This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Quantizing drums in Logic 9

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by Thetraveller, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. Thetraveller

    Thetraveller New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    Im working on a power metal track at the moment. The drums are standard backbeat, but with very busy 16th note & 32nd triplet double kick underneath.

    The performance is mostly decent, there's nothing seriously out of time, just the standard human error you'd expect (hits not perfectly matching the grid, & a handful of hits more noticeably out of time).

    Im trying to learn to use flextime & quantize in logic 9 to tidy the performance up. Ive read a bunch of tutorials online, and Im fairly sure Im doing it right (it seems to work at any rate), but I'm finding that no matter what settings I use, even when the drums are perfectly quantized, Im getting artefacts in the audio. Is this something that just happens & is unavoidable, or is it something I've overlooked when setting up the quantize?

    I've been told for rhythmically complex stuff to cut the (phase locked) drum tracks into sections so you can use appropriate quanitze values for each section, but while this has helped with actually getting the stuff to quantize properly, Im still getting clicks and other artefacts.

    Anyone got any ideas? (Id stress that Im more interested in learning to use logic's quantize properly than finding an unrelated solution)
     
  2. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    You will always get artefacts without checking and cleaning up. Check your overhead tracks, sometimes the initial cymbal hit is being cut and makes a clicky sound. Just pull the start of the cymbal hit to the right place and it should be good.
     
  3. Thetraveller

    Thetraveller New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ah, thanks for the prompt response!

    Ive posted this query on a couple of sound tech forums & just had people telling me not to bother quantizing the drums because it robs the performance of 'groove'. Not helpful, needless to say.

    I'll try your suggestion, thanks again!
     
  4. Machinated

    Machinated Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    no problem. it can also be on the tom tracks, just worth listening through and whenever you hear something stop the track and look through all the tracks at that position for anything funky.
     
  5. TofNazareth

    TofNazareth TofNazareth

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    always phase lock!!! be careful what point you grab at i mostly get the overheads then edit kicks and toms separate. I spend a lot of time editing in logic and you can get it with no clicks for sure. if you want i will edit a track for ya if you want just for encouragement.

    message me here oceanicmerch@gmail.com
     

Share This Page