This site is supported by the advertisements on it, please disable your AdBlocker so we can continue to provide you with the quality content you expect.

Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Slate Virtual Mix RACK

Discussion in 'Backline' started by jangoux, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    I haven't tried the very very last reaper build, I'm gonna update it tonight and see if it helps although it probably wouldn't change anything. The fact it was realeased before the latest VMR beta could maybe have solved something if some beta testers were on reaper
     
  2. Jordon

    Jordon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,008
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Damn, this thing sounds good so far. 20 minutes with it, and I'm very impressed. I'll play with the demo more before making the full purchase, but I'm really pleased with it overall. For the price, it seems very hard to beat, even if there are some features that are lacking. As far as the trim and whatnot, seems both comps have an output control along with the 'line' control on the FG-N.

    Now to see if I still like it in a week....
     
  3. Arcay

    Arcay Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Santiago de Compostela
    no probs in reaper here
     
  4. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    On reaper at least the maximum window size of vst plugins is about 3 or 4 units maximum. Do you know how to make a pluging bigger, and not just the VST window bigger which doesn't change the fact the vst UI stays limited to something like 1080p wide ?
     
  5. Pedro Teixeira

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK
    Fully agreed. I use all buttons in all the time on the real one, killer for vocals and bass.

    I don't understand this decision, seems rushed.
     
  6. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    I have a concern about the rack mentality : it shows as VMR in the mixview, and that is all. Will it be possible to load modules on their own like current aVCC, VTM etc ? What if I want to load a different plugin inside slate ones, do I need to load two instances of VMR so my 3rd party plugin inserts himself in the middle ? Etc etc. it would be best to have both options : using the rack, or individual modules like before.
     
  7. LeSedna

    LeSedna Mat or Mateo

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Also is midi CC easy to handle between the instances inside VMR ? How is it recognised by the DAW ?
     
  8. Pedro Teixeira

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK
    I start to think if they actually spent a full year for like a single compressor and whatnot or if this is all fancy talk bigging it up. Because they never really go into specifics on how it was measured, captured, etc. It's just that fabrice is a genius and spent 5000 hours non stop coding irregularities of the hardware and stuff like that.
     
  9. Max Morton

    Max Morton Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UA, Kyiv
    I didn't like VBC at all, but these are so damn good! Playing around with demo on all sorts of tracks and it works brilliant. I think I'll buy it.
     
  10. AudioGeekZine

    AudioGeekZine arsehole know-it-all

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Vancouver
    The max is 8 modules.

    The A, [B, C...] button at the top of each module has automation information. Compressor ratio will be A-03 or something like that.

    I just went to check on this and crashed REAPER. twice :(
     
  11. Studdy

    Studdy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Really??? I think VBC is awesome. I own all of stevens plugins (including VMR), and i think VBC so far has been the most "magical". I dont have a ton of experience with actual hardware bus compressors, but VBC instantly sounded amazing to me with no effort at all. To each there own i guess. What is it you didnt like about it?

    The only thing about VMR im not really understanding is that it's only a killer tool if you have good sounding tracks to start with because there really isnt a module yet for surgical cuts and "track repair". Are most of you "fixing" tracks first with a few inserts and then running VCC and VMR? I hope this question makes sense. For example i watched steven do a tutorial on getting a killer drum sound with VMR, i agree it sounded awesome, but the recorded tracks he started with were also very well recorded/ low bleed and didnt need really anything but enhancement.
     
  12. pipaguapique

    pipaguapique Remember Me

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chihuahua, Mexico
  13. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Did a quick test with VMR during an editing session and it seemed really promising. Ran the same settings as one of my Waves SSL strips, and VMR destroyed it. The 1176 model also owns the CLA76 in accuracy. It's got way more of that mid-bass/low mid mud of the real thing. The compressors still don't seem to 'grab' like the real deal, but I definitely wasn't expecting them to. Compression is still the one great thing left to crack ITB. All the same, this plug-in seems to own the Waves and Duende stuff I normally use.
     
  14. pipaguapique

    pipaguapique Remember Me

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chihuahua, Mexico
    here's the 1073 eq

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/sari0efno9j4z5d/REAL1073.wav?dl=0
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/1aaj33jojah254z/VMR1073.wav?dl=0

    i did 2db of Hi, 2db of 3.2, 2db of 60hz and 5db of line boost since the Neves only do 5db steps.

    i gotta tell ya...with no eq engaged on either...and the drive set at 5db...it sounds exactly the same!! but with eq...there's quite the difference...i had to do like 1db on the hi of the real one...almos no 3.2 and 1 or less db on 60 to kind of match the sound of the vmr.
     
  15. pipaguapique

    pipaguapique Remember Me

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chihuahua, Mexico
  16. Ermz

    Ermz ¯\(°_o)/¯

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    20,382
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    The 'Real SSL' one is much brighter in those clips, so I think you might've gone a little overboard trying to match it. But yes, I noticed the VMR SSL EQ seems to be very aggressive compared to the other emulations of it. Much brighter on the whole.
     
  17. pipaguapique

    pipaguapique Remember Me

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Chihuahua, Mexico
  18. Pedro Teixeira

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK
    Dammit... I'm gonna have to buy this. -__-'
     
  19. andygo

    andygo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MARS
    FG-401 is a very nice guy with balls and character! :kickass:
     
  20. HOFX

    HOFX Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    For the guys having VMR crash Reaper, have you tried it on the same hardware but in a different DAW?

    I wonder if it's Reaper specific or if I need to update hardware...
     

Share This Page