This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Reamping 2nd guitar tracks live

Discussion in 'Andy Sneap' started by cloy26, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. cloy26

    cloy26 d00d

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    Is it a good idea?

    I just joined a band that had 2 guitarists. One has already moved away and one is moving soon. They picked me to fill in and are looking for another one to retain a 2 guitarist setup. Well, I feel like it would be beneficial, as we aren't finding any serious people with serious setups, for me to track the second guitar parts, set up an amp live, and just reamp it. We'll play to a click, so it won't be a problem. I think we are going to have some samples and stuff intertwined in our songs, so in essence, it's just another sample in my daw, just a different medium.

    Thoughts? Good idea? Bad idea?
     
  2. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,581
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Seems like an awful lot of money/effort for something you could just have prerecorded and sent to the FoH with the other samples.
     
  3. cloy26

    cloy26 d00d

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    Ok. or that. Didn't think of that. haha. I'll just reamp it myself. ;)

    ok so with that, still an ok idea?
     
  4. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,581
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Yeah why not? Even do stereo tracks for when you've got a solo, keep things sounding full.

    Only issue is that if the foh guy needs to turn the other guitar up but not hte samples, you're SoL. Should be fine, though.
     
  5. cloy26

    cloy26 d00d

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    Well, how do I persuade the band on my view? They have been set in the 2 guitarist mindset and I feel like with the technological progression in music, it would be so much more beneficial.
     
  6. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    The reason your band thinks it's an awful idea is the same reason it is a stupid idea to just play your album through the PA and play air guitar on stage instead...

    If the bands music is heavily reliant on two guitars, I would maybe do the reamp thing as a shitty unfortunate solution for now but still actively search for a second guitarist... Live music is supposed to be live.
     
  7. cloy26

    cloy26 d00d

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    Good point.
     
  8. Josh Burgess

    Josh Burgess Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    What do you mean "reamp it myself"...? It wouldn't be reamping. It'd be prerecorded backing tracks...
     
  9. cloy26

    cloy26 d00d

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Port St. Lucie, FL
    IT would be reamping in order to produce the pre recorded backing tracks.
     
  10. CatharsisStudios

    CatharsisStudios trcksngsrpbngs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    do the live reamp, thats what gwenstacy and your memorial do live, also you can't trust the FOH guy because what if your playing a show at a house, or a small venue.
     
  11. JeffTD

    JeffTD Senhor Testiculo

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    12,581
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Still have samples via the foh, so you've gotta trust him to an extent.



    Totally agreed with Adam, though - temporary solution, at best.
     
  12. FluffboyGT

    FluffboyGT New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I know this is an old thread and most people nowadays know this, but if you wanted to use a comp to both play samples as well as send dry guitar tracks through an amp live, you would just need an interface with multiple outputs. In a das such as ableton you can easily send one track to an output hitting a reamping box>guitar amp, while sending another out direct to foh for other digital sounds such as samples or synths. Also doing this much through an interface at once I would recommend something through FireWire.
     

Share This Page