mic setup (a la Fredman technique), I like dual tracking.

    For metal, IMHO, I don't really like any of the results I've gotten dual a L-C-R rhythm guitar bed. the center guitar makes the spread seem smaller and clouds the center mix too much for fast, heavy music. And it's unnecessary in the mix altogether if you have to lower the volume enough to keep it from clouding things up, IME.

    for me and quad tracking with harmony rhythm lines, I usually do it like this:

    Guitar A - 100L
    Guitar B (playing harmony) - 100L lower in volume by 3dB
    Guitar A2 (playing same riff as Guit A) - 100R lower in volume by 3dB
    Guitar B2 (playing the same harmony as Guit B) - 100R

    this keeps things symmetrical, but allows each side to have a more dominating root or harmony.
     
  16. kvoid

    kvoid Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Isn't that the old school Haas effect?
     
  17. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    ^^You're over thinking it on the slaving bit. It gives a single guitar track multiple textures from the same amp so you get a huge, thick, more harmonically complex tone than you would from a single amp/cab setup, but without having to worry much about the tones working will together. The point is to get less of a difference from two sources.
     
  18. Nick M

    Nick M Chuck Norris is my uncle

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MI
    Quad track unless the band can't handle it.
     
  19. nwright

    nwright Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Castle, Indiana
    Ah, but then to me that seems like the extra work wouldn't be worth it (but I've never done it and recorded the results, so I can't say). Knowing what both of my amps sound like slaved through each other, I wouldn't see the point, personally. The issue I HAVE had with using 1 performance through 2 different amps was a phasing issue from using the same DI (lasse has also pointed this phenomenon out as well). I got around it, but it presented it's own set of headaches at first...And, extrapolating on that and adding it to the slaving idea...it seems like the risk for phase issues in slaving would still be there.

    I'll have to try it sometime, though.
     
  20. locus_coeruleus

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't think I understand, are you reamping and amped track??
     

Share This Page