This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Reaper Slip Editing Tutorial

Discussion in 'F.O.H.' started by AdamWathan, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. darthjujuu

    darthjujuu Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Boston
    this.

    BUT- in protools, the option is grayed unless you have a MIDI track somewhere in the project.
     
  2. jaredistheman

    jaredistheman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Memphis, Tn
    Is there a way to achieve this method in logic pro?

    And also, what do you do if there's cymbals and snare hitting at the same time as the kick, but the kick is little late? Because i can't get around moving the cymbal and snare early, just so the kick can be on time.
     
  3. DominikJW

    DominikJW aka utarefson

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Jelenia Gora/PL
    Well you can move that single kick hit separately as long as it doesn't have too much bleeds from the rest of the kit.


    I just wanted to say THANK YOU Adam couse you saved me (and few of my friends too) like half of lifetime with this and the elastic audio tutorials! <3 u bro!
     
  4. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Nah no slip editing in Logic unfortunately. If the snare and kick are flamming, line up the whole kit with the snare and do the kick separately.
     
  5. jaredistheman

    jaredistheman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Memphis, Tn
    Okay cool, thanks for the help man!
     
  6. -Noodles-

    -Noodles- 3 Initals Mixer

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Sorry for being a total n00b;

    When you say line up the kit with the snare, are you excluding the kick from the group editing entirely? After the rest of the kit has been edited, then going back and doing the kick ?
     
  7. cliftonmiles

    cliftonmiles Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I appreciate your posting of this tutorial.

    I have not been able to figure out how to export my tempo map into Reaper to give this a shot.

    Forgive my noobness.
     
  8. NSGUITAR

    NSGUITAR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Just curious.. If a drummer accidently skips a beat ahead over a time of about 2 measures, does this technique still work?
     
  9. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    You might get lucky but probably not. Once a drummer is playing too fast and you have to start pulling things apart from each other to fill the space the edits start to get more noticeable. You can't edit dog food into a steak if you know what I mean ;) Always aim to track as if editing isn't even possible!
     
  10. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
  11. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    Have to say... I never really tried this technique before because I didn't have material I could test with. But I've got a new song from the band recorded, and I've been fucking around with it in various hosts - Logic, Studio One, and now Reaper.

    Studio One has a great mixer. Visually easy to use, isn't a strain to look at, and has kick ass drag and drop functionality. But slip editing in Studio One isn't as easy as it is in Reaper.

    Logic - Flex time is just a ball-ache to use.

    Reaper pwns both for drum editing. I'm thinking of either going straight back to Reaper, or just doing what Adam says he does, and use Reaper solely for drum editing.
     
  12. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    I'm back in Reaper 100% these days. A few semi-recent updates have added some really important features that were enough to pry me away from Pro Tools! Reaper rawks.
     
  13. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    Which features are those Adam? I'm interested because your workflow for editing is really easy. I'm wondering if there are any other tricks I'm missing.
     
  14. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    The most important ones are "Trim behind media items when editing/recording" and the "Clear time selection when edit cursor moves on click in arrange window" preferences ;)
     
  15. drew_drummer

    drew_drummer Dancefap

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    6,486
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    London, UK
    heheh. See I like having the time selection independent from my edit cursor.
     
  16. digitaldeath

    digitaldeath Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Waterford, Ireland
    I must change some of my macros so!
     
  17. Ataraxia2320

    Ataraxia2320 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you. Made the switch to reaper from Cakewalk sonar as iv been frustrated just way way too much and you just made editing drums a hell of a load easier!
     
  18. RedDog

    RedDog Humanoid typhoon

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma.
    This method is genius. I will have to try it on some guitar tracks, any pointers?
     
  19. AllanD

    AllanD boom tap boom-boom tap

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,832
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Houston
    Anyone having issues with ctrl+z? If I press it a random number of times, I lose all my tracks, and can't redo them back. I end up having to close the program and start it again, ending up where I last saved X|.
     
  20. AdamWathan

    AdamWathan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2002
    Messages:
    3,812
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
    Probably undo limit is set too small. Go Preference>General and make sure "Maximum undo history use" is set to like 256mb or more. I think it used to be 20mb by default which is too small when doing lots of slip editing.
     

Share This Page