This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Recommend me a loadbox please.

Discussion in 'Backline' started by shred101, Jun 2, 2012.

  1. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    That's pretty much what I wanna do and that's pretty much what the Tonehound is designed for. So a Palmer PAN 01 can perfectly do the job or I am really missing something??? But I'm just like you, I don't want to risk anything with my gear and I want the shit works well so, for me, the Tonehound looks like a good tool to buy :)
     
  2. Red Phoenix

    Red Phoenix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Germany
    in the matter of reliability i would trust a selfbuild line-out more than something from Behringer. espacially when you send a signal from a poweramp to it..
     
  3. shred101

    shred101 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah I am pretty set on the Tonehound, looks perfect tbh, and yeah I agree Red Phoenix I *hate* Behringer gear with a passion... but its the only thing I can find that actually states that it can handle speaker level signals without modifying the signal in some drastic fashion. Its got a speaker sim, but the idiots at Behringer managed to have the amazing insight to make it switchable. If theres a better model that will achieves the same thing... then I will buy that instead natch.

    I dunno... if it can do the job then I may just get that myself :) can it definitely handle speaker outputs?
     
  4. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    I asked them directly if the Palmer PAN 01 could be a proper DI box for this use:
    Amp > Palmer PAN 01 > Tone Hound
    Palmer PAN 01 > Interface

    Here is what they said:

    Yes, that is possible. You must use the Tone-Hound just like a normal
    speaker cab. So you should go from the DI to the interface. The Tonehound
    is the final element in the chain.


    All the DI boxes they recommend on their website have speaker sim. but if you use impulses in your DAW then you can use a simple DI box.
     
  5. shred101

    shred101 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That doesn't really say much about the DI box lol. I will definitely investigate purchasing this + the tonehound today though.... either the PAN-01 (or possibly also the PDI-01 seems better quality?) look like what would be required. Palmer say that all their boxes are safe up to a 120w limit on their site so I assume they are all compatible with speaker level output... I have emailed palmer asking for clarification.
     
  6. FrenchFrog

    FrenchFrog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Froggy France!
    will buy the tonehound for sure.
     
  7. Heabow

    Heabow More cowbell!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    France
    No not much :) but at least I know now a DI box w/ speaker sim is not required.
    And about what you wanna know, I think it's ok with the PAN01 otherwise why it'd work with the PDI09? Same stuff with and without speaker sim.
     
  8. shred101

    shred101 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thats what I thought as well tbh I just don't wanna screw up my JCM lol >.>
     

Share This Page