This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

I Want You!

Join Symphony X and discover tons of other great Metal forums, sign up today!

Romeo's studio

Discussion in 'Musicians Corner' started by IBBIAZ, Dec 26, 2004.

  1. IBBIAZ

    IBBIAZ New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was reading some of the interviews at the Symphony X site, and they talked quite a bit about recording at MR's home studio.
    Does anyone know anything about it? What equipment it has? How it runs? What is processed through what? What programs they use? Whether they distort the guitars before or after recording it? ANY information would be helpful......

    -Cabbage
     
  2. Katalepsy

    Katalepsy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    How would that be helpful? And not to sound like an ass...But I don't think very many people would know that kind of information unless we have some stalkers on these forums. I would imagine it is a pretty kickass home studio, with probably more than $100,000 put into it (Or some other ridiculous number).
     
  3. IBBIAZ

    IBBIAZ New Metal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I don't think it would be too outrageously expensive.....I think they recorded with it earlier on in the band's life, before they were making enough money to put $100,000 into it....

    I'm sure there's someone out there who may know some things about it, even if they're not in the forum. There's probably people who know how many times John Petrucci cuts his toe nails a month, so it's worth a try asking about a home studio.
     
  4. goth_fiend

    goth_fiend happiness is jagermiester

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,601
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    california
    im not completly sure but i think the odyssey was recorded in mjr's studio, and theres a few pictures of it in the booklette
     
  5. Asgath

    Asgath Standing Without Fear

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arda
    You can make a great studio for under £10,000, ($20000?) so I doubt it would be anything way over the top...
     
  6. bball_1523

    bball_1523 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Southern California
    I heard Romeo uses Gigastudio, but that's all I know.
     
  7. MajorRager

    MajorRager Lilitu Bassist

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Asgath is my hero
     
  8. Shredboy

    Shredboy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yarmouth, N.S. Canada
    Its responses like that , that make this forum almost worthless... wtf does wanting to know some of Romeo's home recording equipment have to do with stalking? This is a musicians forum... the guy asked a music/recording related question... so if you dont have an answer to the questiuon or at least some insight then screw off.

    To the original poster I "think" I read somewhere he was using Cubase SX 2.0 , and Gigastudio for some of his orchestral arrangements.. dont quote me on that however.
     
  9. Yngvai X

    Yngvai X Dark Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Woodland Park, NJ
    Romeo uses Steinburg's Nuenndo recording software. The orchestra stuff is gigastudio.

    And no one in their right mind should ever distort a guitar after its recorded ;)
     
  10. Jeremy Krull

    Jeremy Krull Destroyer of the C-List

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    And also I think way earlier down the line they were using Tascam's DA series DTRS multitrack recorders as well,

    but yea matt's right, PC's with Nuendo, and Gigastudio, and a lot of games.
     
  11. Romeo.jr

    Romeo.jr can't touch this

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    i kno that for the huge orchestral tracks he is...for lack of a better word, slaving other computers...with nuendo you can do crazy stuff like that.
     
  12. Dobbit

    Dobbit Oprah

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Quincy, Ma
    Would any of you happen to know what he has for a soundcard to get a low latency and clean sounding recording? Or what would be needed to just get a low latency clean sounding recording?
     
  13. Yngvai X

    Yngvai X Dark Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3,468
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Woodland Park, NJ
    for really professional stuff you really go in via outboard gear, not sound cards, or at least some sort of audio interface. I know Pro Tools has stuff designed to work specifically for that. I just use an interface called the Firestation by Presonus that connects via firewire.
     
  14. Dobbit

    Dobbit Oprah

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Quincy, Ma

    Ah, ok, thanks! Any idea where I might be able to find out more about this? And about how much would it set me back? I use N-track Studio to record with, its a pretty cheap program, which is why I got it, lol. Any outboard gear/audio interface that is compatible with anything or something?
     
  15. Jeremy Krull

    Jeremy Krull Destroyer of the C-List

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Well kinda, but actually what he probably did (only because quite a few studios do this who you use it) is he used one, maybe two seperate PC's, both of which have Gigastudio loaded, and then those are sent to the main studio PC running (as far as we know) Nuendo, via a multi-channel ADAT optical line, although MIDI messages from the main computer are relayed to the Gigastudio machine(s) first. Kind of like a big cycle.

    Speaking of slaving other computers, Emagic/Apple's Logic Pro 7 is supposed to do exactly that, can't wait to check it out...
     
  16. rockmanxpr

    rockmanxpr High Speed Samurai

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, CA
    Later this month I plan on buying a Mbox and a 2nd computer soley for recording to see how well I (a novice) can record some covers. But that bastard Max Dible wants to get better equipment, but he's always poor (this statement is for Yngvie X)
     
  17. Jeremy Krull

    Jeremy Krull Destroyer of the C-List

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Hehe you know Max?

    tell him I say what's up....
     
  18. guitarguru777

    guitarguru777 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    8,521
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    IM not sure what the exact setup is but ill ask laponde next time i talk to him. Last i heard i think he was using an M Audio sound card but i dont remember the exact model.

    In my own studio im curretly running
    Cakewalk Sonar 4
    Propellerhead Reason
    Native Instruments Battery
    Acid 4.0
    GigaStudio
    Im running a Darla Sound Card
    and all controling is done with a Oxygen 8

    Da Fukn Guru
     
  19. Asgath

    Asgath Standing Without Fear

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arda
    LOL

    Sarcasm on the internet? what is this madness?!

    What stupid thing did I say?
     

Share This Page