This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Question about Joey's guitar editing!

Discussion in 'Production' started by HaydenLM1, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. HaydenLM1

    HaydenLM1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ive noticed in some of his stuff that the guitar is playing tremolo picking and the kick is hitting at the exact same time! It sounds a bit robotic in a good way (?) but also very natural, hard to explain! I hope you know what I mean!

    The best example that I can find now is The final episode (Asking Alexandria) the breakdown at the beginning



    How do you quantize the guitar to the drums that well without missing bits out of the guitar ?

    Please help!
     
    #1 HaydenLM1, Apr 11, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  2. Beneath_the_Bliss

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K
    can't really suggest anything rather than tight playing
     
  3. HaydenLM1

    HaydenLM1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  4. Beneath_the_Bliss

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K
    if you're looking for that type of production, you're going to have to edit
     
  5. HaydenLM1

    HaydenLM1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    but how do i edit it this way ? thats what i dont get..
     
  6. HostileEx

    HostileEx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Missouri, MO
    Depends on what program you're using. In PT, you can switch from "Waveform" to "Warp" and just warp the track where needed.
     
  7. K Odell

    K Odell \=/Varnisher\=/

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    Nice Killswitch breakdown:p
     
  8. JeffEstrada

    JeffEstrada Ascend Recordings

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If your on reaper I made a slip editing tutorial a while back. Even though this tutorial was actually meant for drums but it's the same exact thing for guitar.

    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a--5QFlylGg"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a--5QFlylGg[/ame]
     
  9. HaydenLM1

    HaydenLM1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Im using Cubase 5 at the moment :(
     
  10. K Odell

    K Odell \=/Varnisher\=/

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    You can edit like that in Cubase also. Its just different key commands.
     
  11. xANDREWLIFERx

    xANDREWLIFERx Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Maybe this can be used as well with some fine tuning.
     
    #11 xANDREWLIFERx, Apr 12, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2015
  12. Bay Studio

    Bay Studio Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Austria/New Jersey
    its fairly simple: 1. tight playing. and 2. switch to cut-mode and then choose 1/32 or 1/64 for the grid, then you can edit it to perfection and get really into the waveforms. Thats the answer to your question.
     
  13. Josh Bodnar

    Josh Bodnar New Metal Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Well, I've been recording metal for a little while and on projects that require that inhumanly precise guitar playing, I quantize the guitar DI track before re-amping them. If needed, when the guitar is playing the fast tremolo picking or anything like breakdowns where there are not too many note changes, I even copy and paste a good/perfect transient and place them on the grid accordingly. Its very time consuming, but it will get the results you want in your production. Hope this helps! :)
     
  14. droppedrecords

    droppedrecords New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gosh!

    Joey has explained this.

    He gave this one away a while ago. You record the guitars at half tempo. Like half the speed as tight as you can. Then you chop the fucker up so every note is cut in half. Delete every second section you have divided up. Drag all your little clips together, xfade themall to get rid of shitty pops n clicks and you have impossibly tight guitars that dont sound fake cause nothing is actually sped up. You're just chopping out all the ugly note transitions.
     
  15. Ericlingus

    Ericlingus Prettiest Hair Around

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    could you post a tutorial on that? Or explain more in detail. You're saying you record the riff at half the tempo it's supposed to be then cut each hit(note) in half? how do you cut it in half? do you do it by eye?
     
  16. Goodfellas453

    Goodfellas453 Always The Understudy Vox

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Temecula CA

    He also stated he doesnt do that shit anymore, its gotta be tight playing and tight editing, if the guitarist cant do it in real time, he needs practice!
     

Share This Page